Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

New Charleston Square

23 Comments

Hi dear friends! I made the Charleston Square block again …

Charleston Square block

I used some favourite fabrics from ‘Summersault’ by Erin Mc Morris called Pinwheel. My favourite colours, too.

Charleston Square blocks

Here is my both tries. With the first I didn’t choose well prints and colours and the shape doesn’t show well. With the next one I followed more carefully the good instructions and it bacame beautiful. You can find all the useful links to make these blocks from my last post.

quilt blocks

They are ment to be in point but I don’t have any idea yet how or where I shall use these, so let them wait.

Yesterday when I returned home, I passed the beach … it looked so beautiful as always …

Greek beach

Day was warm and there were still many people enjoying …

sandy beach of kalathas

I just stopped to take few photos on my way home, but I was standing there a good while because it felt and looked so nice.

sea water

Sometimes something small can be so special …

spoonflower

This most cute fabric piece followed the example piece I received from ‘Spoonflower’! I have ordered a free swatch piece of Performance Knit fabric. For the print I chose this watercoloured beauty Color Chart Too

Spoonflower

This fabric is wonderful! It’s thin, soft and it has slight shine. It’s elastic and perfect for blouses and it would make beautiful and comfortable scarves!

performance knit

In ‘Spoonflower’ fabric shop you choose the print (from a huge selection) and the type of fabric. You can make your own fabric designs, too.

my cat

When I arrived home, Nelli was waiting me on a ‘princess bed’! These are dogs blankets which I put out on the day time so Nero and Hanna can lie there and then for the night I put them on the chair. Nelli is very happy to sleep there all the night!

quilt block

Thank you for stopping by and for your lovely comments! 25th of October starts the ‘Blogger’s Quilt Festival’! Are you ready?! Button is on my sidelist so can find all the details to join!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

23 thoughts on “New Charleston Square

  1. Great blocks, AWESOME photos! Thanks for sharing.

  2. What a cool block Teje, love the fabrics you used too. Both blocks turned out beautiful. Great pictures of the beach and Nelli looks so comfy cozy resting.

  3. Love your blocks – the fussy cutting in the second one is lovely🙂

  4. Those are great blocks. Simple but so pretty.

  5. They are both beautiful Teje but I can see how the pattern shows up more with the greens. Your beach still looks so inviting and warm. Enjoy your autumn sunshine Nellie has chosen a great spot to sleep x

  6. Great blocks…and wow, the beach looks lovely and peaceful.

  7. Your new blocks look lovely, Teje. I think you got the colour balance just right. The photos are all so bright and gorgeous too. Love the cosy kitty picture!
    Helen x

  8. Thanks for sharing – I love the new version of the Charleston Square….You can see how a secondary pattern would develop if you made a quilt of this block.

    Your beach photos are so beautiful…as I sit here expecting snow this weekend…keep the sunshine coming…I can feel the warmth from here…

  9. Beautiful blocks! I so need to make some. What a lovely place you live in!

  10. Gorgeous blocks, Teje. Those fabrics are so bright and happy! Looking forward to seeing what you make with your new Spoonflower fabric!

  11. Oh, how pretty your new block is in Summersault! Your beach pictures look so enticing, Teje, especially as winter is fast approaching here. Enjoy that sunshine and happy stitching!

  12. Great blocks – the “new” fabric choice is magnificent, the fabric colors emphasize the block design! Looking forward to se more.

  13. Great blocks Teje and that fabric from Spoonflower…..beautiful! I always enjoy seeing your view too. Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  14. Lovely blocks T! And I finished the book! Really enjoyed it and now thinking of what to make! Jxo

  15. Your blocks look great and I love the water colour fabric🙂

  16. The first one is still very pretty : ) I am nearly ready for the Quilt Festival. Looking forward to seeing what you enter.

  17. Les deux plock patch sont magnifique felicitation Marie-Claire

  18. Lovely blocks! It’s always tricky choosing the best fabrics for blocks isn’t it? I spent ages swapping and changing for the Bloom Bloom Pow. That watercolour fabric is beautiful as is your home🙂

  19. Really pretty fabrics in the blocks, and so enhanced by pinning them on the fence…love the background….great photography. Love the Color Chart Too piece….it’s a new designer for me…Spoon Flower…thanks for sharing.

    I am visiting from Thursday Threads and would love to have you stop by and see my 1930’s Fabrics and Quilts. Just click on the signature link below…hope to see you there.  Your comments are ‘Sew’ Welcomed!
    Sue CollectInTexas Gal

  20. Those are darling blocks, I especially love the red one!

  21. I love these blocks and your fabrics are just perfect in them! Your photos are absolutely gorgeous too!

    Thank you so much for linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday!
    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  22. Oh my goodness, that beach is beautiful! The blocks are lovely too🙂 thanks for linking up🙂

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

