Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Garden and Cooking Tasty Colourful Chicken!

38 Comments

Hi! I’m cooking … yes really … and thought it would be more fun with you! Tasty, colourful chicken with potatoes – that’s what we shall cook!

cretan taste

Here is the Taste! and here comes the Colour!

cretan vegetables

Then we need also chicken (I use today chicken filet) and potatoes. This is very easy … we just clean, peal, cut and mix everything …

IMG_8735

Have a short brake and go to see what flowers you can find from your garden … No, not for the food, just to make you happy …

IMG_8742

Now we have mixed the chicken, potatoes, carrots, onions, garlics, paprikas … we add lots of olive oil, some water, salt, pepper, mustard, 1-2 cubes of ‘chicken soup’ (you know the knorr/maggi cubes) and juice from 1-2 lemons and oregano!

IMG_8736

You see there has to be more oil than you believe! That’s the secret to get juice sauce and not just food boiled in water. Then cover your gourmet cooking and put it in the oven for 45 min. Now go again outside to smell the spring …

cretan nature

… you have time to sit for a while in the sun …

garden in crete

… now you need to go to take away the cover and let your food take some colour. Put it back to oven for about 30 min. uncovered. Always try with a fork that potatoes and carrots are baked enough and the chicken is soft, because the time is never so exact. It depends about your oven, the ammount of the food, size of the incredits etc. (I try to sound like I knew better) … anyway you should end up with something like this …

cooking tasty chicken

Now I can just hope you believe that this is really Good! I have water in my mouth … I love the taste of lemon, oregano and much more! Unfortunately this is going to be dinner, so I can’t give you yet delicious photo with ‘food styling’ on a plate!

But now we need some fabric or what?! I have received something beautiful from my blog friend Petra! Her blog is ‘Sew Paint Create’ and a while ago I was lucky to win lovely project bag  – fabric was going to be surprise and it was a wonderful surprise …

IMG_8772

The left one is the project bag and Petra had added those two beautiful fabrics for surprise! I love all of them! Thank you so much Petra! You see the little snails and ladybirds!

IMG_8770

All these colours are so beautiful and I don’t have purple in my stash and I love it with green and pink! Almost or exactly like in my garden now …

IMG_8764

Today is Thursday and I’m very happy to be able to join the link party ‘Really Random Thursday’! at ‘Live Colourful Life’! This wonderful blog is all about colour, quilting and sewing!

Just yesterday I found a wonderful blog and very talented lady! I was really happy to get very soon wishes back from her! Her colourful work is so inspiring! Her site is “Maryline Collioud-Robert” and her blog is ‘Mary and Patch’!

I like to remind you also about Mrs. Moen … I think many of you know her, because she is very talented and famous, but if you haven’t visited her blog, I suggest you do! Her blog is ‘Mrs.Moen’!

cretan garden

Lucky we! now we have ready food and we can spend the rest of the day in the garden, sew some octagons, plant some flowers or what ever you like! Wish that was true …

Thank you so much for visiting my little blog! Thank you for all your sweet comments! I hope next time I have something sewn to show … if not there is always the snake story to tell …

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

38 thoughts on “Garden and Cooking Tasty Colourful Chicken!

  1. Hm, can I come over for dinner?

    • Have a seat, please! Red or white wine? Do you believe that I’m just eating? Writing is a little bit difficult! x Teje
      Ps. It is delicious even I say by myself.

  2. The chicken looks divine!! Olive oil can work beautifully!

  3. You are so funny! I think this is the first time “food” has been in your post! Major YUM!!!! And the bag & fabric is so perfect for that next project you will come up with (truly does match up with your garden flowers!!!). Once again, your photos give me hope that all the “brown” that surrounds me/us will go away and my garden will have life again! Hugs, Doreen

  4. Your dinner looks so tasty! The way you describe it, this recipe doesn’t seem that difficult. Maybe I’ll give it a try someday. Enjoy your garden.

    • If I can, you can! I’m not a kitchen person but this is easy and delisious. I try not to be affraid to use too much salt and pepper and that works. Chef (my hb) said it’s good, so I’m happy! x Teje

  5. It’s always good to find some new ideas for supper. Thanks Teje, I’ll definitely try it and let you know what we think. It will make me think of a warm greek island!

  6. Yummeeeee! That looks so delicious🙂 The colours of your new fabrics are a perfect match for your garden. Maybe they could be a cushion for your garden seat. Avis x

  7. What great gardens. I can’t grow anything. Your food looks delicious!

  8. Yum! A great combination of food, flowers and fabric.

  9. Oh, wow – that looks delicious!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  10. Ooh… yum. Thanks for that, and for the photos of your beautiful flowery spring!

  11. Teje I am so glad you love the fabric it really did make me think of you with all the beautiful colors you have around you. I wish I could pop over for some of that yummy stew!

  12. Mmmmm yes please Teje..that sounds just delicious and now I am really hungry. There is so much colour in your garden already. I so love seeing your photos. Have a lovely weekend, Jane x

  13. Wow..looks like a tasty dinner! And how lovely it looks in Greece…summer! Here’s a lot of snow…brrrrr

  14. Ihanaa kevättä Teje! Kurkkaa mun Fb-profiilia jossain välissä, varsinkin kuvaa, terveisin Sari🙂

    • Kiitos Sari – samoin!!! Mun Fb sivu on lukittu enka paase kayttamaan sita (en voi muuttaa tai poistaa omaani). Laitoin nyt ihan uuden e-mailin ja onnistuin nakemaan sinun kuvan! Ihana – en muistanut ollenkaan! Voitais yrittaa mailailla.
      Ihanaa ja aurinkoista kevatta sinulle! xxx Teje

      • Eikös vaan, ihana muisto lapsuusvuosilta ja Savitaitapaleen reissulta!
        Ja juu, laitan sulle meiliä lähipäivinä!
        Aurinkoa sinne, täällä tulee vaihteeksi lunta…
        Sari

        • Olisipa kiva pitaa yhteytta jalleen! Meilla on kauhea tuuli, Afrikan polya ja sadetta tiedossa. Toivottavasti aurinko tulee teille pain! Kouvolan terveisissa oli etta kylma ja lumi vaan jatkuvat, voi harmi. x Teje

  15. I am trying this for supper tonight ; ) thank you

  16. Your cooking looks delicious! And the fabrics are beautiful🙂

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

