Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

BLOGGER’S QUILT FESTIVAL – ‘Happy Days’

39 Comments

BLOGGER’S QUILT FESTIVAL – SPRING 2013 and ‘HAPPY DAYS’!

Happy Days quilt

Hello and welcome to ‘Blogger’s Quilt Festival’ and ‘Nero’s Post and Patch’! This is our 5th entry to this fantastic quilt show! Till now my pets have represented my quilts but today I thought to do it by myself.

rainbow fabrics

Beginning of this quilt … I had a Kona solids bundle and thought to celebrate my birthday with that … without planning more, I cut them all half and cut the equal amount white triangles … sew them together …

half square triangles

… then it was difficult … how to choose how to organize them … when I tried the order I used for the quilt, I knew immidiately that was the one …

IMG_7941

When I was watching that happy quilt top, a song came to my mind: ‘Happy Days’! HERE is the link to that famous song ‘Happy Days’! It is so fun to see that old tv serial and listen that music! In fact I don’t listen very much music; I concentrate better when it’s quiet. So how I find names for my quilts from songs? No I’m working with a small paper pieced quilt named: ‘Summer Wine’!

quilt with solids

Quilting was difficult. I quilt almost always by hand because I enjoy that and because my simple sewing machine is not suitable for quilting.  With this quilt I wanted to try and experience the machine quilting. For my own use it’s okey, but I couldn’t give this quilt away – anyway I couldn’t give it away! Those quilted lines on the white backing remind me of ski trails and my home country Finland. Now I have lived 20 years in Crete and I enjoy taking photos with beautiful backgrounds and amazing colours – bright blue sky and turquoise sea!

quilt in the garden

QUILT DETAILS:

Name: ‘Happy Days’

Size: 33″ x 40″

Fabrics: Kona Cotton, Bright Palette (Charm Square)

Binding: white cotton

Pattern: my idea, but later I found the same pattern from ‘Cluck Cluck Sew’

Category: Wall Hanging

This quilt could be a baby quilt or a lap quilt, but I made it wall hanging so that my every day is Happy Day!

IMG_7916

I have always helpers, this time it’s Hanna. Meet all our team: Nero (writer/model), Hanna (secretary/model), Nelli (sewing assistant/inspector) and Teje (sewer/quilter).

Nero's Post and Patch

Here are our earlier entries to the ‘Blogger’s Quilt Festival’: ‘Nero’s Garden’, ‘Orange Stones’, ‘My Dream Quilt’ and ‘Butterflies’.

quilt with happy colours

Thank you so much for your visit! Continue your tour to see amazing quilts, beautiful blogs and meet wonderful quilters!

AmysCreativeSide.com

Special thanks to Amy, who has done fantastic job organizing this event!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

39 thoughts on “BLOGGER’S QUILT FESTIVAL – ‘Happy Days’

  1. It is indeed such a happy quilt! I really love it; especially the fact that you seem to have joined the colours randomly. This give the quilt such liveliness.
    Say hello to your crew!

  2. Ihanat raikkaat värit! Tikkaukset ovat ihan hyvät – pitäähän käsityössä näkyä käden jälki😛

  3. I still love this quilt! Good luck in the Quilt Festival Teje, you deserve to win🙂 Have a wonderful weekend, Avis xx

  4. This is such a wonderful, happy quilt, Teje! It’s lovely to see it at the festival. I am hoping for some of your sunshine today so can take a photo of my Tradewinds!

  5. What a gorgeous colourful quilt. I never thought of making chevrons from HSTs!

    • Thank you! This was quite easy and quick project. Most time went for finding how to organise the colours. I would like to make this again with different charm pack. x Teje

  6. I love the colour combinations you have used – definitely a happy quilt!

  7. This is wonderful Teje. All your entries are!

  8. Beautiful quilt, love those colors. I love solids.

  9. Thoroughly enjoy your blog. It is always so happy and colorful. Love the pictures of you and your assistants! Nelli looks like she takes her job seriously.

    • Thank you so much Bonnie! Nelli is most of the time serious and for that looks often funny. Often she sits and looks seriously what I’m sewing. x Teje

  10. What a gorgeous rainbow of colours here today Teje. Your quilts are shown off to perfection ;0) Happy weekend, Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! It seems to be that I need lots of colours! Mostly I enjoy to sew with happy colours – perhaps it means that I miss energy. The same happened when we built the house and I wanted to choose colourful tiles! Happy weekend! x Teje

  11. Teje, what a lovely quilt you have made. So bright and cheerful. And your machine quilting turned out great.

  12. This is really, really lovely. I would be happy if it was on my wall.

  13. What an appropriate name for your quilt, I love the happiness of the colours and layout!

    • Thank you so much Nina Lise! Even this quilt was not very challenging to make, simple pattern and also cutting was so quick (first time I used charm pack), I like this very much. It has to be the colours and the shapes remind me of leaves. x Teje

  14. Teje, this is so pretty…

    And your photographs always make me want to move to the Mediterranean.🙂

  15. The “Happy Days” quilt is just that and I like it immensely! The texture that your stitching created is a perfect compliment! A lovely wallhanging……and, please, don’t give up on the machine quilting. It has it’s place, certainly!! Hugs……

    • Thank you so much Doreen! I couldn’t imagine any other quilting for this so I had to try machine quilting. I couldn’t hand quilt all those lines. I just wish I had better sewing machine … but then I wouldn’t have started to quilt by hand! Hugs! x Teje

      • A good point!! My ‘fave’ quilt stitching machine (before I was blessed with the HQ Sweet Sixteen) is my Juki TL2010Q……A straight stitch only machine….I still use it for stitching as you did! I don’t need the “walking” foot, just the regular stitching foot. It’s a “work horse” and sews the perfect 1/4″, too. Hugs……

  16. I just love this. It plays games with your eyes, I think it has to do with the way you arranged the colors, cool and warm. So, so sharp! But you know I love me some Kona! And your choice of quilting design adds so much flair!

    And don’t you hate it when you think you created a design only to see someone else had the same idea? I suspect if we didn’t have internet we would never know there were other brilliant quilters out there, too!

    • Thank you so much! Perhaps it is, that I mixed the colours as much as possible and there were so many colours, I wanted to pair (for ex. orange-purple, turquoise-purple, pink-green, orange-red). I missed some colours and there were much greens. I would like to do this again with different fabrics. I like to watch this so that the triangles on the edges are ‘to up’, then they remind leaves.
      On the other hand it’s not nice to see that someone else already had the same idea but on the other it’s great to see that someone talented has made the same … as you said without internet it would be so different and is there still possibility to ‘make something new’?! x Teje

  17. I have not made a quilt from solids, but I think I am inspired; a beautiful quilt

  18. Gorgeous colours and such high energy. I agree, random can become a real challenge!

  19. HST quilts are some of my favorites.

  20. Teje I love your quilt everything really pops and works so well together!

  21. I love this quilt, so bright and happy! I’m inspired to make one like this.

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

