Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

‘SWINGS AND SHIRTS’ quilt top

35 Comments

Hi friends! How the time pass so quickly and it’s late in the evening already? And I wonder also when the winter passed and spring … it’s almost summer? Not so much has happened lately here at Nero’s Post, but finally I can show finished quilt top! This is the pair for the ‘Stars and Shirts’ quilt.

IMG_9024

Fortunately I realized to take photos in the morning before hanging the laundry. After the cold, cloudy week, sunshine is back and this may continue till October! I have started to water the flowers and soon I need to water every second day all the garden.

IMG_9020

My trusty friends, sweet puppies were of course helping me in the garden.

IMG_9038

Without Hanna I wouldn’t have noticed how special this little flower is! They are just some wild flowers here and there. With Hanna we were waiting Nero to come back from the other side of the garden and as Hanna stand next to mee, this flower was over her back. I went to take my camera and asked Hanna if she could kindly be again the background for this amazing, little flower.

IMG_9029

This antique scale/weighing machine is next to my laundry lines and just a perfect bench to put the laundry basket. The basket with clothes pegs is sitting on it always.

IMG_9034

A little bit more flower-colours … and even more is coming … I wasn’t sure if I should show this unfinised project … but I do because other wise this post doesn’t has enough colour …

IMG_9018

This is not ready yet and I’m not quite happy with all the colours, so there may be some changes. Believe it or not but this is part of a greek lesson … unfortunately my student wasn’t able to come and I had to play alone. I hope we can continue together on an other day. As so often this is not exactly as my first idea was. If I ever finish this, I’ll tell you more about my idea.

If you like to see fantastic painting/quilting project, visit Clare! Her inspiring blog is ‘Self Sewn’! This time she made first beautiful abstract painting and now she is making a quilt with the same ‘pattern’! How fantastic idea and I love her painting even generally abstract is not my thing.

When I was painting these squares, it was really difficult for me not to start to mess with the colours and not to think if the green should be down as a grass and the blue up as a sky! I was painting outside and had a great light and enjoyed to catch the paints again after two years brake! But I like to make pictures … you see the green tries to look grass …

IMG_9014

I was hoping to baste this quilt top this evening, but can’t see that happen. In the afternoon I had a moment to wait something and baste several octagons … now there are enough colours to sew some of them together as waching the Downton Abbey in the evening. They show now again the episods from the beginning … I don’t mind because I didn’t see this serial from the beginning … but unfortunately I know what’s going to happen later, so it’s not so exiting. Still I love to see the beautiful nature, dresses, all the old things and little items which has been taken care so well in this serial. And colours, buildings … and not to forget the lovely humour!

IMG_9032

I would like to lead you to few more blog friends. Judith from ‘Just Jude’ has beautiful ‘Hugs and Kisses’ quilt – wonderful, simple pattern which shows well those lovely fabrics! I would love to make this quilt! And Janine from ‘Rainbow Hare Quilts’ made the most sweet pin cushion – it’s a cute felted shoe! Her idea is fantastic, there are ‘all in one’!

And my dear Finnish friend Mia is having amazing sale in her shop! – 40% !!! I am waiting something sweet to land to my door soon! Mia’s blog is ‘Handmade by Mia’! Visit her lovely shop ‘HandmadebyMia’ full of beautiful and sweet felted things!

I guess it’s time to say good by and wish you lovely week with lots of sunshine! Thank you for visiting and for leaving so sweet comments! I’m so happy to hear from you and receive your messages and e-mails. Don’t hesitate to ask if you have any questions about my works – I’m really happy if I can help and to share what I have learnt about sewing and quilting or knitting and crocheting. Please don’t ask about cooking …

IMG_9022

I am joining these linky parties:

‘Acquainted Monday’‘Fabric Tuesday’, ‘Linky Tuesday’, ‘Show and Tell Tuesday’, ‘Sew Cute Tuesday’, ‘Made by Me Wednesday’

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

35 thoughts on “‘SWINGS AND SHIRTS’ quilt top

  1. Your new quilt is lovely… Love the blues and browns🙂

  2. The quilt top is lovely Teje … as always! Enjoy your summer sunshine!

  3. I love abstract art. I can do patterns but not proper drawing😉 Your quilt looks gorgeous blowing in the breeze and I think the flowers are field scabious. Beautiful🙂 Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! I really like Clares painting and to make a quilt with the same ‘pattern and I would like to try the same. Hugs! x Teje

  4. Your shirts quilt looks lovely there in the sunshine T! And thank you too for the plug to my blog! I’m off now to have a look around Mia’s shop! Jxo

  5. Teje,
    Your quilt is great! Love the blues and browns.
    Have fun
    Jan

  6. I love that quilt!

  7. Lovely quilt, Teje. Lucky you with an hb with such good taste in shirts. Beautiful garden for gorgeous dogs.

  8. The shirt quilt turned out beautifully Teje. I am very intrigued by your patchwork painting and your lesson…do tell more soon. It seems like your long hot summer has arrived….enjoy all your time outside with your dear pets. Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! have to put the painting on the side for a while. Cloudy days are coming so I hope to start quilting this quilt. Have a lovely time! I hope sun came to you! x Teje

  9. Great quilt top – it has lovely movement to it!

  10. What a great way to use up old shirts. My partner has a lot of cotton boxer shorts, who’s elastic doesn’t work anymore, I think I could make a quilt like this out of them!

  11. What a neat way to use old shirts and a beautiful quilt top Teje! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  12. A great quilt – the pattern is very effective and the shirting fabrics look so nice and crisp!

  13. How beautiful…and look at your flowers. Lovely. Visiting from Let’s Get Acquainted. Have a great day.

  14. I love your shirt quilt. It’s a wonderful use of old shirts and very creative.

  15. I love your quilt… I’m working on a blue/brown quilt too and like that combination very much! Thank you too for a nice dose of spring in your post.

  16. I have never been drawn to plaids, but your quilt top has made me see plaids in a different light. I love it! Please give Nero and Hanna hugs for me, I love your dogs!

    • Thank you Claudia! Patchwork is so much fun because all kind of fabrics and prints can be used to make different kind of designs! We have been hugging! x Teje

  17. thank you for your visit and nice comment.
    your quilt is beautiful (and so is the background, and of course the puppies, my weakness too!)
    The simple design is very striking in all the different shirt fabric!

  18. You have made a really great quilt top, it is a really lively design! I like the fresh colours of the painting, and seeing all your sunshiny pictures too!
    Wishing you a happy week, Teje!
    Helen x

  19. What a beautiful top…I love all the plaids!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

