Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

DRAWSTRING BAG

36 Comments

Hi friends!!! How I thought that I don’t have any use for drawstring bags? I do have, I need a project bag for my crochet squares and I could use it for hundreds of other things!

drawstring bag

Just watching those happy colours makes me happy! And cups, mugs and cans – I’m a little bit grazy for them! I used to buy a mug from every travel and trip.

drawstring bag

As usually, my four-legged friends didn’t leave me to go out alone. Today we were a lot inside, because it was raining most of the day! I feel bad for the tourists who have been waiting so much to spend their holidays in the sunshine. For us and the nature the rain was important because there will be months without any rain.

dogs

I made for my bag white lining – I like to use white for lining, because then it’s easy to see what there is in the bag.

pouch for crochet

I sew the outside piece and the lining to pouches. Then put the lining inside the bag, turned the seam allowance on the edges and sew them together. Then I sew other stitching line next to make the channel for the string/ribbon.

drawtsring pouch

I wanted to make the string/ribbon from cotton fabric but that doesn’t work well. The ribbon is better to be a little bit slippery so that it moves easily. I was lucky to find two big wooden beads from my stash for the ribbon.

If you like to make a drawstring bag without lining, Chase from ‘1/4 inch mark’ has made a great tutorial using a French seam.

Svetlana from ‘sotak handmade’ inspired me with her beautiful drawstring bags.

And more inspiration from Lori from ‘lori x five’, who makes beautiful knitting bags with lovely embroidery stitches.

I am linking at ‘Can I get a Whoop Whoop’ ‘Creative Friday’, ‘Fiber Arts Friday’, ‘Show off Friday’, ‘Design wall weekend’

drawstring bag

I’m so behind with my Forest QAL blocks! Today finally I started to make the moose – I like to think it’s Finnish reindeer. Perhaps I would have done it much quicker, if I just had fabrics … I don’t have forest colours at all! Can you imagine my turquoises, greens, oranges on a reindeer?

Forest QAL

These are not exactly the fabrics I’m using … but more about this an other time. I think I should go to continue … hb is watching sports with friends so I can concentrate well for my foundation piecing. I miss energy and motivation, but I want to make these because I know it’s going to be a great (?) something.

drawstring bag

Thousands of thanks for your most sweet comments on my last posts! I blushed reading your sweet words about my photo … if you just saw me wearing ‘always the same jean and t-shirt’ without make up …

I wish you the most wonderful weekend and I hope that our sunshine travelled to you! Sew a lot, dig in the garden or just relax reading or chating with your friends! Hugs and Kisses!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

36 thoughts on “DRAWSTRING BAG

  1. We had a rainy day yesterday and tonight the forecast is for the same. Even a possible ‘frost’ Sunday and Monday mornings and then on Tues….93F!!!!!! Amazing!!! Your happy bag is lovely and so perfect for those little pieces of a project! A wonderful weekend to you, also…hugs…..

    • Thank you Doreen! I was happy to see some rain because soon it’s too hot and dry. Now I just want to make more these drawstring bags – why we get hooked to make many of something?! Hugs! x Teje

  2. I just love this bag. I have that same fabric (I think it’s the same anyway) in grey and white, but I love the colors in this fabric. Have a lovely weekend.

  3. I love the fabrics! Very fun.

  4. Yippee, iPad has allowed me to visit!! Love the bag, now off to hopefully see some other posts xxxx

  5. i’ve never tried to make a drawstring bag but I can imagine that I “need” a few 😉 I love the bag and also the plant in the photo 🙂

    • Thank you Avis! I enjoyed making this – easy without zipper etc. Also easy to use for many things. I think especially in summer these would be great when travelling, going to the beach etc. In Finnish we call this plant ‘money tree’ because the leaves remind coins. x Teje

  6. Very cute little drawstring bags and there are so many ways you can use them. You did a nice sewing job on this one and I like the pattern.

  7. Such a sweet bag T! Stylish and practical! Jxo

  8. Your drawstring bag is adorable. Love the fabrics

  9. Reindeer can be turquoise and orange. Think Marimekko modern!

  10. I like your bag a lot. You are such a good seamstress.

    I agree, an orange and turquoise reindeer could be quite nice. 🙂

  11. Bags are so much fun to do and very, very useful. Your bag is lovely 🙂

  12. I also love making drawstring bags and learnt a clever trick from a friend. Cut the lining longer than the bag and before sewing up the lining sides, about 20cm from the top fold about 12cm of the lining over itself to make a pocket. I normally sew down the middle of the pocket to make it into 2 pockets. Much easier than cutting and sewing separate pockets.

  13. What a fantastic and really useful bag you made Teje, it could be used for so many different things and keeps everything in one place. I am forever losing things! Good to hear that you are getting some rain as it is one essential we need isn’t it. Have a lovely weekend,
    Jane x

  14. Beautiful and really useful too 🙂

  15. Hi, I just ordered some of the cup fabric in your bag from 1000’s of Bolts. Love your bag, thanks for showing.

  16. Hi Teje, I LOVE this new bag. Lovely fabric and color combination.

    Hello from America,
    Anne
    PlumCreek22 Etsy

  17. Teje, that’s a great bag! It looks like it would be useful for so many things – my granddaughter would love to have one!! Whoop whoop!!

  18. I adore your bag! I wish we lived closer…maybe I’d get over my fear of the sewing machine.

  19. Your bag is so sweet!

    Good luck with that reindeer. 🙂

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

