Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Favourite Quilt and Fantastic video!

32 Comments

Hi! I’m happy to see you so soon again! So much is happening these days and list of the things to post gets longer. Molly Flanders had a great idea to show our favourite quilts! I love Molly’s works with lovely hand quilting! Of course I had to pick my favourite … in fact I didn’t need to think much which is my favourite quilt …

Orange Stones quilt

This is the one of my quilts I never get tired of watching. If I put it in the store, I miss it and so it’s all the time on the wooden fence in my sewing attic. I can see it when I’m working and also from down stairs. Colours mix beautifully with the stones and wood in our home and the white gives the freshnes and light. Do you see little Foxy in the up left corner with her white pullover?

orange stones hexagon quilt

When I made this quilt, I had just crochet some stones and thought those big hexagons look like stones. Quilt found name: ‘Orange Stones’. I love these sunny fabrics by Joel Dewberry. Read Nero’s post about this quilt with all the details.

I made this quilt quickly in one week to join the Blogger’s Quilt Festival and I learnt to make easy hexagons from Julie. Her wonderful blog is ‘Jaybird Quilts’ and hexagon tutorials are here.

hexagon quilt

These colours goes well with Cretan nature and I think this is great time to take you for an unforgetable tour around Crete – my home island! This video is about 6 min. and worth of every second! Please listen the story – it’s  fun, clever, touching.

WELCOME TO CRETE – SEE YOURSELF!

By the way … we have today +30 C and warm wind … just when I was hoping to find my jeans from the store … so it’s summer dress day again and I guess I jump to the pool!

Orange Stones quilt

I’m linking my favourite quilt ‘Orange Stones’ at Molly’s link party.

As said these last days lots of things has happend in and out of ‘Nero’s Post and Patch’ and we continue tomorrow with Nero’s 9th Birthday! We have got many new friends and followers! I want to welcome all the new followers and thank you so much! Also a huge thank you for our regular readers who take the time to write sweet and engouraging messages!

Now let’s go to see other quilter’s favourites! There is a long list to see beautiful quilts! Funny thing is that often it’s not the quilt that was most challenging or took much time to make.

Sunny wishes! Look the Cretan link – it’s good!

TEJE & NERO

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

32 thoughts on “Favourite Quilt and Fantastic video!

  1. Excellent choice of favourite quilt!

  2. Hello Teje and Nero, love the quilts! It never fails to amaze me what talented people there are out there and how bright and cheerful the quilts are. Happy birthday to Nero too – hope he has a lovely day!
    It’s bright and sunny over here in Warwickshire and a little warm but nowhere near your temperatures!
    love + blessings to all,
    Ellen
    x

    • Thank you so much Ellen! I just bought presents for Nero and Hanna (they already got one) and tomorrow we shall play a lot! And choose the wnner! Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  3. Your hexie quilt is lovely, great colors! Isn’t it funny how the most challenging and detailed quilts we make are loved as much as the simpler ones? Happy Birthday Nero!

    • Thank you Lea! So it is. The favourite (like mine) can be the most easy – there are so many things that makes one quilt favourite. I just bought presents for Nero and Hanna! x Teje

  4. Thanks for sharing the link. Your quilt is gorgeous!

  5. Ihana peite, kauniit värit ja mielenkiintoinen design. Tuo video taisi olla paras koskaan näkemäni matkailuvideo, pitänee laittaa Kreeta kohdelistalle, luonnon monipuolisuus yllätti totaalisesti. Mukavaa viikonloppua!

    • Kiitos! Video on minustakin tosi hyva – kekselias ja hauska ja totta! Taalla on todellakin monipuolinen luonto ja uskomattomia paikkoja. Hyvaa viikonloppua! x Teje

  6. The video is funny! I would love to visit Crete some day. I remember when you made this quilt. So fabulous with the orange .

    • Thank you Carla! I’m happy you saw the video because I think it’s quite special. I see those snowy ‘White Mountains’ from home and usually there is snow till June. Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  7. Lovely photos and lovely quit, Teje!

  8. Beautiful quilt! The colors are really warm and sunny, without overdoing it. I just got the Hex’n’more ruler, and am having fun with it too!

  9. Le quilt est magnifique bravo bonne soiree Marie-Claire

  10. I can see why it’s your favorite!! it’s lovely!
    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  11. Such gorgeous colours Teje…enjoy your continuing sunshine and have a lovely weekend, Jane x

  12. The quilt is stunning with these fabrics and the white just makes them all jump up and stand out. A great setting to photograph the quilt as well. I love it!

  13. This is a fabulous quilt Teje! I see why it is your favorite!

  14. Hi Teje, happy weekend to you🙂 I love your orange stones quilt too! The sunshine is continuing here. Our summer has been so long this year. Happy birthday to Nero🙂 Avis x

  15. Your choice of your favourite quilt is escellent: it really shows how you can make something extraordinary with a rather ‘simple’ pattern. Just using these colours makes it so gorgeous.
    I’m not going to watch the video! Crete has been on my list of places-to-visit for a long, long time, and I know exactly why; looking at it just would make me want to go even more. But I know there will come a time when I can visit; just not is the near future.

  16. Enjoyed the video – quite funny and great scenery. I’ll think of you when we’re “enjoying” -40 this winter.

  17. Lovely colours, and a lovely quilt

  18. This is a beautiful quilt – so fresh and fun! I love the hand stitching as well. How far apart did you space your hand stitching?

    • Thank you Jade! This quilt pattern is made with triangles which are about 6″x 6″. The width of the rows is about 5″. I have quilted following the rows so it’s about 5″ apart. x Teje

  19. Oh, yes! This is one of my favourites, too, Teje. I’m very happy to see it again, it’s so beautiful.

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

