Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

‘Summer Wine’ season by hand

42 Comments

Hello! There has been wonderful series of post ‘A Season by Hand’ at Clover and Violet! Many talented sewers has shared their hand made projects, ideas and inspiration! I would like to enter with my ‘Summer Wine’ quilt.

Summer Wine quilt

This was the first time I pieced the blocks by hand. I thought that I would sew these tiny pieces all the summer but I got hooked and now the quilt is ready.

A little bit about the process with photos …

octagons

english paper piecing

 paper piecing

paper pieced octagons

mini quilt

hand quilting

Summer Wine mini quilt

paper pieced mini quilt

QUILT DETAILS:

Name: ‘Summer Wine’

Size: 24″ x 24″

Technique: paper pieced octagons and squares

Quilting: by hand with cotton thread n:o 6

Binding: sewn by machine

paper piecing

“Cheers”! ‘Kippis”! “Γεια μας”!

I’m linking at ‘A Season by Hand’, ‘Hexie Friday’

Thank you for your visit! Have a lovely summer week!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

42 thoughts on “‘Summer Wine’ season by hand

  1. Oh Teje! I just love the rusty old toolbox with hexies in it : ) Your quilt is beautiful!

    • Thank you so much Carla! In fact the box is a paint box of my grandfather who was a painter – it’s my treasure as you can guess! x Teje

  2. This is beautiful…I love the texture the hand quilting gives it.

    • Thank you so much! I wasn’t sure if the quilting will show enough, but I think it’s fine after I washed the quilt. x Teje

  3. Such a gorgeous quilt, Teje. I just love your fabric choices.

  4. Such a sweet, summery quilt! Just beautiful. (I love the pin cushion. :-D)

  5. Another great shape to pp – octagons! You may have started me on another project besides hexies, Teje. I invite you to post this on Hexie Friday so others can see how lovely octagons can be. And I love the fabrics you used.

  6. Goodness me Teje what a labour of love..and all by hand, amazing work! Happy Monday x

    • Thank you Jane! This was easier than I thought, I didn’t expect to finish it this summer! Of course hand sewing takes much more time and unfortunately now I’m back to my machine again. Have a great week! x Teje

  7. Beautiful! I love EPP and will have to try octagons.
    The hand quilting adds amazing texture.

  8. I love your quilting stitches…..they really add another dimension to the piecing (which is wonderful…..happy, summer colors). You really moved quickly to finish this!!! Lovely! Hugs…….

    • Thank you Doreen! I enjoy hand quilting but with this hot it’s difficult. I’m waiting the lovely, sweet autumn. Hugs! x Teje

      • You would love the temps we’ve been having…..more typical of September!!! Mid to upper 60’s F!! Today a bit more seasonal…..mid to upper 70’s F! I never really put away my cool weather clothes this year!!! Blessings……

        • Sounds wonderful Doreen! We are inside with the air condition most of the day and just when it’s getting a little bit cooler in the evening, it’s already dark. Yesterday I put my ‘office’ lamp on the patio to quilt – great till mosquitoes found me. Now I’m making the binding! x Teje

          • Mosquitoes have been “feasting” around here, too! Spent today visiting with my mom. Tomorrow….back to quilting!! I hope you get a break in your “heat wave”……Cool hugs comin’ your way……

  9. Hexie -love!
    You are so patient to finish all of these hexies!
    Esther

  10. I love your photos – they are just perfect. The EPP is lovely too – I am having an EPP crisis at teh moment1

  11. I love your summer wine quilt, with it’s bright and summery colours! And your photos are gorgeous!! Love the old paintbox with the hexies…such a great idea!
    Helen x

  12. How beautiful! The quilting really sets this off.

  13. Absolutely gorgeous! Plus I’m in love with your pup and the old wooden box…..great post.

  14. Thank you for your kind comment on my Blog! Your quilt is beautiful and great photos! EPP is so addictive🙂

  15. Lovely post, Teje!

    It’s amazing how someone can make a whole quilt starting from a hand-sewn little hexie, this is something I never could achieve. But oh my how I adore your skills!

    Have a lovely day, dear friend, and many greetings from koto-Suomi again!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you Mia! I was thinking that if I saw a quilt like this and should make the same, it would feel a huge work. But when I just start to sew pieces, not even knowing exactly where it leads, it just ‘happens’. Usually for me it’s all about the process. I love to plan during the work and see how it grows and how it’s going to look like. So much fun!
      Have a great day! x Teje

  16. Pingback: how to quilt, summer quilt, quilting by hand, season by hand, sewing, diy, know-how

  17. Fabulous project! I like it so much I featured your “Summer Wine” here http://handmade-europe.com/2013/07/31/blog-hop-how-to-make-summer-quilt/ hope you don’t mind 🙂 cheers -siany

  18. Your hexie quilt is wonderful and the pin cushion is adorable…Love your dog in the photo, my GSD doesn’t sit still long enough, he is only 2 1/2 and still full if energy!!

    • Thank you Kim! I think Nero loves to model! He is almost 9 years but happy and playful even has pain in his back legs. x Teje

  19. So nice and soft colours! I think I’ll try hexacons some day… Summerly greetings from South-Karelia, still a nice summer hear!

  20. I love the pattern with the little squares – very pretty! And your photos are amazing! Is that your backyard?!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

