Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

TRAVELLING BOOK

27 Comments

Hello dear friends! I have a story with a book, bird and patchwork!

The Lost Quilter

This story began in spring when a friend gave me this book knowing that I’m a quilter. All the summer I was thinking and slowly reading the book.  I wanted to share this book with other quilters with a fun way – but how?

mini quilt

In that time Judith from ‘Just Jude’ had sent to me wonderful packet with yarn to help my turquoise project and a beautiful charm pack! We were ‘talking’ this and that and I thought to ask her opinion about my ideas. She thought it was good idea and I thought she could be the first stop of this journey.

patchwork

A bird had been some where in my mind for a long time and this project was perfect for a bird. The block you see on the cover of this book is ‘Flying Bird’. I didn’t make exactly same blocks but still triangles – my favourites!

book blog hop

Finally I collected my thoughts and ideas and ended up with this: I send this book to one quilter-blogger friend with something I have made. She will keep that I have made, reads the book, sews something and sends again the book with something sews to an other friend. I made the bird because of the block’s name and because I thought that it will fly to a new home … over cities, villages, fields, lakes …

patchwork bird

I was happy to have this little bird in my garden …

bird mini quilt

This was a first bird I made and I guess I was too excited to remember that we have to trim the squares from all sides! Now it hurts me to see those unmatching points – but perhaps they could be bird’s feathers.

flying bird mini quilt

Because I had an idea that Judith likes purple I was brave enough to use that colour for the binding and I love it!  I missed the bird when it flew away and you know how the story continues … I’m still making more birds! The little bird has arrived to her new home and one day I hope to hear where else the book travels. At the end of the book there is a list where every ‘stop’ can add their name. I hope they also send me an email so that I can tell you about this book’s journey.

travelling quilter's book

I’m so sorry that I was able to send this only to one friend, but I do hope you like my idea and perhaps send an other book for a journey around the world! I didn’t name this post Quilter’s Travelling Book, because this could be any book.

Before I got this book, I had been thinking how great it would be to have a book swap so that when you/me receives one book, she sends one book the the ‘first’ sender (any book she likes to give), reads this ‘new’ book and sends it to the next reader.

‘The Lost Quilter’ by Jennifer Chiaverini is for quilters so for this book ‘swap-hop’ it was nice to add something we sew. This is not real blog hop, because every one can read the book as quickly or slowly as they like and find time. I hope that this book travels around the world and visits many quilters!

Καλο ταξιδι! Good Journey! Bon Voage! Hyvaa Matkaa! (Finnish) …. help me, do you know more?!

God Tur (Norwegian)! Goede Reis! (Dutch)

autumn decoration

Before I leave you, I would like to tell you that this year Craftsy is giving Blogger Awards! You can nominate blogs till 15.10.2013. It’s very difficult choise, I know, but there are many categories so you can nominate several favourites. When you nominate blog or blogs, you enter to win Craftsy’s class! Nominate your favourites using the blog’s URL address – for example https://nerospost.wordpress.com You find Craftsy’s button on my sidelist or click here: post with all the details to nominate blogs.

2013BlogAwards_600x200[1]

Thank you so much for your amazing comments on my last post about ‘The Quiltmaker’s Gift’. I have been so touched to read your thoughts! Have a wonderful week and I hope to see you soon!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

27 thoughts on “TRAVELLING BOOK

  1. What a great quilting idea Teje, I will look forward to reading about your “book’s” adventures out with your quilting friends. Your page with the bird is just beautiful. The “real”book idea is such a sweet thought, if only Royal Mail was not so expensive..sometime the price of the postage is almost as much as buying a book on Amazon! I shall pop over to look at the Crafty Bloggers award site as well. I love reading your blog. Take care, happy Monday, Jane x

  2. I love your bird quilt and your clever quilting–your friend is lucky!

  3. What a lovely idea, Teje,

    And if the receivers (even some) have blogs, they can share their projects&experiences. I really like this idea!

    Viaje seguro!

    Yours,
    Mia

  4. What a great idea. I shall certainly read this book. Have you read the last runaway by Tracey cavalier. It’s a nice read and about a Quaker girl traveling from England to America and her quilts.

  5. Wonderful idea, Terje🙂 I’m hope the book will travel long and wide.Your bird is wonderful. Love the setting of it. Very eye-catching!

  6. Le patch est magnifique bravo bonne soiree Marie-Claire

  7. Oh that’s a wondeful idea Teje. I’m hoping we can keep track of it and see where it goes to.

  8. That is a lovely idea, Teje. It will be interesting to see where your book goes🙂

  9. Such a fabulous idea! Your little quilt is the cutest thing

  10. What a beautiful idea, Teje!

  11. wonderful ideia!!! quero participar!!

    beijos de MF

  12. Your lovely bird is perfect to me, and enjoying her new home! Thank you again for having such brilliant ideas T! Jxo

  13. Very nice! I love your idea! I have read many of Jennifer’s quilting story books. Hope your book makes it around the world and that you will be kept informed of its journey. Pretty birdie too!

  14. so fun and a great idea!!! hope you will update us to the travels of this book🙂

  15. What a wonderful idea! I’m looking forward to hearing about the book’s journey.

  16. I love your bird quilt, and your idea for this book. Wish it could come to me. I just say it in Norwegian; GOD TUR!

  17. Lovely quilt and great idea!

  18. I’m not much of a reader, but I love your quilting idea! And the bird quilt is so sweet!

  19. What a wonderful idea and your bird is beautiful! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  20. What a lbeuatifulk bird quilt! I love it!

  21. Gorgeous work and fun!

  22. What a lovely idea, Teje! Books and quilts are such a perfect combination, and are two of my favourite things. Love your sweet bird design!
    Helen x

  23. Love your quilt–now I HAVE to read the book!

  24. “Goede reis” Dutch!
    What a wonderful book idea! Love it!!!
    Esther

  25. That is just the best idea ever! Books and quilts in the same breath. Won’t it be interesting to see where the book is residing 12 months from now. I often listen to audio books while I’m sewing and just heard “Life After Life” by Kate Atkinson – amazing book, wonderful writer. Those birdies are just the coolest guys, I know Judith will welcome the one winging its way to her.

  26. What a great idea, Teje! Maybe everyone who read the book could sign it and write their city/country before they passed it on so that you could follow the book’s journey.

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

