Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

RAINBOWS IN SUNSHINE!

48 Comments

Happy Tuesday to everyone! Yesterday I was sitting outside with my coffee, book and puppies! Yes in the sunshine and then I had to drag my chair to the shadow because the sun was too hot! Sorry friends, I know how much you miss it and I wish I could send you lots of sunshine! Sunny colours I can show to you because I’m totally surrounded by them!

rainbow fabrics

This story begins from the coffee moment, because then I thought I need to take photos from the knitting on my needles. Nero told to me to re-knit his ‘Rainbow Cowl’ because he never uses it. I agreed because I need something to warm me … I know the cold weather is coming.

knitted cowl

I have frogged the main part but left still the ‘crow’ – who knows – perhaps I’ll use that with this new knitting …

cowl

These colours look so delicious and the yarn is soft and perfect for a scarf or a cowl. I like this knitting so much … no counting, no planning, just knit and enjoy the colours!

rainbow knitting

Anyway, when I took these photos, I remembered my rainbow patches. “Should I open that bundle on my birthday?” I bought this bundle from a while ago from ‘Fluffy Sheep Quilting’. I didn’t have any plan for them and I was affraid to spread them on my table and to loose the order without knowing what to do with them … grazy – I know!

IMG_7714

‘Now is the time to make a brave decision and cut them all in half”! What’s the worst that can happen? I lose this bundle or I have to create something with tiny scraps … I can get a new bundle if necessary.

IMG_7727

After lots of photos, on the cutting table … and a plan started to take shape. I don’t want to mix all the colours = there are some colours I don’t like very much and some of them I just can’t look next to each other. So I cut also lots of white triangles …

IMG_7728

I cut them 3 together so here you can see every third colour … beautiful … and look how it changes when I turn them up side down …

IMG_7731

I really need a project to enjoy colours and to plan something on my own! You know – something that you don’t want to stop, makes you wake up easily in the morning, keeps you awake late in the evening … something joyful …

half square triangles

‘Stars and shirts’ is fine project … ‘Baby Stars’ is great … but This is a ‘Strawberry – Cream Cake’ and brings water to my mouth! Here the colours are as they came from the bundle. I haven’t made pinwheeles (with fabric) for ages and I love them. I could make half of these pinwheeles and the other half something else and then gather them somehow together.

pinwheel blocks

But on the other hand I would love to mix all of them ‘randomly’ = disorder in order! I have to sew more and start to puzzle them. At the moment my only problem is, that I want at least two more bundles, because I have already new plans in my mind!

IMG_7748

This is not a blue fabric … this is what I saw on my way today! Perfect day … sunny, warm, quiet, no wind no waves …

IMG_7747

Thank you so much for stopping by! I hope you can enjoy my sunny photos even I can’t send real sunshine to you!

Thank you also very much for your sweet comments and birthday wishes! I have enjoyed so much reading your little stories and I would love to have a birthday party chating with all of you together – and of course eating strawberry-cream cake!

rainbow fabrics

GIVE AWAY IS STILLL OPEN HERE (last post)!!!

NEXT TIME I HAVE A NEW GIVE AWAY!!!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

48 thoughts on “RAINBOWS IN SUNSHINE!

  1. You always send sunshine by way of your lovely photographs Teje 🙂 I love the charm pack as solids are my favourites. I think pinwheels are so wonderful to make and there are many ways to position them for geat effect. It is a nice idea to mix the colours with white. Your top will be so fresh and modern. We did get snow YUK! Avis x

  2. I love your pinwheels! I’m seriously wanting to do pinwheels this year!

  3. When your lovely photo came up in my Reader I just knew it what from you! There is no place else that has such gorgeous outdoor views…..no place!!! Thank you for sending them our way. Can’t wait to see how those lovelies come together…..yummy sherbet colors — for sure!!! Warm hugs coming to you from my cozy farm home, Doreen

    • Thank you so much Doreen, that was really sweet! Sherbet colours, yes and delicious also! I’m waiting also to see how they come together – no idea yet!
      Warm hugs! x Teje

  4. Mmmmm, warm sunshine would be lovely just about now! It’s freezing cold here, and snow is on the way! Eek! Your rainbow solids look lovely. Jxo

    • Thank you Judith! We have had till now great winter and I hope it continues! I hope you don’t get too much snow and sun will shine! x Teje

  5. Sinulla on niin ihania kuvia Kreetasta keskellä talveakin, että blogisi ansiosta päätin, että matkustan keväällä lomalle Kreetalle.

  6. Your colours are beautiful and very inspiring with white, thank you for sharing your creativity. I love seeing your wonderful island. We’ve had a bit too much sunshine these past few days but luckily there has been a breeze (sometimes a strong wind) to cool things down.

    • Thank you so much Gail! In winter I love sun and warm bright days, but in summer they are just too hot. I hope you get some cool wind! x Teje

  7. Your photos always bring me sunshine Teje! I love the colours of those charms. Solids are my favourites and the pinwheels will be fabulous. I have just finished a pinwheel top myself 🙂 Great minds think alike 😀 Avis x

    • Thank you so much Avis! I’m happy to hear you make a pinwheel quilt and hope to see it soon! I can’t decide – there are so many possibilities! x Teje
      Ps. I wish you could hear how much Nelli is snoring just now!

  8. Thank you for that wonderful sunny post Teje . The weather and your gorgeous fabrics have warmed me up. I look forward to seeing your finished masterpiece.
    Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! I don’t have to sew those triangles – grrr! Some clouds are coming to us, but still very warm and I had a beach trip with my Golden friend. x Teje

  9. I love the hst’s! Can’t wait to see how they turn out!

  10. Thanks for sharing your sun and rainbows. It has been grey and gloomy around here lately which is typical for winter. I love the colors in the knitting.

  11. Beautiful post Teje, love the rainbow fabrics and your knitting is wonderful and what beautiful yarn! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  12. I just love the rainbow color fabrics. It looks like you are having nice weather. 🙂

  13. Beautiful quilt in making, Teje, just so full of sunshine! And oh how much I am counting the days we get to have a cup of coffee in sun outside (it’s -25C here today, kylmä!), but in the meanwhile I just enjoy your sunny blog! Thank you so much for sharing, dear friend!

    Have a lovely day!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you Mia! Oh, you have very cold up there! We have almost +20! but at night only +4! I’m happy to hear that my sunny photos and colourful fabrics helps you to wait spring. Have a wonderful weekend! x Teje

  14. So beautiful Teje, and the sunshine!! We have snow : (

  15. I l0ve the colors you chose for your pinwheels and I really enjoy the pictures you post of something you see everyday. Pam

  16. All those rainbow photo are making me happy! I love the pin wheels. I can’t wait to see more. Thanks for linking up with Sew Cute Tuesday:)

  17. I love that wool! So darn gorgeous! Nero looks so cute wearing it but so will you!

  18. Lovely rainbow pinwheels! It’s going to be a beautiful quilt.
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  19. I do miss warm sunshine. Your photos made to feel it vicariously through you. I love how Nero poses for photos for you. Lovely pinwheels with such cheerful colors.

  20. Love all the rainbow colours. Looking forward to seeing how you put the pinwheels together

  21. This is such a beautiful and uplifting post, Teje! It is snowing here today and beautiful in a different way….but I do love to see lovely colours on my computer screen! Your rainbow yarn and fabrics are delightful, and what a lovely way to use the pretty Kona solids!
    Wishing you a wonderful weekend!
    Helen x

  22. Those kona solids are so beautiful and sunny. I always love pinwheels but I also really the square of hsts layout. I’ll look forward to seeing how you sew them together. Thank you for your lovely comment on my blog 🙂

  23. Oooh your pictures are wonderful! I only stated quilting last year and your blog gives lots of inspiration. I will try pinwheels soon as yours as so pretty x x

    • Thank you Susan! I’m so happy to hear you read my blog and that you are quilting! Don’t wait, start your blog – it’s so much fun and you’ll get so wonderful friends to share quilting and other things! x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

