Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

‘Kids Game’ quilt 1. part

42 Comments

Hi dear friends! Thank you so much for your amazing and sweet  comments for the ‘Fantasy Forest’ quilt! I have been so happy when reading your messages and wishes and mostly that you followed that quilt process! After busy summer and spending every free moment ‘in forest’,  it’s time for new plans and ideas …

patchwork quilt

Something simple, easy to every one, using charm pack … that’s what I had in my mind when starting …

beautiful fabrics

I was looking for a charm pack with happy, sunny fabrics and found these from ‘imaginefabric’ in etsy. These fabrics are ‘Summersault’ (Erin Mc Morris) and this great bundle had two pieces of each print. First I put them in order to choose those I would like to show  5″x5″ and those I could cut smaller. Some pieces I put aside in case I don’t need them to use for on other project. Up you see the first testing pieces.

3 shapes

I shall use these three shapes and cutting is most easy.  I just cut the charm square 5″x5″ in half…

charm squares

The diagonal cutting is 1,5″ form the corners like this …

charm squares

Every print piece is paired with white piece. This time I made even illustration for my plan. I tried few options and ended up with this because this is the most easy and there is now waste of fabric. I like the look also – for me these blocks look like children’s bricks. Every row has 8 squares or 8 half squares. Diagonal pieces are 9 (instead of the 8 in the drawing) because of the seams.

planning quilt

This is quick quilt to make. Most ‘difficult’ part is to choose in which order to put the fabrics.

patchwork

To put these ‘triangles’ in order, I separated all these pieces in 4 piles. Every pile has the same or similar fabrcis and colours. Then I tried to put them in order where same fabrics doesn’t meet – even it’s not the most important because these ‘triangle’ rows won’t be next to each others. There is always between one row with squares and one row with half squares.

quilt blocks on air

Squares and half squares match in point because there is no seam in the middle. ‘Triangles’ are smaller because they have the seam. I did this on purpose, because it brakes the order. This is also easier for the beginner because now there is only two rows to make the seams match and then the third row doesn’t need to match in point.

quilting

In the middle there are two rows with half squares and there the ‘triangles’ turn their direction. Those pieces with big flowers remind me so much Marimekko!

So this is the w.i.p (work in process) at the moment. This week is super busy and I aparted my sewing machine for a while – I sent it for cleaning/service. My very helpful and supportive hb took it to town today and I hope my machine returns home very soon! Next weekend I’m planning to finish this quilt top and maybe even start the quilting.

As you see this is simple, easy and quick quilt – fun to show beautiful fabrics! If you are beginner or haven’t started quilting yet, I have good news to you. I’m thinking to make a pattern for this. Pattern that shows to you from the beginning till the finishing how to make this quilt.

quilt pattern

Today I reseved some beautiful fabrics and they are just perfect for the next project I have already in my mind. If it works like I have planned, it’s not so simple like this one – fun and colourful of course, squares and triangles … something from the nature … who knows yet what else.

I’m linking at my favourite Tuesday  and Thursday linky parties! All the buttons are on my sidelist so you can easily go to see lots of fantastic quilts and other projects!

quilting

Now I wish you wonderful time and I hope you have lovely weather! Here it is still +30 C! Fan is blowing day and night – fortunately at night it starts to be cooler!

Hope to see you soon!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

42 thoughts on “‘Kids Game’ quilt 1. part

  1. What pretty pieces flapping on your line Teje…this looks like a fun project your are starting. We will be flying over very near to you tomorrow and will wave to you en route to Rhodes ;0) Take care, Jane x

  2. Great design, your fabric choice is really wonderful. Stopping from Sew Cute Tuesday.

  3. Your choices are always so fresh, clean, sunny and happy and this is no different! I do hope you make up a pattern. I know there are many who are just beginning their adventure in the art of quilting who will be thrilled to put together such a gorgeous piecing (me, too!!). Your artistry/creativity has come up with another delightful piece!! Hugs……

  4. your fabrics are so bright and cheery! I love the whimsical arrangement of these blocks as well!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  5. Simple design with stunning results! =)

  6. These are beautiful fabrics. Is it a particular designer?

    • Thank you Kathleen! I have add a link to ‘imaginefabric’ etsy shop where I found these fabrics. They are ‘Summersault’ from Erin Mc Morris. x Teje

  7. Dear Teje,
    Good morning again from over here in Warwickshire! Love the quilts, you are very clever, I’ve only done a little patchwork but nothing on the scale that you do and I can really see why you won! What a lot of work goes into each quilt – a real labour of love. I’ve just rediscovered my love of crocheting and now can’t appear to stop…. Making lots of granny squares to make into yet another blanket…. Anyway I remembered you asking me for my Blog address after I commented on one of your previous posts, so here it is:-http://fatfairyjewellery.blogspot.co.uk/
    Have a lovely day,
    love + blessings
    Ellen
    x

    • Thank you so much Ellen! As you see you can’t stop crocheting, it’s the same (or worse) with quilting. I think with quilting there are so much more possibilities so I’m really hooked for patchworks. I really enjoy also crocheting but more quilting. Here it’s most of the year warm and hot so wall quilts are great choise!
      Thank you for your address, I’ll come to visit you!
      Have a lovely day! x Teje

  8. This looks like it’s going to be lovely!

  9. Hello Teje,

    That quilt is going to be amazing! White paired with all those beautiful colors will look so beautiful… I cant wait to see it ready.

    It’s getting more and more autumn-ish here by the day, and days are getting shorter and darker, and it’s so good to see your sunny-filled images, thank you for sharing!

    Happy Wednesday!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you Mia! It’s fun to work again with white & colours as the ‘Fantasy Forest’ didn’t have white at all (that’s surprise to me). Autumn sounds wonderful! Here we had today +34C. Days are shorter here, too but no sign about autumn yet. It may take till November to change well. I do wish warm and dry winter. I have been so busy but now I hope to sew much at the weekend and swim!!
      Hugs! x Teje

  10. That is a perfect quilt for my Binky Patrol charity group. Thanks for the layout chart–you’ve done all the work for me and now I just have to pick the fabric and cut and sew away. Our quilts are usually crib size so they work up quickly.

    • Thank you Sonja! I’m so happy if you found this useful and like this plan. Notice that my illustration is not exactly right because the ‘triangles’ has to be more than the squares. If I can help you in any way, just let me know. Hugs! x Teje

  11. Looking gorgeous as always. Those fabrics are so lovely and bright, they really pop against the white.

  12. C’est tres beau bravo Marie-Claire

  13. They look so good hanging there that I would be tempted to leave them out for a while! Very light and happy!

    • Thank you Nina Lise! Sun would ‘eat’ the colours in no time; we have still +35C and I’m waiting the weekend to stay inside and continue this quilt. x Teje

  14. Wow Teje, this is adorable!! Love the fun colors and your design! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  15. Love the bright colours of this quilt. An easy pattern too.

  16. Brights with white! My favourite patterns 🙂

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

