Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

My Moomin, Myy and quilting

27 Comments

Hi! Good week to everyone! Sunday was wonderful, relaxing day! I spent most of it outside with the ‘Swings’ quilt. Monday I was busy working in ‘Maherida’ and here we are already in Tuesday evening. Yesterday I found something special from my mail box so this became a Moomin post!

IMG_9149

Sunday I started to quilt and today I have almost finished the quilting and hope to make soon the binding.

IMG_9103

On sunday, after the breakfast I emptied the outside table and lied there first the backing fabric and tighted it with clips. Then add the wadding and the quilt top … with help of tea spoon I catched the safety pins …

IMG_9092

… and then started to stitch!

IMG_9097

This quilt has been a small nightmere … corners don’t match, I sew blocks two ways, fabrics were just enough … and I thought this is a piece of cake. But I do like this pattern (or as it should be)!

IMG_9121

When I sit on our patio I see the landing air planes. They don’t make much noise so they don’t bother us and I love to imagine the stories behind the people who are coming … remembering often how I was once there coming to Crete for the first time …

IMG_9118

Who knows if it was exactly this plane, where one little girl with red hair, was sitting and waiting to meet me …

IMG_9139

She is Miss Myy and she came from far away Finland! She is very persistent as we Finnish women (I was told) and if she doesn’t like you, she may bite your ankle! I’m happy to say that she is not a tourist but is going to stay with me and remind me to be persistent!

IMG_9131

Little Miss Myy came from Mia’s shop and she brought with her something really really sweet … Moomin pouch and Moomin keyring/bag charm! They have so lovely sky blue colour!

IMG_9144

I have wanted long time something from Mia and something with Moomins and now I have = happy happy!!! Many of my blog friends know already Mia who is from Finland! But if you don’t, have a visit to her blog ‘Handmade by Mia’ which is wonderful mix of her beautiful, mostly felted crafts and little stories around her life in Finland! Mia is selling her sweet and unique cratfs all over the world till far away Japan!

IMG_9141

There are also Moomins inside in yellow! Thank you Mia, I’m so happy to have these and this little Miss Myy is going to be my engouraging company every day! You didn’t know that when I was a little girl, I hade long and very red hair like Miss Myy’s!

IMG_9145

Miss Myy was super cute surprise as well as the Snoopy letter! Do you write ‘normal’ hand written letters? I don’t but I should – it’s really fantastic to find a letter in your mail box … and especially with so beautiful paper! As I’m looking this photo, I got funny thought … it’s like Miss Myy is standing on a quilt with pillow! I guess I let her sleep first nights in a strange country on her own Moomin matress and hug her Moomin pillow!

If you like to read more about Moomins and Tove Jansson – lady who created Moomins, here are some links:

Moomin, Moomin Valley, Tove Jansson, Tove Jansson in wikipedia. There are lots of beautiful illustrations and interesting things to see and read!

IMG_9137

And in the daytime she can fancy my violas, while I’m working in the garden. Violas are one of my favourite flowers! There is always also someone else watching me in the garden …

IMG_9073

Nelli enjoyes wathcing what happens and what we are doing around. She used to be very scared but now she is always some where near taking care of everything what happens in her garden!

I wish you Happy First of May and hope you have wonderful spring weather for this celebration! We are here getting ready for the Easter which is this weekend. I guess we’ll celebrate and have fun with few friends! Thank you for stopping by and thank you for your always sweet comments!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

27 thoughts on “My Moomin, Myy and quilting

  1. Loving your Little Myy, if I remember correctly from the Moomin stories (which I read many, many years ago), she is quite a fierce young lady. Good for her. We need to stand up for ourselves!

  2. I love the Moomin stories too🙂 I think they were also read on TV many years ago. Your shirt quilt is looking gorgeous! Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! It’s fun and great that Moomins have travelled around the world and they are very famous and loved for example in Japan! I hope to finish this quilt today! x Teje

  3. Hello dear Teje,

    I am so happy to see your little parcel traveled to you and you liked the extra Pikku Myy too! I was wishing my parcel (with the letter written on ever so 80s snoopy stationary!) would make you smile, and I think it did🙂 Thank you so much for your lovely post&links!

    Wishing you happy Vappu, and many sunny May days!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you dear Mia! All in your parcel made me happy and now I just love to watch them till I put them in use! You are in my mind because I know you are busy with exiting things! Hyvaa Vappua! Olispa simaa ja tippaleipia! x Teje

  4. What a lovely moomin post Teje,I met Mia through our love of all things Moomin. What a wonderful package arrived for you. Hand written letters are the best aren’t they. I am glad to see that Nelli is keeping an eye on you all.Billy sends a purr. Happy May and enjoy your Easter, Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! I’m so happy to have these lovely Moomins from Mia! We shall have again work day in the garden with Nelli and puppies. x Teje

  5. I think you have to be Finish to really appreciate little My. I used to be really uneasy with her When i was younger. My DH though grew up in Finland and sees her in a total different way than I do.

    The quilt may not be perfect, but it doesn’t matter. Is lovely and only you will notice if some points don’t match.

    • Thank you Cille! This quilt is going to be very much in use on the bed so I don’t mind. I like the colours even I mostly sew with happier colours. When I was young, Moomin and My were more my sister’s thing. Later I started to love them and now living abroad I miss this kind of Finnish things! x Teje

  6. I remember watching the Moomins on Tv as a child! The little pouches are adorable! Enjoy your easter break. Ours seems like a long time ago (when it was snowing!). Jxo

    • Thank you Judith! This year our Easter is very late and here it’s almost summer. Lots of people already on the beaches and enjoying this long weekend. I hope to Finnish my quilt today and make some PP at the weekend. x Teje

  7. I am off to investigate Moomins, having never been exposed to these stories!

  8. Love the Moomin and My fabric! We have a couple of the Moomin picture books and really enjoy them.

  9. Such a lovely day you had! Your quilt will be lovely

  10. I went a tad overboard last summer when I visited Sweden & Finland and brought several Miss Myy items home with me.
    Regarding letters: yes, I do still write letters. I have recently started postcrossing (postcrossing.com) which involves sending postcards to random people and registering when they receive them. In return, you receive random postcards from different countries. I am posting them at my little post office. I have received three so far and sent out eight.
    Some people are very spare in what they write and this last one from China – she told me a little story. Cute.
    And addictive.

    I have liked seeing this man’s shirt quilt evolve. Lovely.

    • Hi Kathy! That post crossing sounds exiting! Great idea and must be fun to receive greetings from different countries! How nice you have Miss Myy reminding you of Finland! x Teje

  11. Love your quilt. I just posted the same quilt done in different fabrics. It is fun to see your version.

    • Thank you Cynthia! Your version is beautiful! I would like to make again these blocks but much smaller. We’ll see if I dare to try this pattern again?! x Teje

  12. Happy Vapu—Teje!! I hope you have a wonderful May. It is fun to see all of your new Moomin things. Mia is a talented lady. Pretty violas—-Spring is just starting here. It was a loooong winter.

    Best wishes,
    Anne
    PlumCreek22 Studio

  13. My dear Teje~~~~such a dreamy lovely post! I have much to be encouraged about….warmth has arrived (although rain/snow is forecast, I ignore it!) and my Spring flower bulbs are ready to bloom soon! I have a lovely post that I will put up later today that is due to your lovely gifty! Stay tuned………. Many hugs, Doreen

  14. You are a gifted quilter and a talented photographer.too:)

  15. You make beautiful things! Your crochet in the previous post is gorgeous!!

  16. Love your adorable Moomins, Teje! Mia is so talented and makes such gorgeous things! All your photographs are fabulous too🙂 Wishing you a very Happy May.
    Helen x

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

