Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

‘WOODS’ TOTE BAG – TUTORIAL

13 Comments

Hi friends! I hope you are fine! Between being busy around I had a lovely moment outside with Nero and Hanna. Hanna helpped me with photos about the new shopping bag. I wrote a simple tutorial for this bag – perhaps you need new tote as I did. This is a quick and easy project.

IMG_8387

Fabrics I used for this bag are firm cotton like canvas. This wooden print is from Ikea and the lining is made with fabric I got from Cyprus, this one with trains, buildings and text Istanbul. Hanna is ready for a trip … I think she is checking if she remembered to pack enough goodies …

IMG_8370

Ready, let’s go!

IMG_8371

CUTTING MEASUREMENTS

From the outside fabric:

– 2 x [17″ x 21″] – you can cut one piece from folded fabric as I did to avoid the seam on the bottom or cut two pieces

– pocket 1 x [10″ x 21″]

– straps 2 x [3″ x 16″]

From the lining fabric:

– cut same pieces as for the main bag but you don’t need straps

IMG_8324

Here you see how I have cut the main lining piece from the fold of the fabric. Look also how to fold the edges of the pocket piece.

IMG_8325

Fold the edges of the pocket pieces. Fold the straps first from the middle and then as shown in this photo. I left the selvage because the other edge will cover it. Then iron your pieces.

IMG_8326

Sew the up edges of both pocket pieces. Then put the pocket on the front piece of the bag (about 4 1/2 ” from the bottom). Sew the down edge on the bag’s  piece. Sew also two lines to sparate the pocket in three.

IMG_8327

Do the same for the lining and its pocket.

IMG_8330

Now turn the right sides inside and sew both sides. Now it looks like this.

IMG_8333

Next we make the bottom. Fold the corners as shown in the following photo. The size for the corner is 6″ x 3″. If you have cutting mat, it’s very helpful to make the corner.

IMG_8334

Sew where the pins are. Then you can turn your main bag right side out. Lining stays as the right side is inside.

IMG_8335

Now take your straps and as you have folded them and ironed, sew lines on both sides and in the middle. We don’t mind the edges because they will be inside the bag and lining. Put now the lining inside the bag, add straps between (take the measurement from two stitiching lines on the pocket). Fold the edge of the bag and of the lining (seam allowance is good to be about 1/2″). Pin all together and sew few times around. Sew several times over the straps.

IMG_8336

And here we are, our shopping tote is ready …

IMG_8362

I hope you find this tutorial easy and simple. If there is enything you would like ask, don’t hesitate, I’m very happy to help!

My ‘Woods’ Pocket bag has the button and it’s very practical little bag. Read about that project HERE.

IMG_8388

Have you heard that 16th of March is International Quilt Day?! Wow – that’s so great – we can quilt all the day without any guilt! Read more about that from ‘Sew Cal Gal’!

My dear blog friend Laura wrote a wonderful post with her dogs and quilts! She is having a linky party where we can share our dogs on quilts and quilts on dogs! Laura’s blog is ‘Quokka Quilts’!

I’m linking at ‘Fabric Tuesday’! Megan and Heather have finished all their ‘Block of the Month’ blocks and they are super beautiful. Both of them made same blocks but the quilt tops are totally different – both are really fantastic!

I’m linking also with Connie at ‘Linky Tuesday’ and ‘Sew Cute Tuesday’!

If you go quickly, you can still enter to Faith’s amazing GIVE AWAY at ‘Fresh Lemons’! It’s open till 7th of March. Faith has a great give away once a month and there are many sponsors at the same time! Good luck!

IMG_8390

Thank you for your visit and sweet comments! I’m on my way for a doggy walk! Hope to see you soon!

Hugs and kisses!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

13 thoughts on “‘WOODS’ TOTE BAG – TUTORIAL

  1. Fabulous bag Teje and I loved seeing how you made it. Now you are all ready for your walk. Hope it’s fun ;0) Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! These days I walk a lot and it’s nice with the lovely weather we have had. A little bit cold but mostly sunny! x Teje

  2. What great bags! Thanks for the tutorial.

  3. That wood fabric is so ‘real’ looking! I have to do a “double take” when I see it! Your tote is awesome….so practical…and is always appreciated as a gift, I am sure. I have done many (similar to yours) and have received many thanks. Your “Istanbul” lining is perfect, too. Indeed, a trip would be just the thing! From my very white, snowy world to yours…..blessings and hugs, Doreen

    • Thank you so much Doreen, for your lovely comment! This is fun fabric. Brown is not my colour but for a bag it’s great. It’s still a little bit too cold to sit outside but spring is starting and I start to think flowers in the garden shop. Hugs! x Teje

  4. Love that wood fabric! Great bag, it looks perfect for art or craft stuff.

  5. Beautiful tote Teje and I love that unique fabric! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  6. That’s a wonderful tote bag- thank you for going over the steps to make it so carefully!

  7. This is a perfect tote bag Teje. I like the way it has a wider bottom so things can lie flat inside. Also, lots of lovely pockets. Every girl needs a lot of pockets 😉 Fab tutorial as always. Avis x

  8. You’re awesome…great tutorial!!! Thanks for sharing!!

  9. Great tute, Teje. I’ve never made a bag before. Perhaps I will try this one 🙂

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

