Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Fabrics, Links and Charleston Square

20 Comments

Hi! Let’s start with a fabric bucket for the weekend! Oh, I forgot to put ribbon …

fabrics

Some time ago I received email about my blueberries, the foundation block and pattern. I was asked about the pattern and if I could share it. I had made the pattern just by hand but I was happy to share it for a special project.

fabrics

That sweet lady offered to send me some fabrics. As she asked what I prefer, I said that I miss yellows and blues. You can see that she sent to me the most beautiful fabrics! Thank you so much Vanda, I love these! These are very precious and I don’t know how I can cut them. Perhaps I keep them on a vase!

fabrics

I have been organizing my sewing space. That was almost hopless work. Now it’s mostly done, still some boxes need to be cleared and selves to be dustied. Do you know how much dust fabrics spread all over? And I clean my sewing space every autumn! I couldn’t change that space much but I got rid of some things and there is now more light and it’s great to start new projects.

fabrics

Frustrating moment yesterday … I had sorted out almost all the quilting fabrics … but didn’t have enough storage boxes for them. There is still a big pile of fabrics waiting for washing (light wash by hand). Half of the Sonja’s fabrics are in that pile, so I need more boxes.

charleston square block

I made this ‘Charleston Square’ block today. Katie at ‘Swim Bike Quilt’ has made this good tutorial. I wanted to sew just a short moment and then there was a post from Amy at ‘Diary of a Quilter’. She is hosting a ‘Virtual Quilting Bee’. Unfortunately I didn’t have time to join this but now all the blocks are there if you like to make them. Also in this post Amy explains well how to choose fabrics (colours and volumes). Amy has also many helpfull, great links in her post!

My block is good example how to choose wrong fabrics and not to pay attention! I went to pick the link from Amy’s blog and I couldn’t find this block anymore? Mine became totally different and first I didn’t recognize the original. I have put my pieces in wrong order and obviously I need to practise much more how to use prints and volumes!

Rachel from ‘Stitched in Color’ has now also great post about colour scheme. Her ‘Penny Patch’ quilt is beautiful and she explains how to use low volumes and different prints.

quilt block

I know what I need to do with my ‘Charleston Square’ (don’t say that this be came also disappearing …). You’ll see next time, if you didn’t guess already. And I have to made new block, as it should be!

My blog friend Barbora at ‘Skalabara’, from Spain has made bird pillows! They are so cute! She found most wise quote from a ‘coffee sugar’ – you have to read it!

And now- more about fabrics! I got a note from ‘Fat Quarter Shop’ that the fabrics I’m waiting for, are there! You remember that I won the fantastic gift certificate with my ‘Fantasy Forest’ quilt. Fat Quarter Shop has thousands of beautiful fabrics and I couldn’t ever make up my mind, so I thought this could be perfect time to get something I have always wanted. From a designer I have admired since I started to knit as a young girl. He is Kaffe Fassett …

Kaffe Fassett's fabrics from Fat Quarter shop

Anyone who loves colours, loves these! ‘Fat Quarter Shop’ has lots of Kaffe’s fabrics and fantastic bundles – something for everyone! This one is: {Hot Kaffe Fassett Collective 6″ Design Strip}  and this bundle has 20 pieces of 6″ x 44″. I think that’s perfect! My only small problem is that I would love to get the ‘Cool’ one, too, but there has to be something to dream about, right?!

If you like to make a quilt with stripes, there is wonderful {Collective Design Roll} with 30 stripes of 2,5″ x 42″ and more colours – hot and cool! I want now a little bit bigger pieces because I don’t know yet how I shall use them.

fabrics

Now I go to make something with my failure quilt block. Thank you so much for stopping by and for your sweet comments! I hope these links help you and fabrics give you inspiration! See you soon!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

20 thoughts on “Fabrics, Links and Charleston Square

  1. As a non quilter Teje your block looked pretty great to me..such pretty colours. You must have loved selecting your materials for your prize, many congratulations again. Enjoy the weekend, Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! I just cut pieces for a new block and you’ll see next time how different it looks when it’s right. Anyway also this blog will be usefull. Hugs! x Teje

  2. I have been cleaning my sewing room too. Each time I do, I struggle to find space to put things back so I am more willing to let things go. It feels good. Enjoy your clean sewing space.

  3. I spy some strawberry fabric in your sewing space🙂. You have such a creative pretty way of doing fabric photos!!

  4. Lovely fabrics! I am looking at blues and yellows on my desk too, what to make? I use food bags for my fabric/projects, the 20cm x 25cm (ish) ones from the supermarket that you can “zip” closed – perfect!!!

    • Thank you Benta! That sounds practical. I haven’t found zip bags here, but I shall look again perhaps there is now. Happy weekend! x Teje

  5. I think your block looks very nice!

  6. Hi Teje, thanks for linking to my blog. Great fabrics you have, the Charleston block is really nice. Kaffe Fassett designs are also my favorites!

  7. Ahh yes I can see the tonal problem. I take photos of my progress, sometimes just by looking at a photo you can correct mistakes easier. I am always changing fabrics, thats why I like hand piecing so much. Love your stacks of fabric x

    • Thank you Clare! I need to do more this kind of blocks to learn. Now I made this again and followed the instructions better and it became beautiful. x Teje

  8. What a lovely post, as always, and what a surprise you’ve chosen the Kaffe Fasset fabric. I’ve admired him too for a long, long time, and I was lucky enough to visit an exhibition of his work in Hasselt in Belgium, a few years ago. And if I could make a picture of me now, you could see I’m wearing a cardigan made after with his design! He really is an inspiration on so many levels, so chosing his fabrics, is only the right thing to do!!

    • Thank you Dorien! I wish I could see your cardigan! I remember you and the exhibition – lucky you! I have one of his early knitting books and it’s my treasure. x Teje

  9. Le tissue et le patch sont tres beau Marie-Claire

  10. Oh, look at the pretty fabrics! I’m also excited about your choice of Kaffe fabrics, Teje. I love the saturated colours in his lines and can’t wait to see what you will make!

  11. Hi Teje, Gorgeous blocks and fabric. I also love Kaffe’s designs. I have two of his books, one for knitting and another for needlepoint and I will buy some of his fabric one day. The books are full of beautiful designs too🙂 Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! I have also one of his knitting books and it’s my treasure. I admire also his needlepoint works, they are just amazing – fruits, vegetables and flowers of course! Have a great week! x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

