Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

PATTERNS, BLOCKS and GRASSHOPPER!

33 Comments

Hi! I hope you are fine and enjoy your weekend and autumn! Can you believe that I needed today again the fan? and not only because of the hot flashes – it’s +32 C and hot wind!

paper pieced letter

I had an odd feeling that I haven’t made any ‘normal’ sewing for a long time?! I have made few fabric baskets and then I have been working on and on with the new pattern. I love letters and I have patterns for them but I hadn’t made any yet so yesterday when there was football in tv, it was time to start. What letter you would make first? Fortunately my name is short so I thought to try those letters.

paper pieced letters

If you make one letter, be sure that you can’t stop there! Today I continued with the small e. I don’t have any plan for these. Because the letters are small, I used white for them and colours for the background to enjoy more colour. I really like foundation piecing and it was good to exercise after few months brake.

paper pieced letter

Kristy from ‘Quiet Play’ has made these fantastic patterns! I love the style she made the letters!

Patterns are available in Kristy’s Craftsy store which is full of beautiful and fun patterns! There are big and small letters and this block size is 5″ x 5″. I like that, because you use them even in smaller projects. If you like you can make then bigger when you print the pattern.

Every Friday Kristy is hosting ‘Paper Piecing Party’ in her blog!

grasshopper

One day I met this fellow on a friend’s table. Now I saw that by coincidence the colours force me to show him today!

quilt block

Can you believe that I have never made granny block? I have crochet many granny squares but never catched the granny-quilt train. There are so many beautiful granny quilts around the blogs that I just can’t link to my favourites. But if you haven’t made or seen (?) granny blocks, here are two links:

My blog friend Katherine from ‘Sew Me Something Good’ is making adorable small granny blocks and she reminded me once again to start. Katherine is inspiring me all the time. I love her fabrics and colours and she makes all the time something beautiful!

For example ‘Blue Elephant Stitches’ has great tutorial how to make granny blocks.

disappearing granny block

My blocks are not exactly granny blocks because I didn’t like to cut all the white squares around. So I made small change and I was thinking if this could be’ disappearing granny’. I hope that no granny disappears in real!

quilt block

I hadn’t payed enough attention how to use the colours so in this blue grannie really disappeared. I don’t have any plan also for these blocks, but I have one ‘general’ idea. I want to make a quilt with different kind of blocks and areas, so these will be there, too. Who knows, perhaps the letters, too …

quilt blocks

Blue is always blue! Even I love most of the colours, blue is and will always be my first favourite! And what’s more beautiful than blue sky and what’s more fun than grasshopper on blue sky!

grasshopper

No tricks needed to get this shot. Only look! Look what could be fun, what the background could be and ‘put’ your target where you like! Don’t move your grasshopper but yourself!

quilt blocks

Now it looks like I need to make orange ‘disappearing granny’ and I have already picked green fabrics for ‘j’ and reds for ‘e’. Can I please go to make them now?

The pattern for the ‘Bird on My Pillow’ … on Nero’s pillow is ready and it’s now available in my Etsy shop and in my Craftsy store. I made this pattern very carefully with all the details so that everyone could make this fun pillow. There are lots of photos and explinations for every step of the process. You don’t need to find any other links – all the info you need to finish this pillow, is in the pattern.

patchwork pillow

When ever you like to ask something or need any help, I’m very happy to help! I want to encourage every one to start quilting and patchwork because it’s so much fun and I waited too long time.

Thank you for stopping by and for your lovely comments! I pass all your sweet messages and hugs to London! I was happy to meet her yesterday! My puppies … they are my joy every day! Early in the morning (5.30) Nero came next to my bed and wanted me to pet him! All the others were in deep sleep … Hanna next to me!

EARTHQUAKE TODAY!

We had strong enough earthquake in the afternoon. It was 6.4 on the Richter’s scale and we moved! Fortunately we didn’t have any damages but there were waves in the swimming pool! My sewing attic with wooden floor was moving quite much but our stone houses are built with the latest earthquake norms, so they are very strong.

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

33 thoughts on “PATTERNS, BLOCKS and GRASSHOPPER!

  1. LOL! Love the “Disappearing Granny Square”!!!! They will go very well with your sweet letters! Will be watching for more little squares. It is a lovely 61F here and no need for fans. Sigh…….. I pray your temps will be more moderate soon, dear Friend! Hugs…….

    • Thank you Doreen! and forgot the write about the earthquake we had in the afternoon! It was strong enough to make waves in the pool! This temperature is not common this time. Hugs! x Teje

      • You forgot to mention…..what???!!!!! I think I would not forget such!! We have very faint tremors a bit further south (there is a minor fault along the Mississippi River) but I have not experienced anything like that. Take care my friend! Hugs……

        • We have now and then small earthquakes so we have used to them. This was quite strong but it was good to happen because when there are often smaller ones, we may avoid one too big which would cause serious damages. If you want to forget something sew or speak about sewing! x Teje

  2. I love the granny squares Teje and your lettering is so clever. Wow 32c today, it’s been 14c today which is warmer than it has been. Your grasshopper was obviously very happy to have his photo taken. Enjoy the rest of the weekend x

  3. I love your letters and your disappearing grannies match them perfectly. It’s starting to get cold here, now, and it’s dark earlier every day. I’d like some of your sunshine but I hope you don’t have any more earthquakes🙂

    • Thank you Janine! Days are getting shorter also here but if we are lucky it can be still long time warm. This earthquake was stronger than usually but better like this to avoid too strong earthquakes. x Teje

  4. Wonderful blocks, Teje. I especially like your disappearing Granny squares! It is a pleasure to get to know you since following your blog now for a little while. I really enjoy your sense of humor. (Hope that no granny disappears in real. AND Don’t move your grasshopper but yourself!) Love those!

  5. Love the granny blocks Teje I’ve not seen those before, but the letters look tricky🙂 Can’t believe the weather you’re having I’m sat here with a banket!!

    • Thank you Amy! I think these letters are great to start foundation piecing. There are not too many pieces in each letter and you can start with more simple as T. They are also small – not much waste if the first tries are not perfect. x Teje

  6. I’m glad you and your family, and your home are OK. Waves in the pool? Wow! All of your blocks are great, very pretty.

    • Thank you so much Lea! Fortunately now one has hurt, only some old houses had some damages. Hopefully this earthquake saves us from one very big earthquake. x Teje

  7. Wonderful letters and grannies. It looks like a lot of fun playing with the different placements. Thank goodness nothing serious happend during the earthquake and for old solid build houses🙂

    • Thank you Cille! Fortunately there wasn’t big damages, only some old houses may have something and has to be checked. When we built about ten years ago, the law just changed and our house is strong and safe. I love those letters and hope to continue soon. x Teje

  8. Looks like you have the makings of a very pretty quilt, Teje. And I am VERY glad you had no damage from that quake. That was big enough to cause a lot.

    • Thank you so much Sage! It was good that the earthquake was inn the sea (as usually here) so even it was strong it didn’t cause much damage; only for some very old houses something small damages. x Teje

  9. Loving your blocks! Can’t wait to see how you put them all together!

    Glad the earthquake didn’t cause any damage – how scary!

    • Thank you Kristy! I don’t know yest what I’ll make with these cute letters because I have many ideas. Fortunately it didn’t cause damages except a little bit for some very old houses. x Teje

  10. I love these blocks!
    Wow that’s a stong earthquake! Does that happen often in Greece?

  11. Wow, an earthquake! We do not get many of those.
    You quilt blocks are inspiring, as always!
    Esther

  12. I’m pleased you are all OK following your earthquake Teje! I love your new blocks which are perfect for scrappy quilts. The letters look like great fun too. Avis x

    • Thank you so much Avis! It’s calm now here. I enjoyed making these blocks and I’m worried that I can’t stop the foundation piecing when started these little letters. x Teje

  13. Your blocks are just beautiful! There is always such a feast of colour going on here. I love it! Great grasshopper shots too. Ros

  14. Love these letters and granny squares. We heard about Greek earthquake. Hoping things will be calm. A big hug to you Teje,

    Anne—PlumCreek22

  15. FELICITATION le coussin est magnifique bonne journee Marie-Claire

  16. Oh, such pretty blocks for your name, Teje and I love your disappearing grannies! Like you, I don’t like cutting those outside pieces (too much fabric waste!), and I think combining your blocks with the letters is a great idea.

    Yikes! That was a pretty strong quake. Glad you’re okay, sweet friend.

    • Thank you Katherine! I have used to save every piece and the foundation piecing teached me a little bit to ‘waste’ fabric. Still I try to sew without wasting. Perhaps it’s time to start a project with those tiny scraps! x teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

