Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

‘HAPPY DAYS’ QUILT

65 Comments

Hi friends! I have a song in my mind … but first things first … I have finished the quilt top with solid triangles … the one I didn’t know to choose the arrangement …

quilt with triangles

It has been over the fence on my attic now few days and anytime I watch it, I Smile! It chose the name by itself “Happy Days”! Those words went around in my mind … then came the song …

triangle blocks

… sunday, monday Happy Days … tuesday, wednesday Happy Days … thursday, friday Happy Days …

solid triangles

… do you know what was the most difficult part … to arrange the colours … there is still some repeating but I am relly, really happy with this …

IMG_7902

You have to remember The Cunningham family and Fonzie! Usually I don’t google much but now I thought to see if I find something … there it is THE SONG! …. FIRST EPISODE! … that was so fun and I had a good laugh! I want so see more of them! There are lots of links and videos – enjoy!

'Happy Days' quilt

Today was a happy day … after rainy days, sun was shining and we were out with Nero and Hanna. They enjoyed so much and Nero was sitting on his guarding hill!

IMG_7955

Hanna was searching something else …

IMG_7965

I can’t believe that this is my first time making a quilt with solids?! Now I’m really hooked – I neede more more more solid bundles! This bundle is Kona solids and I bought it from ‘Fluffy Sheep Quilting’.

Happy Days quilt

You can see HERE how I started to arrange these triangles. I liked the pinwheeles very much but for some reason they were ‘too much in order’ now. I wanted something more random … like messy but of course still some order … I don’t think I could make something without some kind of order.

IMG_7941

I have tried to find out how to quilt this sweet baby … I think perhaps I shall stitch straight horizontal lines following the seam allowances. And perhaps using only white … and then the next question is the binding … could that be also white?

Cretan boats

Yesterday I were in the harbour – after ages! We were eating in a fish restaurant …nam nam! As you can see it was rainy day and this was the only photo I took, because when we left it was raining too much. This photo features well how the ancient and modern as the old and new appears every where in Greece!

small quilt with solids and white

If you need a happy moment hop to see those Happy Days!

I’m linking at ‘WIP wednesday‘, ‘Made By Me wednesday’,‘Really Random Thursday’, ‘Friday Felicities’, ‘Show Off Friday’

Thank you so much for your visit and all your sweet messages! I have been so happy to read how you like the ‘Baby Stars’ quilt and those blue, green turquoise colours!

Sunny wishes and see you soon again!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

65 thoughts on “‘HAPPY DAYS’ QUILT

  1. It looks great! Very pretty and cheerful.

  2. That is a beautiful quilt. I am inspired!

  3. This really makes your day happy. I don’t use solids that much myself, but maybe I should do this more often: it reall looks great.

  4. That is just gorgeous!! I love the happy colors of it! I really like how you arranged them in parallelograms, too! Very sharp!

  5. Such a stunning use of colours and whites, I’m so inspired. Looking forward to seeing the completed quilt. Your harbour is lovely.

    • Thank you Gail! I would love to start the quilting but some works go ahead now. Till I have time to quilt, I enjoy watching this as a top! The harbout in Chania is especially beautiful and the other side is full of restaurants and cafeterias – full of people all the summer. x Teje

  6. This is such a stunning quilt – happy days to you all🙂

  7. Gorgeous Teje. I love the sense of movement in it.

  8. I am hopping over from Freshly Pieced….your quilt caught my eye and I’m so glad that I did. I’m going to have a look around at all of your colorful qulits…my favorite. Your Happy Day quilt looks a bit like herringbone design to me…love it!

  9. Love those solids. I have been doing so much with the Kona Medium Gray solid and loving it. Using it as a ‘neutral’. Will have to check out your “source” for the bundle. Straight stitching in white and white binding. So perfect, clean, fresh….just like your photos. So glad that you, Hannah and Nero have sun to enjoy. At the moment we, here, are in the middle of a winter storm. Quilt group is supposed to meet tonight and the storm is supposed to be done by afternoon. I will wait to see. Several of us live up on high ‘ridges’ and the roads can be quite treacherous, especially at night. Keep those warm pictures coming!!!!!! Blessings, Doreen

    • Thank you Doreen! I wish I could join your quilt group! Kona solids are very nice and you can see that the white is different. My only worry is how this quilt will act in the washing, because the white is pre-washed and of course those pre-cut solids are not. I hope I won’t get any unpleasant surprise. x Teje

  10. You’re right! This is a really happy quilt! I’m not into using solids yet, but I always admire other people’s! Jxo

    • Thank you Judith! I have also used mainly prints till now. Then I saw this bundle when I was ordering some other fabrics and thought now I want to try Kona solids and I’m so happy I did! I love the colours! But I think that when I work with solids I do need to have lots of colours like these, to get ‘painted’ result. x Teje

  11. I’ve started using solids in my quilts also and it was a Kona fabric! Love what you did with this. I can see a use for my stash!

  12. Your top and your scenery are gorgeous!

  13. Love this quilt. Am sooo motivated to make a similar one .
    Leena

  14. Pretty quilt! I love the way you laid out the HST so the bright colors and whites create a new kind of zig zag pattern.

    • Thank you Terri! I’m happy to hear you like this! I’m 100 % sure that there are so many quilts made like this, but I don’t remember seeing any. I just turned the blocks around – didn’t want to make zik zak or lines – so this is what it became! I’m waiting to get this on my wall to see it better! x Teje

  15. I really like your arrangement of HSTs! The colors are so cheerful.

  16. Oh, those Kona bundles, they are addictive, no? Lovely quilt top, the name fits perfectly. And yes, I think white binding would be great. Thank you also for stopping by my blog today!

    • Thank you Kerstin! I have been thinking about the binding and Zooperson had a good idea for navy checked – then I thought stripy fabric which I have with rainbow colours – but at the end I’m quite sure it’s going to be white! Thanks for your support! x Teje

  17. It´s lovely! I´ve wanted to make a herringbone quilt for so long and I like your way a lot!

  18. So lovely; both the quilt and the background for the quilt. I love all solids quilts too!

  19. Lovely! It will be interesting to see how you quilt it.

  20. This is lovely! I too have never ventured much with just solids, but it looks like fun!

    • Thank you Kimberly! I think I have made so much with prints so it was time to look something new and now I’m happy to say that I love also solids! x Teje

  21. That is a happy quilt! And when your wonderful stitches are added it will be more than happy. I love it and the repeats that I finally was able to spot–you shouldn’t have tattler on yourself– : ) look like they belong where you put them. So it is perfect! Maybe a small check in navy and white would be a good binding?

  22. Hi!! I love the combination of solid and white!! It turn always out great!! Love it!! AnneK:-)

  23. I loved watching the Fonz when I was young Teje, such happy funny shows. I really love these solids you have used, they look stunning in the quilt. Hope you enjoyed your meal and have a lovely weekend, nearly there again!
    Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! I was happy to see again Fonz and the others in Happy Days – they look now so funny! It was happy, funny and harmless series! Have a wonderful weekend! x Teje

  24. This reminds me of a Herringbone pattern, love that you didn’t go for the easy option and do a chevron, this is much more inventive! I’ve yet to make a solids quilt but I am in a new sampler bee and I’ve specified solids only for this one so soon enough I will have a solids quilt too!

  25. Isn’t it funny, how hard “random” can be.

  26. Hi Teje, Your quilt is really beautiful🙂 A white binding would be perfect but you could also choose any of the solid colours too:-) Whatever you decide will be gorgeous🙂 I would definitely use several colour catcher sheets when you wash your quilt. The solids will bleed into the white but the catchers help. Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! But now you made me scare of the washing! We don’t have any colour catchers here – I guess I don’t wash this for a long time – anyway I thought to keep it as a wall quilt. Thank you so much for reminding me about the colour bleed!!! x Teje

  27. I love these colors! It made me smile too.🙂

  28. I loved that show. LOVED it! Thanks for linking up this Happy Days quilt to Friday Felicities!

  29. Hello Tege

    What a vibrant and happy looking quilt !! I am all new to this quilting obsession, and obsession its becoming ! Cannot stop buying fabric! My day job is very demanding, so it does not give me much time to sew but I am making my fist full bed quilt ! Thank you for your message and your kind words. Love your blog, and look forward to reading your quilting journey,

  30. I just love this quilt top! Everything–the solids (LOVE solids!) Just beautiful!

    • Thank you so much! I know you love to use solids in happy colours! Do you have good tips to share how to wash these quilts so that we don’t ruin the white parts. x Teje

  31. I took your idea and made a similar quilt. This was my first attempt and I couldn’t have done it without your inspiration. The picture is on my blog thebedingfieldlife.blogspot.com under my summer recap post. Hope you enjoy it.

    • Thank you Sharesa! I’m so happy to hear that you found inspiration from my blog! Your quilt is beautiful! You have picked lovely colours! Continue sewing!
      Sunny wishes! x Teje

  32. Pingback: Drømmen om lappeteppet | Fragaria

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

