Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Am I Cat or Fox ? – Tutorial

36 Comments

Hi! Yesterday I thought I was playing with a cat but was it a fox?!

patchwork cat by Teje

When I was making those birds, I thought to try if the same idea could work for a cat. With a good will it looks lying cat … or fox.

Nelli the Cat

“When I’m lying I never have my tale up! If you think tale makes it cat, that’s your opinion!”

patchwork cat by Teje

Moustache and button eyes helps a little bit, I think. At least my fresh new fabric is perfect for fur!

cat in the window

“Couldn’t care less – I don’t think you expect me to keep her company?! Only if she’s going to be a mini quilt for my basket – I can consider. Any chance to get this window washed?”

patchwork cat

If you like to make this patchwork cat, look the following easy instructions:

cat with squares and triangles

All you need is squares and triangles. Squares are 2.5″ x 2.5″ and triangles are half square from 3″ x 3″.

!If you use fabric print with direction, take care how to cut the triangles!

how to make patchwork cat

Sew first all the triangle pieces. Trim them to 2.5″ x 2.5″ size.

You can sew the squares together in rows and then the rows together. Or sew them in sections.

My rows are often a little bit wonky so this time I sew the squares in sections (for example 4 together, 6 together and then all the sections together). For me this worked better than rows.

cat block by Teje Karjalainen

I added white stripes around the block and got the size about 17″ x 17″ (43 x 43 cm). I’m going to make this pillow and because I shall quilt it, I didn’t trim it yet.

easy piecy cat by Teje Karjalainen

It’s easy piecy cat – but is it cat or fox? Could she be ‘Easy Piecy Cat’?

And then weather report: today we have had sunshine (what else) and rain (yes!) and wind and sunshine and rain and wind and rain and sunshine … if you don’t belive …

ship in the sun

ship in the rain

ship in clouds

Now the summer is over – can’t help – beach is empty and someone was collecting the last sun beds and umbrellas …

Greek beach

Now when it’s not too hot anymore, Hanna can come with me … she is so good company. In the car she sits still on her seat wearing her the seat belt (if she doesn’t pick any dog – then she may get furious). When I’m doing something, she sleeps on her towel, then we have a small brake and look around …

my dear dog

She is my darling girl!

On our way back home we met two ladies with their kids … try to guess who … till next time!

Thank you for stopping by and reading my little blog! I hope you can use this cat tutorial. Perhaps you have a darling girl who would love to have a cat pillow to hug!

Carly from ‘Citric Sugar’ has made beautiful pillow which absolutely invites for hugging!

See you soon!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

36 thoughts on “Am I Cat or Fox ? – Tutorial

  1. Once more – your cat (in my eyes it is definetely a cat) is a superb design! Thanks for sharing not only all the quilting news, but also the weather updates and recepies. xBarbora

  2. Love the cat. The weather in Cape Town is also peculiar, on some days it changes hourly. Hot, blue blue sky no clouds, pouring with rain in short bursts, cold wind, overcast, then the cycle starts all over again and I usually misjudge what weather is coming next and end up with loads of wet laundry.

    • Thank you Gail for your lovely comment! For me the laundry thing is so easy for all the summer months – now way to rain. Now starts the challenge to pick the right day. x Teje

  3. I so love your blog. It always makes me smile. And your photography reminds me of warmer days. Thanks for sharing. Connie 😃🌴

  4. Definitely a cat! Only a cat would comment on the windows! Dogs don’t care. The weather here is now getting cold and windy. I don’t enjoy going out at the moment

    • Thankk you Dianne! You are right, Nero stucks his nose anyway to the window and it’s full of His nose-stamps. This time I enjoy going out – it’s perfect weather. All the summer was too hot for me but now I enjoy sitting for a while in the sun. Happy weekend! x Teje

  5. Another great tutorial. I’m saving them for later 🙂 autumn is definitely here too. It’s dark already at 5 pm now, wet and with gushy winds. I miss summer…

    • Thank you Cille! The day is short also here. About 6 it’s black outside. But it’s still so beautiful weather! Autumn is my favourite season! Happy weekend! x Teje

  6. Ha-ha Teje. I see a fox 🙂 Lovely tutorial! I also think your orange fabric would make fantastic owl feathers 🙂 Our weather is very cold at the moment, only 2 degrees. Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! Had to look outside how ‘cold’ it is – +14C and in the day time it was +24C. This is my favourite season! In the afternoon I was sitting and knitting for a while in the sun. Great idea for an owl. Have to look for a pattern or inspiration. Just remembered that I have Nina Lise’s pattern – perfect! Happy weekend! x Teje

  7. Cute kitty Teje. Both the pieced and the real one : )

    • Thank you Carla! I was lucky to find Nelli in the sewing room that time. It’s still so wonderful weather that she spend’s most of her time outside. Only at night she insists to sleep next to my feet. x Teje

  8. that is a lovely shot of Hanna! I don’t approve of cats so I hope she eats it 😛 If not, Scarlett will. 😛

  9. It’s a fox until you add the eyes and whiskers, andthen it is a kitty! Great photos of the changeable weather. Nellie is so pretty. I’dlove to see Hanna wearing a seatbelt !

  10. That’s so cute!! And you’re right – it could be a fox or a cat, especially with those colours… 🙂

  11. And thank you for your kind words about my pillow! 🙂

  12. Bravo le patch est magnifique bonne journee Marie-Claire

  13. The cat looks great! Love the beach pictures too! Looks like a great place to live!

  14. So cute…I love the way cat/fox looks like it’s sitting with its legs tucked under 🙂

  15. This is so cute! I agree- it could be either. Although for a fox, I would put the nose at the bottom on the point.

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  16. At first glance I thought it was a fox:) Then when you mentioned a cat I thought yes a cat too. The color definitely gives it a foxy look! A super cute fox that is!

    • Thank you Paula! I think it depends about the nose – Kelly had good point, if the nose is at the bottom it looks fox and if moustache in the middle, it’s more like a cat. Any way the pillow is now finished! x Teje

  17. Your new cat pillow is beautiful, I love the colourful fabrics! I always enjoy your sunny posts too! Happy Wednesday, Teje!
    Helen x

  18. I love reading your blog Teje and getting a peek into your life, it looks so interesting! The cat block is great and your cat certainly is cute 🙂 Thanks for linking up!!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

