Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

New crochet and garden works

27 Comments

Hello dear friends!

I had a good plan to write much earlier, but as you know … Now we are already having the evening tea with Nero and Hanna … sandwich with ham keeps them next to me! So this time I show you photos in the order I took them and you can imagine how this Friday has been here around our stone cottage …

IMG_9048

In the morning I took all the pillows and covers from the store hoping that we can sit a lot outside during the next days …

IMG_9053

Then with Nero’s help, I started to take away some old ‘shadow’ things and to make more space on the patio …

IMG_9057

Nelli was happy to have something to look and she chose of course the new clean pillow. She doesn’t like anymore her read pillow full of her hairs.

IMG_9054

Looks already better with more space. My ‘sewing’ couch is on the left and the view on the right.

IMG_9063

Here between laundry has been washed and hanged, lunch has been eaten and now it’s time for siesta … someone may sleep …

cat toes

… someone may crochet …

IMG_9061

I have missed crochet and wanted to crochet a blouse or a waist coat for a long time … we’ll see how (and if) this project continues. This is a great, easy pattern. Found it from this Finnish blog ‘VMS Oma Koppa’.

IMG_9062

And in the afternoon back to work …

IMG_9071

We have got some very big sun umbrellas which are broken because the woods were too thin. But there is lots of useful fabric … Nelli was curious to see what that is. It’s not at all this dark as it looks in this photo. More like this …

IMG_9076

Hanna took good care of my crochet when I was fixing the shadow which is supposed to be like a roof … I hope. I managed till here without help … dry laundry has been collected …

IMG_9078

Now I need help to get the outside corners tight up with woods or iron-pipes. I think they can be easily catched to the stone wall. Tomorrow we’ll fix the B.B.Q area and after that I can continue here.

roses in sunshine

Then back to crochet …

crochet

… sun was getting down …

roses

… time to go inside and have a nice cup of tea with Nero and Hanna.

Thank you for joining! Have a wonderful weekend!

Hugs and Kisses!!!

TEJE, NERO AND HANNA

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

27 thoughts on “New crochet and garden works

  1. Things are becoming most pleasurable around here….we finally hit 70F! Yay! Have clean bed linen (hung on the outdoor lines this morning and dried in a flash!). Vehicles (4-wheel variety) are washed and the 2 wheel types are next. Ready to layer a darling little boy quilt. Lovely day! Enjoy your evening, dear……hugs, Doreen (notice to me that the glasses shipped late yesterday!)

    • Sounds really great, Doreen! Vehicles should get washing here, too. Are they the yellow stripy bed linen? Enjoy your quilting! I may sew few octagons before falling asleep. Have a great weekend! x Teje

      • Thanks for another great post. I love sitting with my morning coffee an imagine being on your beautiful porch with that fantastic view. Our weather is VERY slowly getting warmer but its still too cool to sit out with my coffee. Soon though! Now off to do my laundry and hang it out for the first time this year!! I love the fresh smell when you bring it in 😄. Hugs to Nero & Hanna too 😘

        • Thank you for your sweet words! I would love to share the morning coffee with you here! I enjoy hanging the laundry outside and don’t even have dryier. I hope you get soon warmer and lovely weather! x Teje

  2. How lovely to be out in the cool shade working with your dear pets Teje. Nelli looks very comfy there. Have a lovely weekend. The new crochet project looks very interesting and that wool is gorgeous.
    Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! Nelli was almost all the day with us. On the chair, then under the geraniums, walking around and back to chair again. She likes to have company outside. Have a lovely weekend! Hugs to Billy! x Teje

  3. Your photos are lovely. It looks so warm, and Nelli looks so relaxed. I am a little jealous.

    • Thank you Ginny! Cats do know how to make themselves comfortable. This time of the year weather is perfect – warm but not too hot yet. x Teje

  4. Wonderful pictures Terje, looks like a fantastic day

    • Thank you Cille! I love to work at home – even it’s garden, cleaning or something else … and between sew few octagons or crochet a little bit. x Teje

  5. What a fabulous day you’re had! I do hope to see more of your crochet sweater, the pattern looks fantastic.

    • Thank you Cathy! I wish I had white yarn to try dyieing. You made so beautiful colours! This crochet pattern is only for a small flower square. I don’t know yet if I should make many squares or one bigger as in the photo of the sweater. x Teje

  6. Thanks for sharing your day. I would love to share your patio too!

  7. Sounds like you had a perfect day Teje! Have a wonderful week🙂 Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! It’s nice to work outside this time before it’s too hot. We are so much out (eating, ironing etc.) so it’s great to have the place nice and in new, better order. Happy Sunday my friend! x Teje

  8. It looks lovely there, Teje. Our weather is very unpredictable – a few nice days when we are lucky. Your crochet looks lovely. I haven’t crocheted in a long time – perhaps that would be a nice summer project. I’m wondering what you plan to do with the umbrella fabric?

    • Thank you Janine! I thought this crochet would be great summer project. My octagons were supposed to be that but I have done already quite a lot. umbrella piece is going to be shadow but instead of the center wood, it’s going to be catched from the four corners. x Teje

  9. I do love the photos you post. You have such a beautiful environment. The crochet is fabulous. I can’t wait for you to show the finished sweater.

    • Thank you Andrea! Sorry I made mistake with your name! I wante to continue this crochet but have to finish one quilt first. x Teje

  10. A perfect way to spend a Friday! I’m intrigued with the crocheted top that you are making. It looks lovely! I’m looking forward to seeing it finished. Lovely photos of Nelli, and of course dear Hanna and dear Nero too! Ros

    • Thank you Ros! This is perfect time to work and sit in the garden. This mixed colour is not the best for the flower block but I’ll see how this continues. I may add few blocks with solid colour. I just hope to have time for crocheting. Happy week! x Teje

  11. Hello dear Teje,

    Ihanaa Vappuaattoa! What a lovely tour around yours, it looks pretty there and views are amazing! I wish I could get to work outside, it’s sunny but very chilly still. But soon, I wish…

    Have a lovely day, dear friends, and I’ll raise my glass of sima for you all🙂

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you Mia – and for sima, too! Our Easter mix the 1st of May celebration and tomorrow is normal day here; for me graden works continue. I know you are already celebrating but still want to wish you great evening and lovely day tomorrow! x Teje

  12. Lovely crochet and gardens…… I like your multi-color yarns. Have a good Easter.

    Best wishes,
    Anne
    PlumCreek22 Studio

  13. Great work of art, and pics. Be Blessed, Mtetar

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

