Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

STAR QUILT FROM MEN’S SHIRTS

36 Comments

Hello my dear friends! I hope you are fine and having a good time! It’ now officially spring and days are much longer and lighter. We have warm weather but very strong wind. Laundry is drying super quickly if it doesn’t fly away. I couldn’t decide what to post so I guess I should show well the finished star quilt, before continuing to other things.

men's shirt quilt

We went for a drive with Hanna to do some works and took the quilt with us. If you look carefully you can separate the sea from the sky on the background. After finishing our works, there was just enough time to take photos before sun started to set.

IMG_8585

Hanna was happy sniffing around … she tried to keep walking on the narrow brick-line …

IMG_8597

It’s still so green every where and there are so many flowers around … some of them so tiny that if you don’t take care you pass them and don’t realize how amazing they can be …

IMG_8604

Hanna is showing you how little those flowers are … fortunately i had a better look …

IMG_8602

Surprised? I was even i should know them. Afternoon light is warm and soft …

IMG_8570

When i started to think about quilting, i had in my mind men’s shirts. They have often great fabrics and i like the mixed blue colours. Hb has a lot of shirts and now and then they may have a little accident (he is painting or something else and doesn’t remember that he’s wearing his favourite shirt). Fortunately i can still use them for something else. I have been quilting since 2009 and now i finally made a quilt using his shirts.

star quilt made with men's shirts

As you see, Hanna couldn’t help me and hold the quilt up there, so i had to use big stone … should have carried two of them …

star quilt

QUILT DETAILS:

Size: 67″ x 51″ (170 x 130 cm)

Fabrics: from men’s shirts

Binding: from mens’ shirts

Backing: natural white cotton

Pattern: idea from Kaffe Fassett’s ‘Stars and Stripes’ quilt (i got handmade templates from a dear friend)

Quilting: by hand with Greek cotton thread n:o 8 (similar with Perle)  in turquoise

men's shirt quilt

I woul like to see more quilting here, but these fabrics were not so comfortable to quilt by hand. I chose strong fabrics because this quilt will be used on the bed where Nero and Hanna are allowed to sleep.

IMG_8554

There are five different fabrics on stars and two different beige in this quilt. I used  almost only the sleeves and for the binding i cut the stripes from the back of the shirts to get most long stripes. There are still enough fabrics for the other quilt. I was going to make a double size quilt, but because that would be difficult for me to make and also to wash and handle later, I decided to make a pair. This one i gave to hb and now i start to make mine. For that i use other pattern but it’s going to be great pair.

IMG_8573

… something else we saw with Hanna …

IMG_8589

… where we were …

IMG_8590

Then back home to Nero and Nelli! Stars are almost Nelli’s size!

star quilt made with men's shirts

Thank you for stopping by and for your sweet messages! I’m so happy to have many new friends and followers – thank you so much! I do my best to write enjoyable posts! Me and many friends start to use more Bloglovin to follow and read blogs and i like that. For me Bloglovin works really well, it’s very quick to open, they send great e-mail with the latest new posts and there is a big photo from every post. Lets hope this will work well and we’ll be all happy to use Bloglovin!

I wish you wonderful weekend and hope to see you soon!

PS. i have made many new octagons! and i have a new little tablet … that means it needs a cover to curry it or what?!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

36 thoughts on “STAR QUILT FROM MEN’S SHIRTS

  1. Very nice! I like the pattern.

  2. It’s just beautiful, Teje! I love the fabrics. I think quilts made from old clothes are a little more “special” that ones made from new fabric.

    • Thank you! I like these fabrics and they are perfect for this purpose but I enjoy more to make patchwork with happy colours. Have a great weekend! x Teje
      Ps. In my town they sell only Singer and it’s a shop with all electronics from Singer so they don’t know much. Fortunately there is man to make service.

  3. Hi Teje, another great post🙂 I’ve always loved your stars quilts and the sunshine makes them even more beautiful. I wonder…..are the flowers orchids? Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! I have no idea what flowers they are – could they really be wild orchids?! I have to find out. These are in Maherida and in a place where no one can enjoy them and I was thinking to move them to our garden. Happy weekend dear friend! x Teje

  4. Another wonderful quilt and so big! The hand stitches are perfect

    • Thank you Carla! This quilt and the becoming pair are going to be our ‘day’ blankets as we say in Finland. They cover the bed but because ‘we’ Greeks have an afternoon nap, we shall use them also for siesta sleep. Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  5. Oh, look, we’re both seeing stars! I love that you reused for your quilt. Lucky Nero and Hannah!

    • Thank you Rachel! When my friend sent to me the templates i decided to use them for the men’s shirt quilt and I like this. But i miss to make something more creative. x Teje

  6. This is a beautiful quilt T, and great use of recycled shirts. I envy your heat and light – more snow forecast here! The poor daffodils are going to be v.confused about which season we’re supposed to be in! Jxo

  7. I am sitting in a very cold winf at home. The Czech Republic is not so awake as Greece! You live in a beautiful place, and your quilt looks perefect

  8. Those are gorgeous stars and I love it in all the plaids! Well done!!

  9. What a great shirt quilt Teje, it is lucky your Hb has so many accidents with his shirts ;0) Dear Hanna she really enjoyed sniffing around didn’t she. That does look like an orchid…so pretty. Enjoy your spring weather, winter is back again here ;0( Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! Hanna is great company, always close to me! Those flowers are orchids and the name is Anacamptis Papilionacea. Happy weekend! x Teje

  10. That is a beautiful quilt! I made one for my hubby too! It gets very cold here in Canada in the winter, so I put a flannel back on his….I love using old shirts – they are so soft from many washings🙂
    🙂 Connie

  11. I really like the shirt fabrics!

  12. STAR QUILT FROM MEN’S SHIRTS, this is lovely, can you share the dimensions of the pieces please?

  13. I think sewing with men’s old or damaged shirts is a great way to recycle and make something beautiful and useful. I used my fiance’s shirts to make a quilt. It won second prize in an employee art show at my job. I used the pockets in the squares (they still “work”) and the button placards in the sashing. Had a great time and now the quilts hangs in my dining room.🙂

    • Thank you Angel for sharing your quilt story! Men’s shirts have so beautiful fabrics and make wonderful quilts! Congratulations for the prize! x Teje

  14. I really like your Stars and Stripes quilt made from men’s shirts. This is just what I have been looking for . Could you please tell me how I can get this pattern ? Thanks !
    Patty G

    • Thank you Patty! You can find tutorial for the stars from http://www.jaybirdquilts.com. Julie has a great tutorial ‘heaxagon-quilt-along’. She has also pattern for swirls ‘Ballerina’. Size may be a little bit different because I didn’t use pattern. Happy sewing! x Teje

  15. Where can I get the pattern?

  16. I found this quilt shortly after my 29yr old son passed away from cancer in October 2013. I think it is so beautiful and I have saved all of my sons button down shirts and will be making this quilt out of them. I’ve been so busy since his death I haven’t started, but after one more baby quilt, I will get started. Thank you for sharing this, i think it will be the perfect memorial quilt and I will treasure it for ever. When I’m gone, his brother will probably want it. Thank you!

    • Thank you so much Carolyn! I am so sorry to hear about your son. That’s the hardest thing that can happen to a parent. I’m glad to hear that you can quilt and think making that Special quilt with his shirts. I think the star pattern is very good for that. Thank you for sharing your private story. Warm hugs. x Teje

  17. love this quilt Teje, and love the idea of an afternoon nap………………

  18. Any suggestions on where I might find the pattern to this wonderful quilt.

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

