Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Thank you Judith and sneaky peaky!

21 Comments

Hello dear friends! I have missed you! I’m back to my ‘normal business’ and today at home – the best! Week ago I received this adorable bundle of presents from Judith! Thank you so much Judith – you made my day and week and month … as you can see I shall have lots of lovely creative moments …

yarn from 'Just Jude'

When I wished I had some turquoise to add to my crochet project I never imagined to get this! Judith was such a darling to offer to send me some and look what she did! She sent many sea coloured yarns, crochet piece just in my colours, amazing fabric bundle and beautiful card with buttons! For the charm square bundle I want to say, that it’s exactly what I have missed, too! There are many many colours and lovely, sweet prints – just perfect for something modern-romantic which I have wanted to make!

Judith is one of my newest blog friends and I admire her talent and work. She makes beautiful, many kind of things, quilts, pillows, bags, paper piecing etc. and also gives sewing classes! I do feel sorry that I can’t join their fun company!  Judith  has fantastic page on her blog with her monthly galleries – there you can have a great look about her works.

crochet flower square

About these crochet flower square … you see I managed to make one with the new turquoise – that colour was needed! I made also different kind of flower which I found from one Greek magazine. I’m not sure if I use that. For my surprise the pile is growing up … slowly but still …

crochet flower square

Make one here and there and soon you have many …

crochet

It’s going to look much better when I make with all the other turquoise, blue and green colours … more like sea glass and colours from the sea. The colour which looks like grey is in fact light green/khaki.

But now to the other subject of today! I have finished something … the Forest QAL quilt top! Yes!!! But sorry friends I’m thinking to keep it secret till the whole quilt is finished. I know it’s not fare, but somehow this time I like to keep it for myself … just for a while longer. Last days I have been busy with one other furry friend, ‘London’, often watching this …

Golden Retriever

When at home, I have done my best to gather the forest animals. It needed lots of ‘studying’… watching it from close, from far, from up … truth is I can’t take my eyes from it! There were moments that I thought perhaps I took too big bite … but after chewing and swallowing … I managed to fit all the pieces. Here is a proof that at least it’s hanging outside in one piece … and there is the tale of pine marten!

quilt on the air

I show you what happens behind the scenes … just so that you know what I haven went through these last months … and before it’s closed and hidden inside the quilt …

paper piecing

paper piecing

How on earth can I quilt this mess! One afternoon I missed my siesta sleep because just when almost felling asleep, I got a vision. A picture from a forest … quilting idea! Then of course I couldn’t close my eyes anymore, just thinking about that idea. I think it maybe flexible enough to avoid the thickest parts where thousands of seams meat!

paper piecing

paper piecing

Deer is reaching his fern … about others … who knows … you can only guess.

Now I think I shall have a siesta time on a sofa outside …

reading

… and read where life leads Joanna, the Lost Quilter! I know – I have been so lucky to get not one, but two books of Jennifer Chiaverini! I tell you more when I have read more! Thank you Marion – this was a wonderful surprise!

Greek sea

I leave you now to enjoy these summer waves! I think one of the most relaxing and enjoyable things to watch is moving water!

Thank you so much for stopping by and reading my mixed thoughts about quilting, sewing, crocheting etc! Thank you also for your always most sweet comments! I wish you wonderful week and July!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

21 thoughts on “Thank you Judith and sneaky peaky!

  1. Aw thank you T for your many sweet words about me! Your crochet squares are so beautiful, and I love the splash of turquoise with them! Looking forward to seeing your Forest QAL! I know it will be amazing, Jxo

  2. Looking forward to seeing your forest quilt ; )

  3. The sounds of waves lapping at the beach or crashing over rocks and the smells that are along the shoreline…..yum! A little nap is so perfect in your garden area. What a sweet surprise and those colors are magic!! Will be watching for future stitchings……….hugs, Doreen

    • Thanks Doreen! I passed the nap and read my book inside (it was too hot that time outside). It’s a great book! Hugs! x Teje

      • I love a good book!! I usually have a couple going at once, stashed at home and at the camper. That’s only because I lose/forget/can’t find the first one and start a second book only, then, to find the first!!!! As long as it’s only 2, I’m ok with it!! LOL! Hugs, D

  4. Just from that sneak peak, I KNOW this quilt is going to be gorgeous, Teje. Can’t wait to see it in all it’s glory.

  5. Gorgeous crochet, such lovely colours! And the sneak peek looks wonderful. I love to watch the waves too, one of my favourite things….wishing you a happy craft week, Teje.
    Helen x

  6. This is a really sneaky sneak peek, I can’t wait to see the quilt finished.
    And it’s such a pleasure to look at your beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing the waves, I hardly ever have opportunity to see them in real life.

    • Thank you so much! I can’t wait to show it so I decided to show it soon, before it’s finished. This time secret is not fun. I try to show often sea and waves. x Teje

  7. How kind of Judith to send you those lovely blue wools Teje, you can crochet the colours of the sea now. Your quilt is looking wonderful. Have a lovely week, Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! Yes, those turquoise really adds the feeling of the sea and I love the fabric bundle! Happy week to you, too! x Teje

  8. I love your crafts and colors combination with the elements of nature! So well done!

  9. Those yarns are perfect! And I can’t wait to see your Forest quilt. The blocks have all been wonderful🙂

  10. Everything is beautiful on Teje’s blog……. again 😉 Gorgeous projects and photos. Avis x

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

