Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

“EYE GLASSES” part 1 -GIVE AWAY

32 Comments

Hello my dear friends! Title tells everything … I have a little story in my mind … and a give away!!!  hope you join me …

eye glasses applique

When I took photos for my notebook and had my vintage glasses for decoration, there happened to appear one shoot I really liked! It’s this photo with lovely shadow.

notebook cover

It stayed in my mind and I wanted to do something with this … and just then I got an exiting e-mail. I have been thinking a lot about eye glasses lately. The truth is that I got an e-mail from “Firmoo” already before the Christmas, but then I was so busy with many things and also with the moving of my blog – so I couldn’t react.

IMG_8013

Still I was thinking often those eye glasses and I was really happy they contacted me again now! I’m sure anyone who wears glasses, has a special ralationship with this matter – love or hate – or both? Also I’m sure that anyone who wears glasses, would like to get more often new glasses and to have several pairs of glasses!

patchwork

I thought that now I have an opportunity to sew something inspired with the photo I liked. But how? Hmmm … I have to draw them first … I haven’t drawn anything for ages!

IMG_8015

And how I make the base? I shouldn’t have start any new project because there is already something on my sewing table and I thought I could have finished that and get it in use … but here I am again. Any way, that’s why I thought to take quickly same patches I used for the notebook, not to use much time to plan other colours and prints.

log cabon block

So here I have now the log cabin block and I should some how manage to ‘draw’ eye glasses on it with fabric?! I’m not affraid – this is what I love to do – make patchwork pictures and I haven’t done any for so long time! In the drawing the uppest pair of glasses was my first try to draw the shadow. That didn’t look good so I draw the glasses and then I just had to add also the shadow.

IMG_8017

‘Firmoo’ has a wonderful collection of eye wears and so good prices! They have lots of fashionable frames, traditional, glasses ‘without’ frame, half-frames, for women and for men, computer glasses, specialty glasses and sun glasses which I need every day and almost all the year!

IMG_8018

You know that one of my most favourite eye glasses were those vintage eye glasses in these photos. Other eye glasses that I truly loved were without frames … I would still use them but I have distroided them when painting something.

Now I can’t choose what kind of eye glasses I should buy.

Should I choose these…

small-1-2a6yozy7[1]

or these … small-1-aXbhqGJknH[1]

IMG_8019

‘Firmoo’ has kindly offered to sponsor a give away! There will be four lucky winners and each of them will get $30 designer glasses voucher (shipping not included)!  And if there are more than 30 competitors, there will be an extra price!

sewing eye glasses

GIVE AWAY DETAILS:

* To enter this give away, leave a comment in this post and tell me which glasses you would like to win or which I should choose.

* This give away is open till 19th of February and 20th of February Nero will pick the winners.

* This give away is open internationally, but the winner have to be located in the Firmoo’s delivery area. No worries, they deliver almost every where!

* Take care that there is a way to contact you if you win. If you are ‘no-reply’, please add your e-mail in your comment.

IMG_8024

As you saw, this is the first part of the story. Follow my eye glasses story and get more chances to win. Visit “Firmoo’s” site and you’ll see that now we can easily buy second (third … fourth …) pair of glasses to enjoy and have some fun with them. Not only have one pair which we had to choose very carefully to be able to wear them loooooooong time.

drawing eye glasses

Now you may wonder how the story continues with this patchwork … I’m wondering too … I hope we’ll find that out in the following parts.

I wish you all Good Luck and have a great week! Thank you for joining me today and I hope to see you soon … I shall dive to my chest of drawers to see how many other vintage glasses I have there hiding and dust them for the next part!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

32 thoughts on ““EYE GLASSES” part 1 -GIVE AWAY

  1. I like the second pair of glasses for you:) You had a lot of fun with this block and the glasses added in and so it was a lot of fun to read!!

  2. I love how you were inspirered to this design. It’s really fun 🙂

  3. This is so fun Teje! Enjoy your sewing : )

  4. What a great giveaway idea T! I wear glasses all the time! I hate wearing them, and wish I could change the style more often! I really like the 2nd pair in your photo. And your sketching embroidery is brilliant! Jxo

  5. First of all just love your work with the eyeglasses! I would choose the 2nd pair I tend to break my glasses without frames much mor easily.

    • Thank you Jo! I like the 2nd pair quite much, too! I take care of my glasses and don’t brake them usually but that means that I have to use them soooooo long time. Once my dog ate my glasses when I was in sauna! x Teje

  6. I think you should choose the second pair of glasses, since they are in the vintage style you appreciate. (Me, too.) Thanks for the giveaway and for an entertaining post.

  7. What a great idea to make applique glasses on a log cabin panel. Thank you for sharing the proces of making this. It really is a wonderful idea and I love the way you did this. Glasses are very important to me too; I’ve had them for 40 years now, and there was a time when I didn’t want to ‘show’ that I had them, and so I had a pair like the first example you show. By now everyone can see I wear glasses, and I’m no longer ashamed of it. My glasses have all the colours you can imagine, and I just love them. Glasses may be seen; so I would go for the second option!

  8. Hi Teje, I’ve worn glasses since I was 2 years old so I don’t really remember not wearing them 🙂 This design would make a lovely pillow for a favourite reading chair. I love those fabrics together. Have fun! Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! Great idea – have to think how to make it a little bit bigger. I was thinking also library bag but I don’t have library, so it’s going to be something else. Have a great time! x Teje

  9. Visiting back, love your glasses… look forward to seeing more of your work.

  10. What a neat idea for applique and I really like the first glasses! Your work is beautiful as always!! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  11. Your block is absolutely beautiful – what a great idea!

  12. I discovered your blog through WIP Wednesdays at Freshly Pieced. Great post and I love the appliqued glasses!
    I like the second pair of glasses best.

  13. I love the round frames. What you did with the mini quilt is really great. Firmoo contacted me too but I was way too busy at Christmas to respond.

  14. I’m not entering the giveaway, but I did want to tell you how inspiring it is to see how this project developed. 🙂 I love that picture you took of your glasses sitting on your journal and the amazing shadow they cast. Thanks for linking up to WIP Wednesday!

  15. Another vote for the 2nd pair. FUN! I’m just going to pick up my first ever pair of reading glasses. I mostly need them for sewing. I can still read a book just fine without them but for threading needles and hand sewing and embroidery I need a little magnification.

    You do such beautiful quilting and since I live in the midst of snow, snow, and more snow (which is very pretty), I love visiting your blog, too, even to see the beautiful, summery photos! THANKS! It seems to me you live in paradise!

  16. Your block is awesome, very unique too. I would choose the first pair only because they look light and comfortable. I’ve worn glasses for 20 years and comfort is key!

  17. I recently discovered your blog and have added it to my Favotite’s list. I, too, am voting for the second pair of glasses. I wear glasses for reading and sewing, and would love a new pair. I really like the “shadow” glasses – your work is very clever and beautiful.

  18. Yes, Teje; I have also just recently joined your blog, i enjoy hearing from you and love all the new exciting patterns, your sewing, and wonderful items you make. Luv your pets too. You are so gifted. The second pair of glasses would be so wonderful on you. i wear glasses and sometimes have trouble picking them out. Thank you for allowing me to follow your blog. Take care Henrietta

  19. You’re one talented lady, Teje! I would choose the top pair of glasses; the rimless ones. I like to wear that kind because they are not so obvious. Ros

    • Thank you Ros! I love the rimless glasses, they are so light and comfortable – unvisible to others but also for the user! x Teje

  20. What a creative idea, Teje! I think I’d go for the second pair of glasses. I only wear glasses when reading or on the computer and these look fun!

  21. What a neat ideat to put those glasses on top. I think I like the rimless ones. Hope I win.