Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

HOLIDAY TUTORIAL SERIES and fabrics!

25 Comments

Hello dear friends! It’s finally time for an exciting announcement! Heather and Megan from ‘Quilt Story’ are hosting again ‘HOLIDAY tutorial SERIES!  What could be better than lots of Christmas and holiday tutorials just now when it’s time to get busy busy!

Quilt Story
You don’t need to wait long because the fun starts tomorrow! 1st stop is at Melissa’s ‘My Fabric Relish’!
And guess what? My turn is 22nd of November! I can’t wait to see what I have decide till then to show to you?! I’m so excited to be part of this fun!
 If you like to get the button, you can copy it from my sidelist or from ‘Quilt Story’, where you can see also the list of the participants and their dates.
Kaffe Fassett's Fabrics
No Tuesday without Fabric right? They are here – you see! My precious Kaffe Fassetts!
Thank you so much ‘Fat Quarter Shop’ for sponsoring the ‘Forest QAL’ and Joanna and Juliana for organizing the contest!
Fat Quarter Shop
I made good decision! When I was looking what to order from the Fat Quarter Shop, I saw that new fabrics are coming from Kaffe Fassett and thought it’s now or never! I chose ‘Hot Kaffe Fassett Collective 6″ Design Strips. It’s a bundle with 20 pieces of {6″ x 44″} stripes. Large enough to have a good taste of that delicousness! If you like to see more Kaffe Fassett’s fabrics, visit his site or ‘Fat Quarter Shop’!
Kaffe Fassett
I just couldn’t open and spread the all the bundle yet … just a little bit to show to you. Now these are packed back in the safety box!
Kaffe Fassett's fabrics
You may guess that every order with my gift certificates, passed the amount but I took advantage of and ordered something I have needed a long time, a smaller ruler. I chose 6 1/2″ square ruler.  It helps me to trim corners, square blocks and also to cut small pieces.
Now I can leave you with this excitment or show you more … what you think? Okey – I show you all and then you don’t need to be jelous for my new fabrics for a long time. Yesterday arrived the latest and last fabric parcel.
Marmalade Fabrics
Thank you so much ‘Marmalade Fabrics’, for sponsoring the ‘Forest QAL’! In this shop I just couldn’t make up my mind! I think I made them grazy by changing my mind and mixing my orders! Sorry about that. I wanted so many fabrics and also I knew that I have to take something that I need now and not for a ‘dream quilt’.
beautiful fabrics
I was really missing yellow so I picked these beauties. The flower print with orange and pink was last minute’s change; I love it! It’s from Anna Maria Horner’s ‘Hand Drawn Garden’. The most right with dots was a surprise but happy one. I hadn’t taken care that it’s ‘mirror-shiny’ but now I think it’s perfect for the festive season!
beautiful fabrics
Those small prints were on my list all the time. Then I wanted something more exciting and my eye picked the purple. Those are not at all my colours (usually) but perhaps it’s the desperate need to feel autumn that made me fall in love with that fabric!
Today it has been again about +24C and I’m wearing t-shirt, slippers and jeans (those I don’t give up anymore) – and it’s November! I don’t complain but I’m worried how hard the winter will be when it finally arrives!
Parson Grey
You saw there something brownish, too?! For your surprise, I love this fabric and all the collection of Parson Grey! Unfortunately I don’t have time to sew with all the fabrics and colours I love, so I use those happy colours which I enjoy most. But there are so many beautiful earth colours and prints, too. Have a look at Parson Grey’s ‘Seven Wonders’ collection!
Sorry that I don’t link to all fabrics. If you like get more details about the fabrics in this post, please ask me.
makaronilaatikko
Are you coming or what? Dinner is ready and I’m hungry! Was it red wine, you said?
IMG_1782
Καλη Ορεξη! Kali Oreksi! Bon Apetit! Good Appetite! Hyvaa Ruokahalua!
Remember to see tomorrow the first HOLIDAY TUTORIAL! I’m excited to see what Melissa has prepared for us!
You can see my tutorials on the up page ‘TUTORIALS’. I shall add always my new tutorials there.
Thank you so much for your visit! Thank you also for taking the time to write such a sweet comments!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

25 thoughts on “HOLIDAY TUTORIAL SERIES and fabrics!

  1. All that lovely fabric – you must be in heaven, Teje! Enjoy it and I can’t wait to see what you make with all of it.

  2. Good choice with your Kaffe Fassett 6″ bundles! All fabrics have great colors and designs. Looking forward to see your new projects! x Barbora

  3. Beautiful beautiful fabrics equals hours of happy playing. Hope you enjoy every moment. Your dinner looks so yummy, would you be able to give us a quick recipe?

    • Thank you Gail! I’m very happy to give the recipe. I write it next time. If you are in hurry to cook, send me email, and I’ll get back to you soon. x Teje

  4. What gorgeous Kaffe Fassett fabric, you are going to have fun just deciding what to do!

  5. You chose so well……They are truly happy and Autumn-y! I love the Marmalade line of fabrics!!!! That purple flower print is so “dreamy” (colors that wouldn’t have been put together years ago!!!). Many happy quilty dreams to you, dear Friend! Hugs from a rapidly cooling Midwest…..drippy with a flurry threatening every once in a while. The wood heat is a blessing……….

    • Thank you Doreen! They are all dream fabrics! After looooong time we had rain at night and it’s still cloudy. It’s time to sence autumn. Hugs! x Teje

  6. Looks as though you have some great fabric to make some yummy things! I purchased my first Kaffe Fassett fabric not too long ago from Craftsy on sale.

  7. Those are gorgeous fabrics, especially the purpley group. Can’t wait to see what you come up with. And supper looks really good, too. Is that Finnish noodle casserole Teje-style that I see? White please. : )

  8. What a fun time for you Teje and such lovely bright fabrics. You have such lovely sunshine still, you meal outside looks so inviting. I will raise my glass to you and it’s white or rose for me please ;0) x

  9. I like the Kaffe prints a lot, but I LOVE the fall color fabrics you chose from Marmalade! What is that yellow flower print with the orange and pink flowers called? It’s beautiful! The lovely meal you prepared looks very very yummy!!

  10. You’ve chosen beautiful fabrics for your prize. I can’t wait to see what you’re going to make with it all🙂

  11. Les tissue sont magnifique et j’adore les pates Marie-Claire

  12. those are beautiful fabrics! enjoy sewing with them🙂

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

