Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

The Quiltmaker’s Gift!!!

52 Comments

Dear friends,  I don’t know what to write … not that I don’t have anything to say but how … have a look first …

the quiltmaker's gift

There is one dear friend far away … we have never met. She reads my blog, writes sweet comments and now and then we change emails. I know she loves animals and she is a quilter. She made me think more about quilting and to realize how much more it is than just sewing pieces of fabrics.

fabrics

I didn’t know anything about ‘The Quiltmaker’s Gift’. Now I know … and much more … I know that quilting is giving and sharing. I knew that quilters who write blogs are amazing and helpful people who share their knoledge, take the time to make tutorials, patterns and are always willing to help beginners and everyone.

quiltmaker's gift fabrics

… but I could have never guessed that one day one quilter from the other side of the world sends to me all this. Today I don’t use these ‘!’ little marks because they could never describe how I feel. When my ‘unknown’ friend asked my address and said that she likes to send me something I thought perhaps she has few fabric pieces she likes to share.

IMG_1051

When my most helpful hb came from the post office and carried the huge packet I couldn’t believe my eyes. And it was heavy …

IMG_0732[1]

… because between all the fabrics there were three books. I love books and each one of these is very special.

books

Susan Branch‘s “A Fine Romance – Falling in love with the English Countryside” is a treasure. I thought first oh how beautiful book and how nice my friend thought this knowing that my sister is in England … then I opened it and I’m sure my mouth was open … it’s written and illustrated by hand …

susan branch

I try to read it very slowly but when I open it, it’s difficult to stop reading. Susan Branch’s site and blog are full of beautiful stories and things.

The second book “The Quiltmakers Gift” looks – and it is – children’s book but not only. It’s full of beautiful illustrations and it has a lovely teaching story. And it has quilts …

The Quiltmaker's Gift

I love this page … even every page is very inspiring. I found a youtube link for this book.

The third book is “More quilts from The Quiltmaker’s Gift”. This is a fantastic book because it has very much information but also beautiful patterns, ideas and tips how to use the patterns in many ways.  As you have seen (or haven’t because) I don’t use very much traditional blocks but now I feel that traditional quilting is the base for quilting and patchwork. To learn more and to expand my quilting I want now to make also something with traditional blocks. The best would be to make some beautiful sampler quilts … but time will show.

More quilts from the quiltmaker's gift

Here are two examples from this book … there are several pages for each of 19 patterns. Very good explinations and drawings for piecing and for every step to make a quilt.

IMG_1044

These books and fabrics and this unbelievable packet made me think quilting more deeply. Even I have been quilting only 4-5 years, there comes now and then moment that it’s time for something ‘new’. This year it was about paper piecing and foundation piecing. Perhaps next year brings something with traditional but still modern and ‘my style’.

There is something else that has made me think about the history of quilting, but that is a story for an other time.

fabrics

Among these adorable fabrics there are some fabrics that have been made especially for ‘The Quiltmaker’s Gift’ books and quilts. I hope that I dare to use these fabrics and don’t only save them. They are big pieces so I can enjoy them long time what ever I decide to make. There are lots of colours that I have missed.

fabrics

As you can understand there is now way to thank enough … but I thank you from the bottom of my heart, Sonja! I wish we lived closer and we could meet and I wish you had a blog and we all could get to know you, Sonja, I hope this post describes just a little bit how touched and grateful I am.

Where I live, quilting is not common and there is no way to find quilting fabrics or books so all this was even more special to me.

fabrics

I want to share this story about amazing quilters in my favourite link parties. Please look the buttons on the sidelist.

I wish you all beautiful October, happy quilting and lots of sunshine in your lives!

See you soon with new quilting adventures!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

52 thoughts on “The Quiltmaker’s Gift!!!

  1. Yes that is a wonderful Book! I read the Quiltmakers Gift years ago. It is wonderful. Enjoy all those pretty fabrics and sitting in the sun reading your new books : )

    • Thank you Carla! Today we have 2nd rain after April and that’s why my photos doesn’t have so much light. I enjoy the clouds and fresh smell after the small rain! x Teje

  2. A wonderful gift, Teje, sure you’ll have such fun with the beautiful fabrics. You are so generous with your tutorials and advice plus your blog brings joy to many, that this is a well deserved reward. Sonja is an angel indeed.

  3. What a wonderful surprise and sooooo much inspiration. It will be wonderful to see what you do with it Teje.

  4. What an amazing and thoughtful gift. I know you will turn those fabric pieces into several works of art.

  5. What a wonderful and thoughtful gift. I agree that quilt bloggers are the nicest people in the world 🙂

  6. BRAVO vous avez bien éte gatez avec tout les beau tissue et les livres,alors nous allons encore voire beaucoup des beau quilt bonne soiree Marie-Claire

  7. You’ve really received a true treasure. What a beautiful gift. I didn’t know these books, but I’m definitely going to follow those links. The fabric is gorgeous; I especially like the butterfly-fabric. Can’t wait to see what you are going to do with all this.

    • Thank you Dorien! They are fantastic books all three! I shall read and look them again and again. There are so many adorable fabrics and the butterflies are special! I didn’t have any batiks and I relly love them, too, and the bears with kittens and … ! Happy weekend! x Teje

  8. Love those books and fabric but, most of all, dear Sonja who shared from her heart to yours. Although geography puts miles between us, we are closely united in a very special way. I am so happy for you and know your creativity will bring much loveliness from all these pieces. Enjoy and many blessings and hugs to you, cherished bloggy friend, Doreen

    • Thank you dear Doreen! I was touched to tears when I got this present, when I wrote this post and again now reading the most sweet comments from my friends! There has to be some magic in quilting – you need to share it with others and you want to help others to start or what ever other help you can give to other quilters. Thank you for being my quilter friend! Happy weekend! x Teje

  9. What a beautiful and most wonderful surprise, Teje! Sonja is a shining example of generosity and kindness. Her lovely, thoughtful gift put a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes. What a blessing friends are – near or far! Enjoy those treasures, Teje. We know you will make something gorgeous with them.

    • Thank you Katherine! You can imagine my tears when I got the packet. Sonja is amazing and I’m proud to be her friend. Thank you Katherine for the inspiration you give to me! Happy weekend! x Teje

  10. What a beautiful and generous gift, and a lovely way you have to say thank you!

  11. Oh what a lovely bundle of goodies! Isn’t this online quilting community just the best! Enjoy! Jxo

  12. What a wonderful surprise for you! With blogging we “meet” so many wonderful people, but sadly we are scattered all over the world and will likely never meet in person. The best we can do is show our appreciation for each other with our words and sometimes gifts as well. I can’t wait to see what you create from those beautiful fabrics.

    Cindy

  13. Lucky Teje! Just think how your blog and your kindness must have touched her to send you that!

    • Thank you Laura! That was a sweet thing to say! I do hope that my readers enjoy my posts and also finds inspiration and learn. Have a great weekend! x Teje

  14. Wonderful surprise to have someone know you so well and still surprise you with an amazing gift.

  15. What a treasure–the books and fabric, and especially the friendship! I have long been in love with the Quiltmaker’s books. They are simply wonderful. Savor the books and the friendship.

    • Thank you Cindy! Those books are fantastic and the fabrics just adorable. Have a look Suran Branch’s blog; I know you will love it! Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  16. Great surprise, fantastic books and fabrics – you are a lucky lady. Looking forward to see some new quilt designs with your new fabrics!

    • Thank you Barbora! I am so lucky to this and many other special friends around the world! I have so much ideas but days pass and very less happens … I’m still planning to make that table runner. Have a great weekend! x Teje

  17. Bloggy friends are the best and it looks like your friend thinks the world of you! Enjoy your goodies!!

  18. What a beautiful post Teje…..how wonderful to have such a friend! Your post brought tears to my eyes. Random acts of kindness touch our souls. May your beautiful gifts bring you much joy.

    • Thank you so much Marie! I was so touched but wasn’t sure if I can impress myself well enough. I’m happy you sensed my feelings. Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  19. How nice of your “unknown” friend and how generous! 🙂

  20. I am a teacher, and I read that book to my students every single year. I LOVE it. What a special gift, and a special friend!

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

    • Thank you Kelly! I’m happy to hear you read this book at school. It’s so beautiful and wise. Thank you for hosting great party! x Teje

  21. What a wonderful gift. The fabrics are just beautiful, so bright and warm. I love the dragonfly print. I am going to look up those books, they look like great books to have. You have something that you can cherish for the rest of your life from an obvious very dear friend.

    • Thank you Kathleen for your lovely comment! There are so many special fabrics! I saw that those books are at least in Amazon – perhaps you can find them locally, too. Here the quilting is almost unknown, so can’t find any materials or books. That’s why these even more special to me and will always remind of a dear friend. x Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  22. This is such a wonderful gift, I can see how you would hardly know what to say! Gorgeous books and fabrics, just perfect for a quilt maker! And so well deserved too, Teje. Enjoy your treats, and I look forward to seeing what you make in the future.
    Happy weekend. Helen x

    • Thank you so much Helen! I hope to have soon time to make at least something small till I get more ideas. I would love to make something from the books.
      Have a lovely weekend my friend! x Teje

  23. VAU! Amazing gift and amazing friend!. I don’t know the books but they seem to be interesting!

    • Thank you! This was unbelievable present! I love the books, too. Who knows if you find them from the fantastic Finnish library. x Teje

  24. how wonderful! i have the quiltmakers. gift, but i am now off to look at the other books

  25. What a wonderful treat. The kindness of quilters is just awesome and restores my faith.
    Thanks for linking up this week xxxx

  26. I always say quilters are the best people 🙂

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

