Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Needle Book -Tutorial

30 Comments

Hi! Welcome to my ‘Christmas Tree’ – seasonal tutorials – part 2! As I can’t make snowmen because it’s still over +20C and sunny, I make trees and more trees. This little tree demanded to be something small special and I planted it on a Needle Book.

Needle Book

This story began from here …

tree block

I have made lots of trees these last days and wanted to make one extra cute. Didn’t have any idea where to put it … until it started to look a little needle book. If you like to make one, I’ll show you how I made this.

For the tree you need following pieces. Don’t look the measurements exactly as they can be flexible. You may have a fabric where is something special you like to show – cut it so that you can enjoy the best part of it. It doesn’t matter the the tree is a little bit bigger or smaller or the trunk longer or shorter. Take care to cut opposite pieces – other wise you end up making more and more trees!

tree block

Sew first the tree. Trim the block and cut same size piece for the backside (use a beautiful piece of fabric or make there other tree).

Then sew fabric strip between your two blocks (front and back cover of your book).

patchwork tree

Then sew first stripes on the longer sides and then stripes on the shorter sides.

patchwork tree

Trim this if needed. Cut same size pieces from wadding and from the fabric you like to use inside your needle book.

Now put the wadding on the table. Put your two fabric pieces {right sides together} on the wadding. Pin around. On the edge which is going to be the back cover of your book, leave open space to turn your work ‘inside-out’ (look where is my pen).

Needle Book Tutorial

Sew around and remember to leave the open space.

Concentrate! You may see the stitching holes between my pins.  I was thinking how to explain this to you and I sew the wadding inside those two fabrics and had to do it all again. Wadding has to be outside, because you turn your work.

After sewing around, trim a little bit the corners and turn your needle book inside-out. Press gently with iron.

Choose a button and mark the place for it. Cut piece of ribbon and measure with the button, how long it has to be. But the ribbon in the open space and close it with pins. Check again with the button before sewing.

Needle Book Tutorial

Now sew one stitching all around your needle book. This stitching will close also the open space.

needle case tutorial

Cut one or two pieces from felt. The inner piece could be slightly smaller. Mark the middle in your needle book and the middle in the felt pieces. Sew them on the needle book with one stitching line. Sew also the button.

needle book tutorial

Add a sweet note on the front page. I clued the little scraps and then stitched around. I love the picture inside!

needle book tutorial

I’m almost sure that you can’t make only one! Fortunately these are perfect little presents!

On the book cover I stitched a little bit by hand. Around the tree. Pink decoration. Simple leaf.

needle book

Looks like someone tries to bite my needle book …

drift wood and needle book

I hope this tutorial is helpful and inspiring! One great place to see lots of tutorials is “Sew Mama Sew”! There are all the time more and more tutorials during the November. Already 3 parts are out, so there are many tutorials! 1st part is ‘Gifts for Tweens’, 2nd ‘Gifts for Gadget Lovers’, 3rd ‘Gifts for Cooks’ … Lots of ideas and inspiration for gifts!

drift wood

I do my best to show you many seasonal tutorials. You are also welcome to make a wish fora  tutorial!  Very soon I have more sewing and tutorial news!

I wish you Good Month! I know that also you can’t believe how close the Christmas is! Hopefully we shall sew a this month – don’t make your list too long – remember to enjoy your sewing! I make list only for ideas and decide on the road what to make!

Needle Book by Teje Karjalainen

Thank you for your visit and your sweet words for my little scrap trees! See you soon!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

30 thoughts on “Needle Book -Tutorial

  1. Les patch sont magnifique bravo bonne soiree Marie-Claire

  2. Sweet! I love needle books.

  3. Great tutorial and perfect inspiration as a gift for a fellow quilter🙂

  4. Teje, I adore the bear fabric on the inside. What a pleasant surprise to open up the needle case and find some bears. So Cute !!!!!

  5. What a great gift and I always want to make one for myself as my needles are a mess!

  6. Thank you so much Teje. Thoughts of needle cases as gifts were floating vaguely in my head and now, thanks to your tutorial, I can move them from thoughts to reality.

  7. Sweet needlecase and great tute🙂

  8. Just adorable, Teje!!! Love all the hand stitching.

  9. Beautiful work once again Teje, you have been busy! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  10. It’s a beautiful needle-book! Love the added hand stitching.

    -Soma

  11. Thank you for a needle keeper that is so quilty……cannot wait to make a few….

  12. Reblogged this on Nero's Post and Patch and commented:

    This and many other tutorials in my new blog http://www.nerospost.wordpress.com

  13. This is so cute. Thank you for the lovely tutorial Teje🙂 Avis x

  14. Pingback: What to give a stitcher? Needlebooks! | Dmcthread's Blog

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

