Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

‘Kids Game’ quilt 2. part

28 Comments

Hello dear friends! ‘Kids Game’ quilt has made a good progress. Yesterday evening I finished the quilt top …

'Kids Game' quilt

I had my doubts as often … but now I’m very happy with this! I love the fabrics, great prints and happy colours! If you notice, there is one row less than in my first plan. I had sewn all the rows and saw that it’s too long – just didn’t look nice and I ripped off one row with ‘half squares’ from the middle.

Kids Game quilt

I imagine this quilt with joyful kids having fun pic nic on the grass under the palm tree or in children’s room to remind of happy moments when playing in the garden …

Kids Game quilt

Weather is now just perfect! Not so hot anymore and there is lovely wind … so I made the basting outside (that was only empty table to use at the moment). Those clips for table cloth are very useful when basting a quilt …

basting quilt

For the backing I used this time part of one vintage sheet with piece of white. No photo yet, sorry.  Batting is “under the stone” here (I can find only from online shops to order) so this time I used fleece blanket. I had spare white Ikea’s fleece and it was good I picked that because I got a great new idea for the funny ‘fluffy’ edges they have.

basting quilt

I shall make the quilting by hand as usually and use lots of colours. Hopefully I inspire you to do the same if you don’t already. Hand quilting is much more easier and quicker than you think. ‘Fortunately’ my machine is not suitable for quilting and when I started to make quilts I had to start hand quilting, too.

quilting Kids Game

Hand quilting is great because you can do it any where. Any way you spend a lot of time at your sewing machine and sewing table so why not do the quilting in your comfy arm chair or in the garden!

hand quilting

When I was thinking what colour to use for the quilting, I saw that most of the patches has almost all the colours. So I use many colours to show you how it will look and then you can choose if you like to do the same or use less colours. I stitch straight lines which is easy and quick. You can cut the thread for the lenght you need and you don’t need to turn the quilt around. It’s also easy to hide the knots inside the quilt.

Last week I was happy to receive some new fabrics! I had ordered them just before I won the ‘Forest QAL’ because I really needed some ‘grass’, ‘sky’ and ‘something else’…

Fluffy Sheep Quilting

These are from ‘Fluffy Sheep Quilting’ and I’m always happy shopping from Cindy! She is so sweet and helpful! Shipping cost is good for me and the fabrics arrive quickly. I’m also very happy with the colours – they are exactly how I was hoping!

Fluffy Sheep Quilting

I have new ideas in my mind but it takes still much time to have something to show. I haven’t had time or energy to take photos so here are now many from the same quilt top. I have made my first order with the gift certificates I won and among fabric goodies there is a hera marker on its way –  I could use it now to ‘draw’ the straigth lines for this quilting …

Kids Game quilt

Hope to show you very soon this quilt finished. I estimate few days for quilting and one evening for binding.

Thank you so much for visiting and for your lovely comments! I want to welcome warmly new followers and send also thank you for all of you who have purchased the ‘Baby Stars’ quilt pattern! I am so happy to see that you love that quilt! Pattern is available in my etsy shop TEJESARITA and now also in CRAFTSY!

Have a great week!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

28 thoughts on “‘Kids Game’ quilt 2. part

  1. I really love this quilt. I think my favorite thing is the colorful hand quilting. It’s been a long time since I hand quilted. I hadn’t ever used more than one color for the quilting, but I may try this soon.
    BB

  2. This is a fun quilt for children to play and have picnics! I love those bright colours and your hand quilting🙂

  3. Such a bright, sunny, fun-filled quilt you have made there Teje. I love it! I love that box of threads too; so many pretty colours all side by side! Ros

  4. I think this is such a fun quilt! I especially like how you had them hanging by clothes pins on part 1!

  5. Le quilt est magnifique felicitation Marie-Claire(Belgique)

  6. This is a lovely quilt on it’s own but being able to play I-Spy or matching games is a real bonus. I love it!

  7. Lovely, Teje! I love the colors and your hand quilting makes it so special. I treasure the little quilt from you and reminds me of you every time I look at it.

  8. This is turning out great! So bright and cheery.

  9. What a cute top. Love it.

  10. Your quilt turned out beautiful, and I love your pretty hand stitching with the multiple colors idea! Do you use any kind of frame while you hand stitch, or is the quilt just laying loose while you quilt?

    • Thank you Kathleen! For me it’s easier to quilt without frame. I have the quilt on the table and the place where I stitch is just outside from the table or on my lap (when it’s not too hot). x Teje

  11. I love your quilt. Terje. It’s big and colorful and perfect for a warm day in the shades🙂 And ny heart skipped a beat when I saw your Perle box. You have more colors than me. Perfect excuse for running of and get some more 😉

  12. beautiful quilt! I love all the colorful thread you are using to quilt it. It will add so much.

  13. Thanks for sharing your project and your quilting shop details! I shall definitely try it the next time I need some fabric and threads.

  14. So cheery and playful! Love this🙂

  15. Such a happy quilt… and your hand stitching with those pretty bright threads is amazing!

  16. This quilt is a eye candy! Love the colors. and design.

  17. Your quilt is fabulous! What great colors. I just found you while I was over at Quilt Story and will be following you.

    Your dog at the top of your page is a beauty too.

  18. How beautiful and love the hand quilting! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

