Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

BAG FOR TABLET

49 Comments

Hi! Who loves scraps? Me! After making the woodpecker with tiny pieces I was ready to catch more small pieces. My new little tablet didn’t have any cover so this was a great project to use happy and mixed colours.

tablet case

First this morning looked cloudy but then the day turned out as a normal, perfect spring day in Crete!

tablet case

“Here we go”! …  our morning tour around the garden …

IMG_8688

This scrap story began from here …

IMG_8641

It may look easy, just sew pieces together, but I managed to make it difficult to choose pieces to match together …

IMG_8664

At some point I trimmed the pieces and tried to find order for them …

IMG_8665

Some pieces needed to be bigger so I add some stripes … and continued sewing them together …

IMG_8666

I was worried that the bag is going to be too tight, so I add still stripes on both sides …

IMG_8667

When hb came home I showed to him that I’m making a tablet cover with this. He asked where I found so colourful fabric?

IMG_8669

I made the quilting by machine to make it more firm because it should protect the tablet. For closing I used velcro. I haven’t used that for ages and didn’t think that the pieces on the cover should be very close to the edge … fortunately I realized that I can add small extra pieces and now it’s good.

bag for a tablet

This bag feels already very practical and easy to use becaus the wide opening. It’s a little bit bigger than my tablet and I can keep there also the user manual. I have learnt to find internet and my e-mails but there is still so much to learn.

patchwork pouch

I’m always inspired to visit Clare’s wonderful blog ‘Self Sewn’! She makes beautiful quilts and scrappy things and loves to quilt by hand!

Also Chase from 1/4″ mark enjoyes scraps and hand quilting! Always inspiring quilts and small quilted items!

I’m linking at ‘Fiber Arts Friday’, ‘Creative Friday’,

IMG_8690

“Here we come”! Every bush has been sniffed. Back home and I have to go to work. But I’ll take my tablet in it’s new bag with me and perhaps there is a moment to learn a little more.

This bag, pouch, purse, case .. how ever we like to call it … could be used also for many other reasons. I may need to make an other one (a little bit smaller) to keep all my cards, papers and notes together in my handbag. For my style, this could be also small summer handbag when going out for a drink to the Venice harbour … on a beautiful summer night … only I don’t think there is much use for that. We used to do that but now if there is a free evening we prefer being lazy at home.

Tablet case

Thank you for visiting and for all your sweet comments on my woodpecker and other posts!

I wish you wonderful weekend and Happy Easter to everyone who is celebrating Easter this weekend! Don’t forget to change the time, unfortunately one hour less sleep this time.

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

49 thoughts on “BAG FOR TABLET

  1. What a great way to use these beautiful scraps! Your tablet has now a gorgeous cover and using Velcro for closure is very smart.
    Happy Easter!

  2. What a lovely little cosy for your tablet! Wish I could sew…

  3. I love the tablet bag. The colors are so bright and beautiful. I have a friend who has taken up quilting. I always think about your posts when she shares her new quilting knowledge.

  4. Ihanan pirteä tabletin suojus! Tuon avulla tabletin löytää vaikka kassin pohjalta, kun on noin pirtsakka kuori. Kävin katsomassa linkkisi, kaksi kivaa blogia löytyi taas seurattavaksi. Kiitos keväisistä kuvista, antoi hurjasti toivoa tänne hankien keskelle.
    Hyvää pääsiäistä Sinulle

  5. so lovely, very vibrant.
    thanks for sharing

  6. Lovely cover and such a good use of your fabric scraps. Happy Easter.

  7. Love your bag, very cute!

  8. Great job. I too have a tablet bag that I made and quilted. Yours is muchmore vibrant …Mine is done in browns, pinks and lime .

  9. I love that we make our own fabrics by piecing oddments together.
    I love what you did far more than mine!
    Thanks for the sweet link xx
    Happy Easter!

  10. That kind of random sewing is fun! Lovely cover

  11. Delightful ‘made fabric’ ……..you have got to love scraps!!

  12. Hello dear Teje,

    ja ihanaa Pitkäperjantaita kotosuomesta!

    IHANA I mean fantastic-fabulous-the-cutest cover, I am really, really inspired to try something similar sewing with my scraps (I have some…ahem)! So wonderful springly-sunnt-Eastery colors, thank you for sharing!

    Happy Easter-weekend!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you dear Mia! I wasn’t sure how this bag is going to be but now I like it and I’m happy with all the colours! I hope you have a wonderful weekend and Happy Easter! x Teje

  13. Hi Teje what a great bag you made for your tablet from your scraps. Nothing is ever wasted is it. I love my tablet and keep it in a bag Mia made for me.A good bag is a must. Hope you have a sunny and restful Easter weekend (I know that your Easter celebrations are later than ours). Take care, Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! Nothing is wasted and soon I’m out of scraps! We have a lovely weather even quite hard south wind which means that front door can’t be open for Nero and Hanna. They like to stay front of that doot to see the road but they also want the door open to see what happens inside. So now they prefer inside .. funny dogs. Happy Easter weekend! x Teje

  14. I love the randomness of your patchwork.

  15. I’ve seen other tablet covers, but your’s is really nice, Teje. A perfect way to use up some scraps!

  16. teje your cover is so pretty! and useful too! i have made friends with my sewing machine again (after many years) and having so much fun, thinking of you!

    • Thank you Lori! I’m happy to hear you sew again and you made already so many beautiful bags! I miss always knitting when I see your works but can’t have enought time for everything! x Teje

  17. Lovely – your colours remind me of a group of spring flowers, they really cheer up the day!

  18. Great pouch for your tablet Teje! and so colourful too. This is the perfect way to use up shapes cut from your woodpecker and now your tablet screen will be protected from scratches. I don’t have a tablet but your design is so versatile and could be used for many gadgets. Happy Easter for sunny UK 😀 Avis x

    • Thank you so much Avis! This turned out quite happy and practical, too. I’m thinking to make other cases – for example for my glasses, with this same method – we’ll see. Have a wonderful week! x Teje

  19. That’s a very, very cute bag, I love the quilting idea for a tablet bag. And your choice of colors is so cheerful and springlike. Great work!

  20. Your quilted tablet cove is beautiful.

  21. I really love this tablet cover, Teje! The scrappy patchwork is beautiful and your colours are so gorgeous together!
    Wishing you a happy week.
    Helen x

  22. Teje – it is a long time since I have been able to read or write much. I have been very busy, running around like a crazy person for weeks. But here I am, and I like your bag very much. The dogs look so beautiful. And I miss seeing you. I hope you are well, and that the dogs are well, too – and your human companion. Happy Easter, my friend!

    • Hi K! I’m so happy to hear from you – you are often in my mind! Busy here, too and I haven’t been able to visit all the blogs I used to want. I hope you are all fine! x Teje

  23. Lovely pouch. Great way to use up your scraps. Good luck with your tablet, Teje.

    Send some sun to my house!!
    Anne
    PlumCreek22 Studio

  24. Hello! Please give those adorable pooches some pets from me. I always find your quilting projects inspiring. Thank you for sharing them.

  25. Such happy colors! Adorable!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

