Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

FOREST QAL: DEER

46 Comments

Hello! … sorry I had to make first coffee … there was again something strange at this post ‘set up’. Now it looks normal but if it happens again I’ll take photo to ask your help. So, how are you? I hope fine! Finally the weather is changing back to more normal, African dust ‘goes away’ with the fresh wind and we can breathe well! But let me show you my hungry deer who has been waiting  …

Forest QAL Roaring Deer

My deer seems to be more hungry than roaring! He wanted to taste the leaves from Cretan olive tree! I like him and also I’m not sure … that pink and turquoise …

paper pieced roaring deer

But I do like him and this was (like all of them) so difficult and time consuming block that I’m can’t make an other one, at least very soon. Definitely my forest needs a deer. This block had again some unbelievable small pieces and then of course very thick places. But I made it and I’m so happy!

foundation piecing

You know, it’s not just all sewing and playing with fabrics … yesterday I was so tired (sleepy tired) and it was the most hot and dusty day. When cleaning some hours, my face was red like the tastiest tomatoe! In the evening I sew something tiny with green (for this same project). It was still hot in the attic but I had to see how it comes out.

foundation pieced deer

Sorry but nothing about the green yet, today it’s all about the deer. Here he is tasting the wild thyme next to my flowers. …

Then in the middle of the night … forgot to say that the wind was also terrible strong and today having my Finnish friends here, we had to sit inside?! … but at night I woked and didn’t feel sleepy at all … I had so much triangles in my mind … and colours of these blocks.

I have a general idea for a quilt, but it’s very early to say anything. First I have to see the rest of the blocks. Tilll now I have made the Woodpecker (I think it’s my favourite), the Maple Fox and now this Roaring Deer.

Forest QAL

Some feathers are ‘must’! and perhaps more green … the flying bird is also almost sure. So that’s the Forest QAL update till now. By the way, this project is all the time in my mind, if you didn’t guess.

‘Quiet Play’ had fantastic idea and started ‘Paper piecing link party’ ! Of course I shall join the fun!

Click the following picture to read the main post for this ‘Forest Quilt Along’. You can still join. It’s very easy to download those amazing and free patterns! I want to say big thank you for the sweet ladies who make these blocks for us – that’s a lot of work! If you like you can make even one block and use it for a pillow, bag or what ever you like.

But I haven’t forgot the ‘Summer Wine’. I have made first testing for the quilting and found at least how I start. Soon I shall continue to quilt it. We blogging quilters have been also busy visiting the ‘Blogger’s Quilt Festival’. There are so much amazing quilts! So beautiful and well made! Fantastic designs, new ideas and inspiration! Worth of visiting if you haven’t already!

patchwork deer

Now you think I run to continue with these … I would love to but today I need to sew a little bit something else. I hope you like this hungry deer – anyway you said that the colours are okey. Thank you for helping me to decide, when I was really unsure about this deer and these fabrics!

Have a lovely time and weekend which is already on the door!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

46 thoughts on “FOREST QAL: DEER

  1. Your deer is fantastic and I love your pictures of him looking as if he’s going to eat the leaves. I’ve never known a deer to roar but they certainly eat leaves all the time so maybe that’s more realistic 🙂

    • Thank you so much Janine! I haven’t heard them but I guess they roar. All the long grass have been cut down now so I had to think something else for the photo. He looks like catching the leaves. x Teje

  2. Hi Teje! Your deer is amazing 🙂 I like them all but he is my favourite so far as he rminds me of the red deer in Scotland. Avis x

  3. Your deer is lovely, Teje. To me he looks as if he is a hippy from the Sixties; definitely not a closet hippy but a hippy out of the closet and ready to rock ‘n roll.

  4. So many little pieces in your forest friends! Lovely blocks

  5. That is one handsome deer! Well done for persevering! The 3 blocks look wonderful together. jxo

  6. Those are beyond amazing!!!!! Your deer is so wonderful!!!! You were so concerned for the fabric choices but they became so perfect with your piecing. “Applause” to you!! Hugs always, Doreen

  7. Wow, the deer is fantastic. You should be so proud. This quilt is going to be amazing. Oh, and by the way, I love the new photo of you!

  8. This is an amazing deer! I love the fabrics you’ve used, including the pink and turquoise. Especially because you’ve used the same fabrics in the other blocks, it all comes together this way. Great job!

    • Thank you so much Dorien! I try to keep the fabrics same and similar style for all the blocks because I have a quilt idea in mind. Have fun with your Forest! x Teje

  9. I love your modern deer!! The fabric you chose really brings his back haunch to life and i can see his leg moving. All of your blocks really compliment each other and are perfect together!!

    • Thank you so much Gina! I’m so happy to hear you like this deer because I had my doubts about the ‘modern’ fabric. x Teje

  10. Your deer looks amazing! Loving all your blocks together so far – they look fantastic!

  11. I love the deer! And also how you positioned him in your photos! 🙂

  12. He is looking fantastic Teje and obviously so difficult to make. I really like the fabric choices as all brown would keep him very flat. He has lots of movement and life in him. Enjoy the weekend with your friends and thanks for your very sweet comments on my blog…it’s so exciting for us ;0)
    Jane x

  13. I am so impressed with everyone’s Forest QAL blocks. I don’t have the courage to take them up just yet, so I’ll look at how great yours are turning out 🙂

  14. What a wonderful, whimsical deer. I really like the “feathers” on the woodpecker as well.

  15. All your blocks are gorgeous, i love the use of modern fabrics!

  16. Lovely work, very inspiring!

  17. Dear Teje,
    I’m so glad to meet you and discover your amazing craftwork ! I’m really impressed with the deer and all that you are doing …you must be a very talented woman!
    So, I’ll be back soon, until then, warm regards and sweet thoughts…Olympia

  18. Your fabric choices look amazing together!!! I don’t know how you pull that look off but they do look great especially as a group which is important when they will be living together. Mine seem so all over the place. Kudos to your style, I love it.

  19. You’ve chosen some great fabrics! I’ve been collecting the Forest patterns, but haven’t started any yet!

  20. All of your blocks are beautiful – I keep meaning to try these but haven’t got to them yet – I’m even more tempted having seen yours!

  21. I really love the colours and fabrics you are using! They go very well together, are very original and still are foresty enough! Great job!!!

  22. Amazing blocks, Teje! I love your fabric choices on each one. They are so beautiful and it’s exciting to see each new one. Very inspiring!!!

  23. Wonderful color choices – bravo! Glad I stopped by…

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

