Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

My worst ever pillow project?

20 Comments

… I just wanted to have little fun and make a pillow …

patchwork

… how it ended up to my worst ever pillow project? Everything began in this Sunday morning. It was soooooo hot like ΨΨΨΨΨΨΨΨΨ degrees and %%%%%%% humidity. What to do? Perfect time to have a small (?0 fun project after working so much with the Forest QAL.

Pillow! Long time I wanted to make a pillow. Happy and full of energy I climed up to my attic and started to pick fabrics for the good idea I had already in my mind …

great block

Great block! But SO WRONG from the beginning … I ripped them all one by one away …

polaroid and plus block

My great idea was to use the favourite polaroid block, which I got from Debbie and plus blocks …

plus blocks

‘Polaroid Plus’ – great name or what? but it just didn’t work … I started to be frustrated … do I waste this one free day for nothing? Sniiif – plus has to go …

patchwork

Looks much better, sunny and fun but those precious beach houses some how disappear. More white around and total change …

log cabin

I was really happy with this! But, still … I don’t know … not what I want … colours were perfect but the prints didn’t fit with beach houses … my opinion.  Till now I have ripped at least three fabric choises from the polaroid block.

Then I had coffee brake and remembered this fabric with circles and flowers (one of my most favourites – I hope Cindy have still some).

patchwork pillow

New try … now this looks perfect for me, but remember I was sweating outside-inside, feeling VERY frustrated, day is ending, Nero is waiting to get bath and I don’t have even the front piece for my pillow! So here we go once again …

patchwork pillow

I show you all, almost (they are not all, because I didn’t remember to take photo every time I changed something) the possibilities, so that you can imagine how much ””’fun”” (?) I had. I didn’t sew all the choises – some photos show just how I was testing with fabric pieces.

And this is what I ended up (?) …

patchwork pillow

Now I feel how on earth I decided something like this. Anyway it’s going to change quite much with the quilting and when it’s on the pillow, isn’t it? Someone else seems to think also: oh no what you have been doing all day …

grass hopper

But you know, I have a perfect idea for the backing to save this pillow … I think …

You leave always so sweet and engouraging comments that I almost feel I should ask this time not to leave a comment because I know you are so nice and say only lovely things and I’m not sure if this time I can believe you but if you still feel you like to tell me something I would love to hear in which photo you would have stopped.

I hope you had fun seeing my desperate pillow project – then my day didn’t go for waste!

One of the fantastic new blogs I have found lately is ‘627 handworks’! Sweet and friendly Julie is hosting a linky party ‘Thursday Threads’ and she’s working with something very exiting coming soon!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

20 thoughts on “My worst ever pillow project?

  1. Experimentation is always the best way to spend a day!
    Esther

  2. Well, a lot of work but the result is great!
    Greetings, Corine

  3. It’s good to see I’m not the only one who has something in mind and 87 changes later it’s still not quite what I want. Yours made the cut though at the end, and when you put your magic stitching on it, it will be just fine. Since you asked for critique, perhaps the white strip on top of the house is a tiny bit out of proportion, but it’ s hardly worth mentioning because the harmonious colors and patterns surrounding it work so well. You have a knack for combining unusual patterns that don’t look like a good combo, but they turn out great. Sonja

    • Thank you Sonja! You are so right. That thin white is part of the polaroid block, but I should have thought to change it. This was againgood lesson not to push it if it doesn’t feel okey. I’m not sure if I’ll use this or ripp all again. Still something has learnt and that’s good. Have a lovely week! x Teje

  4. Sometime the creative process just isn’t smooth! You were right to unpick until you had something you felt ‘worked’! Well done on persevering through the heat! I’m confident the 2nd stage of this pillow will be much smoother than the first! Jxo

  5. I think it would look so sweet on the front porch. It’s a great example of scrappy patchwork : )

  6. Sometimes when things don’t work out the way we hope we keep adding different fabrics trying to find a solution……and you did it! You made it work in the end, and look harmonious as well as fun and interesting! You have such a good eye for design, Teje!
    Helen x

    • Thank you so much Helen! Still I’m not sure if I continue with this or not. On the other hand it’s ‘only’ pillow and some fabrics. Have a lovely week! x Teje

  7. I just love what you have made! I really like it – it is fresh and pretty!!!
    I mean it!

  8. Dear Teje,

    We’ve all been there, you know! You should see how many times I sew/knit/felt/sew-some-more and then rip-rip-ripety-rip it all! The idea feels PERFECT in my head, and then I make it and uh-huh. But then I keep turning and changing and ripping and sewing until I get the result I wished (or even close 😉 to it). That’s creative work! And I know you didn’t want any I love this-comments 😉 but I do like the pillow front you made, it’s very summery and I like the contrast between the stripes and the all other fabrics. I’m sure it’ll SO pretty once finished so hop-hop, back to sewing board dear friend!

    Ihanaa keskiviikkoo sinne ja terkkuja sateisesta koto-Suomesta!

    Mia

  9. its horrible when things go wrong again and again! i liked the first 4 fabric you pulled, but im in love with dotty fabrics at the moment!!!!!!

  10. Oh that pretty beach hut fabric is just perfect! We live very close to the North Norfolk coast, here in England, and the beaches are stunningly pretty with rows of huts just like these. Ros

  11. Sorry to hear you had a tough creative time.. But I think the end results were worth it… I love the fabrics you’ve used especially the swirly one with all the colours..

    • Thank you Jane! This pillow cover is now waiting for better days. Really don’t know if I rip it all or make a pillow … or something else. That swirly fabric is my favourite! x Teje

  12. The pillow cover, your 87th version of it I mean, looks very nice. No need to rip it again! Quilters don’t make mistakes, they make variations, as Tiinatei at Tilkkutie has quoted. Good luck with the pillow! Keep with it!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

