Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Paper pieced letters – Fabrics – Sea Glass

40 Comments

Hello dear friends! I hope you have had great time with the ‘Blogger’s Quilt Festival’! After many days apart from my sewing machine, I catched myself yesterday from the neck and climbed to attic. Where to start if there is nothing waiting on the table? Letters – yes – paper pieced letters!

paper pieced letters

These letters are great project to do just when I don’t know what to do! But I allow myself to make only one letter per time …

foundation pieced letter

… otherwise I couldn’t stop and would make only letters! and I do need to go for a walk with my letters and puppies … around the garden …

slippers with letters

For once I was lucky to find easily just perfect slippers from the local ‘Halkiadaki’ super market! They are so fun – with my blue jeans the blue pops up, with my lime green shawl that colour … I don’t have anything orange?!

The other thing for today is that I received again fabrics – yes, I can’t stop fabrics arriving here! And look what came this time …

fabric tree

These are the most beautiful Kona solids – my first ever – and I love them and can’t wait to find an idea, good enough, to use them! I appreciate these fabrics ‘for twice’ as they came from Joanna from ‘Shape Moth’. Some fabrics that I won from the Forest QAL were missing and Joanna was so sweet that she picked these from her own stash and sent them to me. Thank you Joanna – you don’t know how happy I am! I guess it’s difficult to believe, but I don’t have solids at all (except a little bit orange and green from the local shop).

blue fabric and sea glass

Hey, you don’t get off so easily … I took lots of photos to find some nice, so I need to show at least few more … by the way the sea glass is from our Sea Glass Studio ‘TRIKIMIA’.

solids and sea glass

I take lots of photos … for the ‘Fantasy Forest’ I have took till now about 350 shoots and still I’m not totally happy. I guess I need to go for an other place.

fabrics and sea glass

But what you think if I take those forest animals to the sancy beach? Perhaps we have to make a trip to the woods …

… honestly I didn’t plan this ‘donkey’s bridge’ but yesterday evening I got lost in the woods … seriously …

scrap trees

I felt so ‘improvising creator’ with my beloved scraps …

scraps

Now I would love to dive in to my scraps again but I have to dive in the kitchen sink and wash the plates. Fortunately Nero is next to me and happy to help me.

LINKS

LETTERS: Patterns are made by Kristy from ‘Quite Play’ and they are available in her Craftsy Store.

Kristy hasmade a beautiful mini quilt with letters !

Carla from ‘Grace and Favour’ has made amazing hexagon letters!

QUILT ALONG WITH LETTERS: ‘Blossom Heart Quilts’ has a QAL with letters ‘Easy as ABC’!

‘3patchcrafts’ has made sweet sheeps! How about counting paper pieced sheeps till falling asleep! Patterns are in Craftsy.

‘Sew mama sew’ has great page for tutorials! Paper piecing and many other patterns.

Kona solids and sea glass

Yes … the plates … thank you so much for stopping by! I love to read your lovely comments and thoughts! Sorry  if I don’t have always time to answer, but I do my best! Often the comment thread  continues and it’s great to keep in touch with sewing friends! So please tell me what you have been doing – have you really started to sew for Christmas? I’m still wearing flip flops and t-shirt … sorry!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

40 thoughts on “Paper pieced letters – Fabrics – Sea Glass

  1. I so enjoyed this post, Teje! Everything is beautiful! Your letters and improv trees are lovely and the sea glass photos are gorgeous. I feel like I just had a little break in the sunshine x

  2. One of these days I will try PP letters…yours look lovely…and the fabrics are just vibrant too. I especially like seeing you use your scraps. What a great idea.

  3. Fabric+sea glass=fabulous!!

  4. Great shots! Your photography is excellent, love the colored “stones”. You shall have lot of fun with Kona solids! x Barbora

  5. What neat work and photos Teje and love the sea glass! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  6. Lovely letter blocks Teje … can’t wait to see what you do with those lovely solids 🙂

  7. Beautiful and clever letters T! And your sea glass is so pretty! Jxo

  8. Oh I love those trees and the sea glass is magical. Beautiful post! Have a wonderful day….

    • Thank you so much Louise! There is magic in the sea glass! You may find a grey piece you think it’s a stone and then throught the light it shows amazing colour! Lovely day to you, too! x Teje

  9. Wow, how perfectly the sea glass matches the solids! What a beautiful photo. Thanks for sharing!

  10. The sea glass is so pretty. Your letters are just perfect!

  11. What a charming arrangement of color–the soft and the stone of it. Your letters are so well done– you have got the piecing of tiny bits down pat–don’t know how you do it. Sonja

    • Thank you so much Sonja! It needs lot of patience but it’s so fun to see how the ‘picture/letter’ appears from ‘strange’ pieces! x Teje

  12. Wow such gorgeous photos of your new fabrics and sea glass!! The sea glass colours are so beautiful, and you have so many different shades! Love the fabrics too, and your letters are beautifully made, Teje!
    Helen x

  13. Love the letter blocks. So much fun could be had with these. I am so jealous of your beautiful fabric photos. The light you have for your photos is so fabulous – unlike dark overcast Portland where we have icky light. Please send some Greek sunshine my way.

    • Thank you Cath! I do my best! Sunlight helps me so much with the photos but also here I see that now day is much shorter and I should take photos in the morning time. You have sunshine in your quilts! x Teje

  14. Teje, the sea glass & matching fabric photos are fantastic! Beautiful fabrics and sea glass. Your improv trees are wonderful. They look like they are fun to make.

  15. Hi Teje, I love solid fabrics. I haven’t tried the Kona ones yet. I enjoyed your photo story today 🙂 It is now very cold here and I have had to put a quilt over my legs as I sew. I’ve already started sewing some Christmas decorations. It is far too early for me really. I’m usually the last person to get started and then have to rush at the last minute. Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! Quilt on your lap sounds nice but not the cold. We have still amazingly beautiful and warm weather. I’m often also late with the Christmas things. It’s difficult to get the feeling when there is no snow and winter. And I should remember the shipping time. x Teje

  16. Magnifiques patchs et tissues Marie-Claire

  17. Love your letter blocks! They are looking fabulous!

    Those photos with the sea glass and the solids are just fantastic too!

  18. Love your letter blocks :). Love the coloured stones with the solid colour fabric :).

  19. Love the sea glass with those solids – excellent! And, of course, your blocks are so fun, too!

  20. Teje! LOVE YOUR LETTERS!!! Thanks for adding my Tuesday Archives to your blog and for linking up! I absolutely love your seaglass…esp. when paired with the fabric!! YUM!

  21. Your letter blocks are so cool. Actually your whole post is cool with the lovely photography!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

