Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Nero’s Post: Show time!

65 Comments

Vof vof friends! We decided with Hanna to show you our forest quilt top! Keeping secrets is not fun – fun is to share the process! And at the end, without you, I doubt we would have ever made this quilt. So here I am with Hanna and the quilt top which we have made with the Forest QAL

Forest QAL

We are so happy it’s finally finished, at least the top. This was a big challenge, from the first block and every part of the process. It was a lot of fun and we enjoyed every step. There is still more challenge waiting for us before this ready. But first we shall play a lot!

You have seen most of the animals, but one you haven’t, the jay bird and also the blue feather. Sorry, Hanna is front of the feather. I think she is dreaming about the blueberries.

foundation pieced animals

If I tell you a little bit more, those little, colourful things in the up corner are trees and all the other tiny patches around are the paths and trails, where we can run with Hanna when we go to meet our forest friends.

dogs and quilt

This time Hanna is not singing, she tries to imitate the deer – if you didn’t guess! Okey, you are very funny.

forest quilt

Nero, I think Teje is coming! Do you think she likes that we wrote this post on our own?

dogs with quilt

Oh Hanna, I really hope she likes our decision – I wouldn’t like to go to sleep without my evening dessert.

Forest QAL

What a relief that she was happy with our post and we got goodies! We played and brushed and now it’s party time:

 ‘Paper Piecing Party’‘Can I get a Whoop Whoop?’

‘TGIFF’ (My friend Scarlett, the Batdog of Laura is writing here!)

It was so great to see you dear friends! Thank you for reading our little story! I send you a big big furry hug and Hanna sends her sweet kisses! Hope to see you soon guys!

NERO and HANNA

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

65 thoughts on “Nero’s Post: Show time!

  1. Ihana, ihana, ihana! I really love your forest and especially The Mustikka!

  2. Your Forest quilt is wonderful. Such precise paper piecing. I am in awe. Thank you for sharing.

  3. it is a masterpiece, I love it. hugs

  4. Teje, this is absolutely beautiful. You should be proud! The background color and the rainbow boarders, it is really lovely!

  5. Congrats on this finish, Teje! Everything about it is fantastic!

  6. Gosh its a delight!

  7. Congratulations1 Your quilt is truly inspirational. I love it.

  8. Oh WOW Teje, your quilt is wonderful. I’m in awe at your talent, so inspiring.

    • Thank you so much Gail! It’s always good to try new things and great to learn! This was a big challenge and I’m happy I made it! x Teje

  9. What a fun post Nero. Tell Teje that her forest quilt is just stunning. It is a work of art. …I am just blown away by it….fabulous creativity. Have a lovely weekend x

    • Thank you so much Jane! I’lll tell her! Please give a hug to Billy and the Bear! Could you show how he looks now! x Nero

  10. Teje, this is so cute! I love the feathers and the puppies look very pleased!

    • Thank you so much Carla! I love also the orange feather. From the other blocks I can’t choose favourite – I guess I chose all these as favourites when I made them. x Teje

  11. Hey Nero and Hanna! I can see why you didn’t want to keep the secret any longer–the quilt is marvelous! What an accomplishment , I hope that Teje plans to hang it on a wall so everyone can admire it. We have accomplished almost nothing at our house except a few baby hats and one baby blanket for our charity group. Mom needs to get a move on and get creative. Xox Lady Caroline (& Sonja)

    • Thank you Lady Caroline and Sonja! I feel that I have done only this during the spring … did I do something else?! I’m sure Nero prefered to play more and sew less. This is going to be on the wall. x Nero, Hanna & Teje

  12. Hi, I love that quilt top I have to say I think it is the one quilt that I have been looking for, for a long time. Thank you for showing it today. I can’t wait to see it finished.

    • Thank you so much Dennis! I’m happy to hear you like this. Do you have something special in your mind when looking for a quilt idea? x Teje

  13. Wow, I love what you’ve done with these blocks. To make paths and trails like this; great idea! And as always, your colours are perfect.
    Enjoy your weekend!

    • Thank you so much Dorien! I just can’t wait to see yours! I tried so many things (drunkard’s path etc.) but finally these looked best. I shall write more about the process – which was the most difficult I have made – not only the blocks, but so many other things, too. Have a great weekend! x Teje

  14. Beautiful!! Your scrappy border and the scattered hst as well as the flying geese are perfect compliments to your forest!!

    • Thank you so much Gina! I had many ideas to choose and finally these simple but precise triangles looked best with those complicated blocks. x Teje

  15. This is so great, I love the whole composition with the trees, animals and feathers.

    • Thank you so much Kerstin! I’m happy to hear you like this! All the process was enjoy but I’m happy to finish this and relax my thoughts. x Teje

  16. what a beautiful quilt. Love the woodland theme.

    • Thank you so much Vicki! I love animals and forest so this was perfect theme for me. That made me to continue even the first block was terrible difficult. x Teje

  17. It looks fab, great finish

  18. Looks great! I like those paths, good idea!

  19. I can’t believe how beautiful this looks! I was wondering how you would combine all the parts! You have a great eye and a gift for colour and also subtlety. This has life and movement. I love it!

    • Thank you so much Jane! This was a great challenge. I didn’t want to make only ‘box’ blocks so I chose the hard way. I think because the blocks were difficult to make, I didn’t want an easy way to finish them either. Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  20. Gorgeous! Love every last bit of it!

  21. It turned out beautifully! I love the triangles – just perfect!

    • Thank you so much Kristy! I tried several things but finally thse triangles looked best. I think because the blocks are so prices, anything ‘wonky-improvised’ didn’t fit. x Teje

  22. Incredibly beautiful, and the models are lovely 🙂

  23. Whoop whoop.. seriously it is fantastic. Love the colors echoed in the flying geese and borders.

    • Thank you so much Kathy! In the beginning I had less colours in my mind, but I guess this is me. Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  24. This is just fantastic! I love how you put this all together. Very inspirational, now I must get going on my Forest blocks…

  25. Your quilt top is so beautiful! I knew it would be, your work is always outstanding! Beautiful color choices, and I love the use of flying geese for the trails and trees. Just wonderful. I bookmarked the quiltalong, but I just know mine would never come out so nice.

  26. I would never have guessed those paper-pieced animals would play so nice together.
    Fantastic!

    • Thank you Kathy! In the beginning I didn’t have any idea how to continue with them but then slowly slowly everything ‘clicked’. x Teje

  27. Hei Teje! Käypä kurkkaamassa blogissani minun versiotani Happy Days peitostasi. Ihastuin malliisi ja myös sen nimeen niin, että tein sen pojalleni ja miniälleni häälahjaksi. Kiitos ihanasta ideasta!

    • Kiitos kun kerroit – Sinun ‘Happy Days’ on todella ihana! Oikein paljon onnitteluja haaparille (unohtui kommentistani)! x Teje

  28. Valtavan ihana! Kauniirt värit ja sommittelu. Nuuo koirasi ovat ihastuttavia ja todella ilmeikkäitä.

  29. This is just beautiful Teje! I had to keep on looking and looking again. You are so, so talented. Ros

  30. Very pretty quilt. Nice dogs, too.

  31. Wow! A truly stunning picture quilt! Well done, Jxo

  32. I love everything about your quilt, especially the way you have linked the blocks with flying geese style trails around the forest. It is so unique 🙂

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

