Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

CROCHET AND KNITTING INFO LINKS

10 Comments

Hello dear friends! Too many days passed and too many things are waiting to be posted, but today it’s all about crocheting and knitting as I had promised to myself to write this before anything else.

crochet

I made some testing squares a while ago with mixed brown yarn … then I realized that I don’t want to make or wear more brown. I searched from my stash and found these. Then a blog friend Judith, helped me to find direction for this project. I shall go with sea glass colours!

crochet flower squares

That light blue square is only testing the colour; that yarn doesn’t fit with the others. That which looks grey, is kind of green. The real green and the ‘water blue’ are only those little amounts, so them I’ll pick more.

stone beach

I have gathered lots of links to share. I’m sure most of you know Craftsy. From there I finally learnt why some one ‘throws the yarn around’ when knitting. I couldn’t understand what and how they do it, because I barely move my hands when I knit. I leave my knitting from my left hand (hold it all in right hand) only when I loose more yarn from the ball. In the following links you can find out which technique you use:

* Russian knitting technique

* Norwegian knitting technique

They are called also Western, Eastern, European, continental

Craftsy has so much great information and inspiration. You can choose if you like to look for knitting, crocheting, quilting, sewing, painting, photographing, baking etc. Every Friday they have lots of free patterns and there are so many talented people selling their patterns (for knitting, crocheting, quilting, paper piecing etc.).

About knitting styles you can find info also in Knitting About. That great site has also very much information and inspiration.

One more great site is Laylock. I hapened to find that site when I saw that they have downloadable paper to plan your knitting pattern.

Craftyarncouncil is new site for me, but from there I found also info for the weight of yarns. Surely worth of looking more.

green stones

I like to lead you also to these Finnish sites which are all fantastic!

* Marjut Katajala – great site written in English and Finnish. From this site I found help when I translated the  free pattern for the crocheted butterfly. Now I found info about the weight of yarns.

* Rainknitwear – wonderful site in English,  about knitting and patterns! I have seen in many blogs things made with her patterns.

* Omakoppa – from here is my crocheted Flower Square and the idea what I shall do with them! This blog is in Finnish (unfortunately because she has fantastic, funny way to write), but photos are great (fun) and you can find lots of inspiration and good ideas. There are also wonderful, easy dresses to sew! Flower square tutorial with lots of photos, is very easy to follow!

treasures from the beach

You see that I have been on the beach – oh how green that green was! I never thought that green is ‘my colour’ but it is quite amazing. And I shall add green to my crochet project. Anyway it is also colour from the sea glass.

crochet flower

More links … if you need inspiration, motivation, ideas, tutorials … hop to Pinterest! Here are few links to start:

Just Jude designs, Penny gj, Marta mccall, Nancy Leyrer crochet stitches, Nancy Leyrer scarves etc., my KnitCrochetFelt board

crochet

Now I shall leave this project for a short while to continue my foundation piecing. It was a little bit difficult to catch up again, but now I’m speeding! I can’t leave you without showing what there is waiting for me on my sewing table. I took the next photo just before started to write this post …

foundation piecing

Soon there are 2 MUSTIKKA on my ‘plate’!

I wish you wonderful weekend! Thank you so much for visiting and writing sweet, engouraging comments! I hope to see you soon!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

10 thoughts on “CROCHET AND KNITTING INFO LINKS

  1. Hi Teje. Thank you for all the lovely sites. Always nice to visit others. Thanks too for stopping by my blog : )

  2. I love all of those “squares” together. Thank you for the helpful links.

  3. lovely, i wish i could knit!

  4. Found your blog through my daughter’s. Can see from the pictures where you get your inspiration. So beautiful shades of blue and green all around you.

  5. Thank you for all of the lovely links Teje🙂 I’m saving some for later. I like your crocheted squares and also the crocheted hexagons which I’ve seen on your blog before. Have a lovely week. Avis x

  6. If I couldn’t knit already, I’d never be able to learn from a book! Normally, I hold the knitting in my left hand and the yarn in my right hand and use my right hand index finger to loop the yarn round to make the stitch – but with Fairisle patterns I hold the yarn in the colour I’m not using with my left hand and do a pick stitch like thing to tie it in on the wrong side (whilst doing what I said before with my right hand!). I was interested to see that the Russian way slips a stitch at the beginning of every row. I might try that to see if it keeps a tighter edge. Your crochet squares are beautiful🙂

    • Thank you Janine for your comment! I was looking again the Russian knitting link, and I hope you can see from that how it’s made. It is so quick because you just drop the knitted loop. You can easily keep your yarn more tight or more loose depending on your ‘hand style’. I keep the yarn over my left first finger but then I lead it throw my 4th and little finger to keep it more tight (I knit very loose). If I knit easy pattern, I don’t have to look my hands and I can watch tv or even read. It’s worth or trying.
      x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

