Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

ON MY DESIGN WALL …

45 Comments

Hi! Thought to show you what happens on my ‘design wall’ today …

paper piecing octagons

As you see, my design wall is outside, so I can’t really design on it but only show …

IMG_9350

Yesterday when driving back home I was listening Finnish version of my favourite song thinking that I would like to make a quilt and name it ‘Summerwine’ just realizing that I am making it already …

octagons and squares

You can listen the original song HERE – here they play the Finnish version very often on the radio and it’s really good, too.  In my imagination, summer wine is … sweet, light, fruity …

quilt on the sky

With my Forest QAL blocks I had to pick small temporary ‘design wall’ because I have to see them. It was an other thing to photograph it in my tiny ‘sewing studio’ where is barely space for me not to speak about any design walls. But before I show you, I need to warn you that I’m not at all sure about my latest decision. I started with browns and you know that I’m not at all brown (don’t get even nice tan). Then engouraged by you, I started again with more ‘my colours’ … I don’t know if I shall use this poor deer or if I’ll start once again with other colours …

paper piecing deer

It doesn’t look like a deer – more like a barking dog or a cow in sircus. But at the end, it’s only fabric, I can use it or not. It’s not the easiest thing to make a new one … like to see a little bit …

foundation piecing deer

All the pieces for the head are ready for trimming. Have a look behind the scenes … there are amazing small pieces and in many places so many seams together … eye and nose had the smallest parts …

IMG_9342

Luckily till now I haven’t made mistakes (if we don’t count the colour choises) but  with this I have had few times difficulties with the thickness when there are so many seams and seam allowances together. I tried to take a photo to show you; here are about 7-8 levels fabrics!

IMG_9345

When I started my first foundation piecing, I was wondering is it really supposed to be like this … cutting all the small pieces of paper etc. I had seen great tutorials but not exactly how to cut the papers and how they look trimmed before you continue to sew them together. I thought to show you – perhaps you are thinking the same. It’s also important to follow the instructions in which order to connect the pieces. Other wise you may have problems to match the seams or with seam allowances.

foundation pieceng

This is my 3rd block for Forest QAL. I hope to make several more and then start to design my quilt with them. I have some ideas but usually they change during the process, so more about that later.

Forest QAL

Sorry about this bad photo, but this was only way to show them all at the moment. Outside was too windy. When/if I finish the deer, I’ll show him well as the woodpecker and fox. Is it any better if you try to imagine that he has antlers?

IMG_9354

Now I go to make antlers and we’ll see if I’m fine=happy or not after finishing them. Later in the evening I shall sit with my ‘Summer wine’ and watch a fun tv-game where participate singers and actors. They have one week to learn a well known song and imitate the original performance. They are often so amazing and so much alike! Every week there is a winner and the money from the tele-voting goes to a charity. Today there are old Eurovision songs. Perhaps you have the same show?

I’m linking at ‘Design Wall Weekends’ , ‘Fabric Tuesday’, ‘Linky Tuesday’, ‘Sew Cute Tuesday’ and ‘Show and Tell Tuesday’ and  ‘Really Random Thursday’!

paper piecing octagons

I leave you with this cute scene and sound of ‘Summer wine’. I should find a way how to quilt this. By hand of course. Do you see the circles? I would love to hear your ideas for the quilting!

Thank you for visiting and writing lovely, happy, funny, cheerful, sweet comments!!!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

45 thoughts on “ON MY DESIGN WALL …

  1. Hi Teje! I can definitely see a deer and when the antlers are sewn, there will be absolutely no doubt. I love it, such fine work 🙂 Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! I was happy to see that we were posting at the same time! I forgot to show the first try with browns – I felt much better working with these colours, even they don’t look so real. x Teje

  2. I like Summerwine and your design wall!

  3. Oh, Summerwine is gorgeous, Teje! I think you found the perfect name for this lovely design.

    Wow! Look at your amazing paper piecing skills. I LOVE each one of your blocks. I think the deer is gorgeous in those fabrics. I can’t wait to see more!

  4. Your reverse sides are better than my fronts LOL
    Love summer wine!

  5. I love ‘summerwine’ as a title for this quilt; it really suits the colours and pattern.
    And for the deer; it is so nice to use these colours; you shouldn’t make a different one. It is so nice when you use differen colours then anybody else does, and this still makes a wonderful deer!

  6. You are a very talented quilter. And, you must be very patient to work with so many tiny pieces. The paper piecing is terrific. Thanks for sharing the photos. (And, your animals are so cute!)

  7. “Summerwine” is the perfect choice!! It’s like a beautifully colored kaleidoscope and I am in love with it!!! Your deer will be just fine once he is “decked out” with his antlers……your paper piecing is amazing!!! I so love your design/display wall!! It is breezy here, too, with a chill in the 55F air. The breeze is coming from the polar ice cap I think….LOL!! Hugs and blessings…….

    • Thank you so much Doreen, for your lovely comment! I hope you get warmer weather! We are going to have at the end of the week over +30 C. x Teje

  8. ‘Summer wine’ is looking beautiful there in the sunshine! Oh if only we had some sunshine!! Groan! And your deer is amazing – v.technical. Well done with all those teeny pieces. Jxo

    • Thank you Judith! I wish I could send you sunshine. tomorrow we should have some rain and at the end of the wekk over +30 degrees! x Teje

  9. Haha i love your design wall!

    Sent from my iPad

  10. Looking great Teje. The deer looks sooo hard and you are making a fab job of it. Enjoy the sunshine x

    • Thank you Jane! I didn’t expect this, but I start to really like the paper piecing. It’s not very easy and that’s why it’s interesting. x Teje

  11. Loving your ‘Summer Wine’ quilt! The colours look beautiful against that blue ‘summer’ sky. Ros

    • Thank you Ros! I’m happy to have usually sunny blue sky for my photos background. Now it has been really windy and ‘Summer wine’ was ‘flying’. Have a great week! x Teje

  12. I’m in awe of those tiny tiny pieces. Wow. I think your deer will be magnificent once it’s antlers are in place.

  13. Once you add those antlers it will all work harmoniously together and the deer will sing! You’ll see!

    Summerwine is gorgeous!!

  14. Wow, your work is lovely and the PP looks beautiful. Visiting from Sew cute today.

  15. At first I thought the picture was a simple snowball but oh, no – it’s so much more than that, amazing. Your PP blocks are so great. My head spins when I see those QAL blocks posted.

  16. I have yet to tackle the deer myself. I like the fabrics you chose, it makes it so fun.

    • Thank you Amanda! I’m happy to hear you like these fabrics, I’m still not sure … I should make the bird and feathers. x Teje

  17. Gorgeous quilt. I love the deer block too!

  18. dropped by from FBTR and I’m so impressed with your paper piecing – I think your deer will look just great once he has his antlers 🙂

    • Thank you! I have finished the deer and it looks better with the antlers, a little bit fun/silly, but looks deer. Next block has easier colours. x Teje

  19. Your citrus, summerwine, sunshine sparkling….quilt is amazing! I love the colors you’ve picked. So happy! You made me laugh on your deer piecing. Such tiny pieces. I think it will look better with antlers! Press on!

    • Thank you Dee! My deer has now antlers and it looks more deer. I’m happy that the next block has easier colours. x Teje

  20. Hello Teje…I love your Summerwine quilt, it’s beautiful! And the song too, just had a lovely trip down memory lane listening to it, thank you 🙂 The paper pieceing looks very precise and complex, and you are very clever making it work so well…..little deer emerging there! Love your sunny design wall, the perfect spot to view your sweet creations.
    Helen x

  21. Hello dear Teje,

    “Kotiviini” 🙂 quilt is getting so beautiful, colors are just spectacular (and I just CAN’T believe that is made by hands, I just couldn’t…). It’ll be breathtaking once finished.

    And some Finnish news: We (well our hockey team) just made it through semi-finals to top 4, hooray! And Krista will be singing soon to get to Euroviisu-final, let’s hope she’ll make it too and this coming weekend will be the BEST!!!

    Happy day, dear friend!

    Yours,
    Mia

  22. The deer is looking great! But I know what you mean about thickness… I was doing a FPP projec the other day and my accuracy was off due to the thickness of the seams. Too many layers in too small a space…!

  23. Summer wine is looking beautiful Teje and wow does that PP look hard! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  24. What talent for the paper piecing! And the hexie quilt! Love it! Summer Wine is a perfect name.

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

