Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

‘WOODS’ POCKET BAG

40 Comments

Hello dear friends! I hope you have a great time and enjoy your weekend! This is second post I prepared today – the first one I left on side, because I managed to make the little bag that I needed last month! You saw the beginning a while ago but then I just didn’t have the right moment to continue. If I have my idea well planned in my mind, it really doesn’t take so much time to finish it.

small shoulder bag

This is the back side of the bag. I was out just in time to have enough light to take some photos. First we were around in the garden with Nero and Hanna and there were just the last sunbeams and on the other side of the sky there was already moon which looked full moon.

IMG_8155

I had a bag in my mind … perhaps from last summer. This leather bag was close enough to help me to decide the size. This bag doesn’t have any pockets, it’s the most simple bag. But especially now I need to separate my things. My plan began when I tried to think how to make a bag with several sections inside.

IMG_8264

I started by cutting 4 pieces with same size. I sew two and two to have two sleeves. Then I put the lining sleeve inside the main sleeve (right sides together) and sew the one edge closed. Like this I got one long tube. I pressed and irond the seams open. I didn’t put the seams of the lining and the main fabric in the same place – like this I avoid to have too thick seams.

IMG_8265

Then I turned the lining inside, pressed and ironed again. Now I think you can guess what I had in my mind …

IMG_8266

The other end is still open and before I closed that, I made the strap.

Strap is about 48″ (long enough to pass over your shoulder)

Finished size for the bag-piece is about 7″ x 17″

Finished cover is about 3,5″ x 6″

IMG_8267

I made the cover like I did with the ‘2 in 1’ make-up bag. See that tutorial HERE. When I sew the other end of the bag, I added the strap between the seam. The cover piece I added after that stitching second time around the edge.

IMG_8269

When sewing the cover piece I added between the seam elastic ribbon for the closing. In the middle of the long piece of bag I sew two stitching lines. This is the bottom of the bag.

IMG_8275

Now the bag was almost finished but it needs to be folded. I had many ideas for this but couldn’t make them with my knowledge and home-sewing machine. So I just simply folded the piece and sew the edges. Here I found out how to make this easier next time. I shall cut only one piece instead of two and I shall place the seam in the middle and inside the bag (with the main fabric and with the lining). Like this there is now seams on the sides!

IMG_8279

Now I hope you can imagine that gorgeus button on the bag … I was just too hungry to sew the button and had to leave it later. Lucky me, hb had cooked! I bought two really big wooden buttons from Finland last spring. I think this button cost the same as all the other materials!

small shoulder bag

This wooden fabric is from Ikea and it’s firm canvas; perfect for bags. Lining is up-cycled cotton (he didn’t miss his trousers yet!). Elastic ribbon is a hair-ribbon.

IMG_8286

Practical and small this bag is and that was my goal! I needed something to keep my camera, phone and keys (not to try to fit all of them in my pockets) when I go for sea glass searching with my Golden friend …

golden retriever

… could i just tip my toe there …

… and what sea glass we found …

IMG_8223

Now I don’t know when and how much I have time for sewing, but I hope to make also big tote bag with this same wooden fabric. Now I’m still using my ‘Trees’ shopping bag. If you have a moment, look that post to see two bags and one pouch made with green/white/black Ikea fabric. Nero is dreaming about the mouse and Hanna is singing!  I made that shopping bag with the style of Marimekko and it is the best tote bag – big and strong – but I have use it too long and I need new colour.

small shoulder bag

Thank you so much again for stopping by and leaving the most wonderful comments! I’m so happy to see new readers and followers – thank you, too! Thank you also Sage for your lovely post about the parcel you received from me and Nero! Sage won our give away a while ago – mini quilt with some sea glass! Visit Nero’s sweet friend Sage HERE! I wish you great weekend and hope you have good weather to have a walk – perhaps even find some sea or other glass!

Hugs and kisses!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

40 thoughts on “‘WOODS’ POCKET BAG

  1. Hello Teje,

    What a great bag, and that gorgeous wooden button will be perfect for it! I also have found some great fabrics from Ikea (now it’s little closer, in Kuopio, jee!), and they’re reasonably priced too. And to finish the bag with recycled lining – this is the best project ever!

    Have a lovely weekend, and happy greetings from Koto-Suomi again🙂

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you so much Mia, my Finnish friend! I’m happy you can visit Kuopio’s Ikea. I need a ship or plane if I like to go to Ikea – fortunately hb brings presents for me. Have a lovely weekend and great week! x Teje

  2. It’s a great idea to make a tube and then fold it up to make two pockets🙂 Thank you for sharing with us Teje! I wonder how many more things those trousers will be making😉 Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! Enough material still but I don’t like a all that brown colour. In this bag I don’t see it much from inside. Happy Sunday! x Teje

  3. That’s really interesting fabric T! I haven’t seen anything like that before. Great use for it making a bag! Jxo

    • Thank you Judith! I asked this fabric from hb from Ikea and I thought it would be ‘normal’ cotton but it’s like canvas – better because this print is better for bags etc. I love happy colours but for a bag I needed something more neutral. I’m happy with the result. Have a lovely Sunday! x Teje

  4. This is so clever! I love that wood fabric. My son would love it too ; )

  5. Great photography, too–perfect setting for this bag.

  6. Love it! Bags and totes are some of my favorite things to make, yours turned out wonderful!🙂

  7. I love this little bag! I’m pinning it so I can create something similar!🙂

  8. Great fabric choice for a bag. I love small bags like this as I can’t fill them with handbag clutter. Wallet, phone and keys size is just perfect. I love sea glass too. Lovely reading your post Teje. warm wishes Linny

  9. Awesome bag, I adore that woodsy fabric! xo

  10. Love the wooden button, Teje. It’s perfect to finish off the lovely bag.

  11. What a clever bag you made Teje. I am sure you will use it all the time. I love the fabrics and that great button. We have an Ikea 10 minutes drive from us…..it’s a shame I don’t use fabric. but we have bought some useful furniture there. Enjoy your sunshine, Jane x

  12. How perfect!
    I love sea glass too, as well as sea tumbled house brick and tiles or china…in fact I love anything found along the shore, I see beauty in everything at the coast x

    • Thank you! I have collected sea glass and also some shells and little pieces of tiles – no only need time and inspiration – they make also lovely decoration in glass jars! x Teje

  13. Such a sweet bag! The fabric is gorgeous and just right for your trips into the great outdoors. Your yellow friend is a real sweetie! Have good week. Ros

  14. I think google just made my comment disappear but sorry if I’m writing this twice! I like the way you’ve made your bag just the right size to keep your camera, phone and keys. My bag is always too heavy because it fills up with random things I don’t need! I also love the button🙂

    • Thank you Janine! I have a big handbag because I need lots of things with me, but for a walk I needed a small one and I think this is very practical. Now I need to make big tote to keep this small and ‘all the other’ things! x Teje

  15. Great bag, great fabric and perfect button! LOVE IT.🙂

  16. What a wonderful bag and neat fabric Teje! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  17. This is fantastic! Love the “wood” look, and you fur babies are precious (my dog is named Nellie too!). Hope you can stop by the enchanted oven for a visit.
    xo,
    Lisa

  18. The bags looks very practical for being out and about. Well done 🙂

  19. Thanks, Teje for the mention! We’ve been a bit negligent about getting around…Mom got a new computer and it took a while to get it up and running!

    Love the bag and the fabric you used!

  20. I love this bag! You’re such a clever lady. Hope all is well with you. Ros

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

