Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

MACARONI CASSAROLE Finnish & Greek

12 Comments

Hi! Now I shall share with you my secret MACARONI CASSAROLE recipe! heh heh it’s not much secret but sounds more exciting … I used to make this in Finland and here I have add greek and turkish taste to it!  Looks delicious …

macaroni cassarole

WHAT YOU NEED:

– 500 g macaroni

– 200 g cream cheese (‘Philadelfia’)

– 800 g minced meat

– 2 onions (chopped)

– 2-3 nails of garlic (chopped)

– 2-3 carrots (thin, half slices)

– 1 tin chopped tomatoes or fresh tomatoes

– 2 ts tomatoe puree

– olive oil

– salt, basil, pepper, if you have choppedpeperoni or something else spicy add a little bit (our secret is chopped peperoni spice from Turkey – even I can make delicious food with that!)

WHAT TO DO:

* put olive oil in the pan – add onions, garlic and minced meat – mix them till the minced meat has got colour (saute)

* put salt and pepper (if you have peperoni or something else spicy, add a little bit)

* add carrots in small and thin pieces, add chopped tomatoes (tin and puree)

* add basil and some more oil, leave to boil for a while

* boil macaroni in salted water

* mix the minced meat sauce, macaroni and the cream cheese

* butter the oven cassarole, add your mix, add grated cheese on it

! if you like, add sliced tomatoes and oregano before the grated cheese !

* bake in the +220C oven till the the cheese has nice colour

HYVAA RUOKAHALUA – KALI OREKSI – GOOD APPETITE!

macaroni cassarole

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

12 thoughts on “MACARONI CASSAROLE Finnish & Greek

  1. Teje, this looks and sounds delicious. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I’m going to try this.

  2. It looks delicious Teje and I know two boys who love pasta😉

  3. Yummy, Teje, thanks for sharing the recipe.

  4. oooh, dear sister, thanks for reminding me about that dish!! I’m salivating now, mjammm. First thing when we will (when?! one day soon I hope) finally get the kitchen working again, that’s what I’m going to make!!

  5. That looks so good. I’m going to have to try this real soon. Perfect for our cooler weather now. 😃

  6. Yum. I might try this one! Is minced meat the same thing as ground beef or do you use something else?

  7. Now that looks really , really good. Going to make some this weekend.

    • Thank you Sonja! Thank you for reminding me to make this. I’m not good in the kitchen and when I should cook I can’t remember any food. x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

