Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

‘Mini Maxilari’ Cushion

22 Comments

Hi! Looks quite nice again after the thunder and rain at night! We make mini quilts – shouldn’t we make mini pillows, too?
Mini Maxilari

I wanted to make a real pillow but in mini size. I made + quilt block with my new fabrics.

Mini Cushion by Teje Karjalainen

I cut 1.5″ x 1.5″ squares and 1 1/4″ stripes. White binding is made like the normal quilt binding.

Mini Maxilari

When I ordered this fabric I didn’t think my new Kona solids. For my surprise they had the same colours! I love these colours together!

Mini Maxilari

It has been a while since I teached you Greek words, so it’s about time! Maxilari = pillow (μαχιλαρι). I like to think that mini maxilaris will be new ‘in’ decoration! Think about one basket filled with colourful little pillows! At least here you will see more of them … soon. If you make doll quilts, shouldn’t there be also doll pillows?

pin cushion

If not, you can always call it pin cushion …

pin cushion

Or if you don’t need more pin cushions, fill it with lavendar!

sandy beach

We had wonderful morning walk on the beach with my Golden, furry friend. She loves to walk in the water – I hope there are still many warm enough days for that. Now some painting is waiting for me … if I tell you that hb has made a new studio, you think it’s for my sewing – but no – it’s for something else … sorry nothing to show you yet!

Greek Beach

Kelly from the ‘My Quilt Infatuation’ has made great tutorial for a simple tablet sleeve! I shall make that absolutely!

I’m linking at my favourite linky parties! Find the Thursday linky party buttons on my sidelist and have a look what others have been sewing! My ‘Embroidery Hoop Decor Tutorial’ was featured at ‘Fabric Tuesday’ and ‘Sew Cute Tuesday’ – thank you so much ladies – I do appreciate!

Thank you for your visit and lovely comments!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

22 thoughts on “‘Mini Maxilari’ Cushion

  1. Really like your little pillows, so cute. I’m sure I’ll be making some to add to my granddaughters’ Christmas gifts. Thanks for the idea.

  2. Oh how pretty your little maxilari is. I love the pictures, especially the one of Hanna next to it and your beautiful beach.

  3. Gorgeous! I love the fabric too.

  4. Mini Maxi – great name 🙂 Lavender bags reminds me of my Grandmother. She made these wonderful little bags and always selled so nice. Maybe time to make some myself…

  5. Oh Teje. Your little pillow is just darling. Your projects always reflect such a happy heart ; )

  6. You are so funny – a basket full of mini-pillows as the next home decor trend.

  7. So pretty! Lovely pictures of the sea too 🙂 Thank you for the links! Avis x

  8. Very sweet cushion, Teje! I love the size. You used the partial seam for the edges of the block. Nice!

  9. Le petit coussin est tres beau bonne soiree Marie-Claire

  10. this is such a cute little pillow! It would be wonderful to fill it with lavender as a sachet!

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  11. This is gorgeous. Doll pillows sound like an excellent idea 🙂

  12. How sweet these little pillows are Teje and I now know the Greek for pillow! What lovely sunshine you still have, we had our first frost yesterday morning and there is more on the way. Thanks for your lovely comments about Daisy Jane…we are off to see her again tomorrow, I am so excited ;0) xx

  13. very pretty. lovely use of fabric

  14. Simply gorgeous, Teje. I love pretty cushions! I think you can never have too many. :o)
    Wow. What a difference between where you live and where I live. We had more snow today…

    • Thank you Katherine! Now we have had some rain but still it’s difficult to find the Christmas mood. I have decided to go for some other colours this year and make it more seasonal decoration than Christmas. Anyway red and green are not my colours. Have a great Sunday! x Teje

  15. You’ve been busy! My first thought was that’s a giant dog or a tiny cushion;) thanks for linking up!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

