Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

‘SUMMER WINE’ mini quilt

31 Comments

Hi everyone! My favourite song ‘Summer Wine’ … quilted and finished!

summer wine on quilt

This small quilt started as a summer project. I was thinking to have it with me and stitch now and then when having free moments. But what happened … I got so hooked that it became almost the main project and I finished the top much quicker than I expected. Few posts about the process are HERE  and HERE.

vine grapes and quilts

Octagons are paper pieced and little squares I have sewn without paper. I just folded the edges. Look THIS POST to see how I made them. Quilting was a big question and finally I made circles.

paper pieced octagons

Quilting is made with natural white cotton. It doesn’t show very much but this time I didn’t like to add more colours with quilting but to leave the octagons in a main role.

'Summer Wine' quilt

Binding took long time … first I couldn’t decide what fabric to use and then my sewing table was all the time filled with foundation pieced animals.

quilts and barrels

QUILT DETAILS:

Name: ‘Summer Wine’

Size: 24″ x 24″

Technique: paper pieced octagons and squares, pieced and quilted by hand

Paper piecing info and lots of links on my page ‘Paper Piecing’.

mini quilt

I had imagined to present this quilt with lovely, cool glass of white wine … but as it took so much time to finish … I have drink the wine. Luckily found some grapes from the garden and vine leaves which would be delicious stuffed with hearbs and rice.

quilt and grapes

This little quilt is going to gladden me on my garden table … stitching with a glass of wine … what else a quilter can wish!

pink flowers

I’m linking with my favourite linky parties: ‘Fabric Tuesday’, ‘Linky Tuesday’, ‘Made by me Wednesday’, ‘Really Random Thursday’, ‘Thursday Threads’, ‘Needle and thread Thursday’

mini quilt with octagons

Thank you for stopping by and for your lovely comments! I’m sorry that I have wrote so many comments lately – this isa  busy time; I try to visit you as much as possible, but often there is now time or energy enough to write something. You are in my thoughts and I’m looking forward the coming autumn to start new projects and challenge with you!

I hope you have strawberry taste summer, golden sunshine, favourite music and delicious wine in your glass!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

31 thoughts on “‘SUMMER WINE’ mini quilt

  1. A lovely, yummy post! The little quilt is so lovely and the circle stitching is adding so much dimension/shadow to the finish! The binding fabric choice is the perfect edge finish for this. Wow! the flowers are impressive! DH is making a lot of wine lately. He just picked all the tart cherries off of one of the 2 cherry trees we have. He will use some to make wine and I will freeze some for pies and sauces/toppings for waffles, pancakes, desserts, etc. After lunch today we will have a cherry pitting contest between us…LOL! But no wine drinking until finished or we won’t finish…..ROFL! Such a cheerful happy sunny setting you have pictured!! Enjoy!!! Warmest of summer greetings and hugs to you all……..

    • Thank you dear Doreen! There are cherries in summer wine! Your desserts sound so delisious! Here they make wine only from grapes but in Finland they use cherries, apples, any berries – think about liquer from blueberries! I may need to ask my friend to bring that. Hugs! x Teje

      • An absolutely wonderful idea!!! We just finished a batch of rhubarb wine that was outstanding. Another is in the ‘works’ at the moment. Unfortunately it will be a while before we can enjoy it;-( LOL!

  2. Your quilt is lovely and warm. I love the settings that you use for your quilts.

  3. Hello sweet Teje,

    That quilt turned out just as beautiful (and even more) than I expected, all that handsewing makes it precious. So summery! And oh yes, a little wine sipping making everything little better🙂 Thank you for all these sun-filled and beautiful pictures!

    Wishing you a wonderful day!

    Yours,
    Mia

  4. What a beautiful table topper! Worth all the effort! jxo

  5. This looks absolutely fabulous Teje! I just love everything about it – your choice of fabrics and colours; the design; the quilting pattern. Really, really lovely, especially with the wine and grapes!

  6. A darling quilt again!

  7. Your wine quilt is so pretty Teje and the props look wonderful. The quilted circles look like ripples of water..very clever. I would love to have a vine in my garden…such pretty leaves and yummy fruit. Keep cool, Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! After washing the quilting shows much better. Today it’s very hot and we need to stay mostly inside. I hope fresh wind comes to cool us. x Teje

  8. Your summer wine quilt is so pretty and summery, Teje! I love how you have styled it too. The song is one I’ve been humming a lot lately…thanks for reminding me of it a few posts ago, I checked it out thanks to your link and my hb and I both enjoyed hearing it again!
    Have a happy week, and I hope you have some more summer wine in your sunny garden🙂
    Helen x

    • Thank you so much Helen! Have to ‘fill my wine barrel’ and enjoy soon the weekend. It’s very hot so ‘I have to quilt’ inside. I’m happy you like the song, too. Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  9. Really like how this turned out – I wish I’d make myself try hand quilting. Love the look!

  10. Lovely quilt and equally lovely photography!

  11. It turned out lovely! I like that it ‘took over!’

  12. I love how you arranged the blocks to make almost several medallions. The quilt is so pretty, as are your beautiful photos!

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!
    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  13. Looks great! Nice pics too. The quilting you chose really works perfectly.

  14. Very cute little quilt, I love the binding as well! Nice pictures, have a great summer… not too hot!

  15. Teje what a beautiful quilt. I esp love the perle circular hand stitching. Perfect post to rejuvenate under our EPP theme!!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

