Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Paper piecing and Greek cats

22 Comments

Hi! I hope you are fine! I’m busy but can’t help thinking all the time paper piecing. Both my wip projects are paper pieced. I am quilting the ‘Summer Wine’…

paper pieced octagons

How hard it can be sometimes to find a way how to quilt? I didn’t get any good idea. I stitched one hexagon as you see above, but it doesn’t show well so I thought it’s waste of time and I continued with circles …

quilting

This is my favourite block with roses! Now I have quilted circle on each block and try to find how to continue.

paper piecing octagons

The quilting doesn’t show as much I would like, but on the other hand I don’t want to use more colours, only the cream. Should I make more circles randomly … in some order … or something else?

octagons and squares

This is my other favourite block with the green in the middle and orange around!

Other thing in my mind (it has really stucked in my thoughts) is the Forest QAL. Those forest theme foundation paper pieced blocks. I think all the time, what I would like to make and I get new ideas for new blocks. I hope to have time to add also my own block. For me forest is Finnish forest, so that quilt is going to have ‘things’ from Finnish forest.

foundation paper piecing

This is the next one to add to my forest. I love ferns and I was really happy to see this pattern. My fern is ready but I prefer to have better time to take nice photos before showing it. There has to be a new block now – I can’t wait to see what it is! And then still one block, and then all the blocks are ‘out’. Then we should create something with these amazing blocks.

paper pieced fern

The smallest pieces are still missing here. I coulnd’t have guessed that I like so much this – it is so much fun and challenge to make these beautiful and difficult blocks. I want to thank those ladies who shared these! It is so much work – believe I know now! I tried to make a pattern for one drawing! I did it, but I’m not sure if I’ll ever sew it. I don’t know if I made it too complicated but that was the only way I managed. Perhaps I’ll show it one day.

Greek kittens

Often we forget that our ‘every day’ views could be nice to see for some one else (they are nice to us also, but ‘usual’) … so here are some of my last days views. Yesterday I saw a cat-mom out with her three tiny babies. This little one was following her mom and fixed the place to p… and then covered it as mom did. Only she was so tiny that when she was dragging the ground, her back legs were on the air and she almost felled on to her nose! It is so much fun to see what they do and how they discover new things.

Greek cats

She is mom of three (also). These babies are a little bit bigger. First time I met them they were affraid, but now they know that I don’t go too close and they let me stop to take a photo.

Greek cat

Then there are some cats (our Nelli) who doesn’t need to take care of babies, just herself and her garden. She has quite regular day rutin. In the middle of the day and afternoon she is always in this part of the garden. In the morning she is always sleepy (after hunting at night) and often she uses the opportunity of a free chair to have a good sleep.

cat

It would be easy to think that she just enjoyes her life, but I know everyone has their own worries. Someone is working and someone is having holidays …

yacht

Unfortunately I’m not a boat-person, but it really looks beautiful and anjoyable! I hope you enjoy yourself even you are at work or on holidays! I try to mix my days with both – even a short moment doing your favourite thing, can feel holiday!

I’m joining to my favourite linky parties! All the buttons are on my sidelist, so you can visit them any time you like!

Thank you so much for your amazing comments about my ‘Hungry Deer’! It is so important to hear your thoughts and engouragement! I wish you wonderful week!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

22 thoughts on “Paper piecing and Greek cats

  1. Hi Teje, your quilt is looking great and the fern paper piecing is perfect, keep going even if it is taking time as the results will be amazing. I loved seeing all the cats here especially your dear Nellie. We had lovely sunshine for the weekend but it is raining today and Billy is asleep on his chair indoors. Have a lovely week, Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! It’s so nice to get a message just after sending the post. I’m happy to hear that you had sunny weekend! Shouldn’t rain again … x Teje

  2. I love your paper pieced quilt. I’m afraid I don’t have any ideas for how to quilt, this is always a dilemma of mine when I make quilts too! I never know how to do it.

    • Thank you! Easiest way is to follow some seams, but I wouldn’t like to do the same again, so I try to do something else. x Teje

  3. I love your hand-pieced quilt! So beautiful!

  4. Teje, I always love coming here to visit! Your kitty pictures are so fun and I love the kitten going potty story! The circles on your quilt are so soothing…love them! Echoing the hexagons is my pick!

  5. Beautiful fern taking shape there T! As is your summer wine quilting! Enjoy your wonderful blue skies! Jxo

  6. Teje,
    I love your quilt. I always have a hard time deciding on how to quilt my quilts. Sometimes they sit longer than I wish waiting on me to make up my mind on what i want to do! I love all the pictures you shared. Have fun with your projects. Jan

  7. Thanks for sharing Teje! I love seeing the little bits of your neighbourhood!

    I love your hand quilting. Sometime it doesn’t show very much until you have washed it and it gets loved and puffy. My husband calls it “getting quilty” 🙂

    Your papering piecing is wonderful…I can’t wait to see the finished quilt!

  8. The round quilting looks wonderful and really adds another dimension to your gorgeous top. Inspired choice!

  9. Hi Teje! I love your fern block and the Summer Wine project is looking beautiful with such tiny neat stitches🙂 Avis x

  10. I really like your round quilting. Maybe it will show up more once you’ve got more done. I often find that happens🙂

  11. That hand-pieced quilt is coming along so beautifully…!

  12. Your Forest Block looks like it’s coming along great! I love seeing them all popping up, but am not quite ready for paper piecing yet! :o)

  13. Hello Teje! How beautiful is your quilt! I love the pretty designs, all put together. It looks like a very beautiful garden! I also love to see the views of your everyday life. You live in such a lovely place. Ros

  14. I love your summer wine quilt, it is beautiful and those kitties are adorable!

  15. Beautiful quilting and it is always fun to see the sights and animals! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  16. finally got so fed up with not being able to visit you that i switched to bloglovin, and so here i am!!!! i love the octagons, the quilting looks great

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

