Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

SO MANY STARS!

34 Comments

Hello! Welcome to new Nero’s Post and Patch! This is the first official post from our new blog space and I’m so happy to see you here! These last days has been so wonderful with your overwhelming wishes and sweet words! Thank you so much! It is w.i.p wednesday and here it’s all about stars …

IMG_7503

Quilting has begun and I hope this quilt is going to be in use very soon! Finally the pattern became more simple than I thought. I wanted to use the templates I got from my friend and they made great big stars! I wanted to make single size quilt so there was space only for a simple border.

IMG_7499

I have already thought so much how to make the other pair for the ‘shirt’ quilts. I’m almost sure that I use again diamonds but with different design. This is not the most comfortable quilt to stitch because of the ‘shirt’ fabrics but then again I hope they are very ‘dog-friendly’! Quilting fabrics are softer and easier to quilt.

IMG_7484

Yesterday it was ‘throwing chairs’ here! Any idea what happened? In greek we say ‘ριχνει καρεκλες’ when it’s raining very much. And it really did! And all the day; so much rain that I think there were some tables, too falling from sky! But surprise – surprise … today we have bright, blue sky, sunshine and over +20 C degrees! I could quilt outside but it’s time to continue new ‘Baby Stars’ quilt.

IMG_7488

Still I haven’t decide if I use all these fabrics or if I make double blocks with the same fabrics as the stars are … I think I make them with eight different prints … why not, because I have enough fabrics in matching colours.

IMG_7493

First ever photo of Nelli front of a quilt! In Christmas time I folded ‘My Dream Quilt’ over the handrail and today Nelli was sitting just perfectly front of it! Beautiful green eyes!

W.i.p. Wednesday linky party is going on at ‘Freshly Pieced’ and I’m so happy to join the fun! Have a look how our friends have started this year!

Next time I shall have a tutorial for you. I was asked how I made those pinwheel ornaments and I’m very happy to show you. Even Christmas is over, these pinwheeles make also beautiful brooch and decoration for any time of the year!

IMG_7483

Thank you so much for visiting Nero’s new post and patch! I hope you enjoy our new look and better orginezed space! I have still many things to do around here – for example the tutorial page is not ready. Anyway all the time I try to improve things here.  Please take care that even our blog name is the same, the address is now www.nerospost.wordpress.com!

IMG_7505

Nero sends you wishes and he is happy that the new year celebration is again over for an other year. He is so scared of the fireworks and shooting! This time we tried relaxing pills ‘Serene-UM calm’ from the vet and they helpped quite well. He was worried and restless but not totally in panic as usually.  I gave the pills only the New Years Eve, 2 in the lunch time and 2 more late in the evening as our vet recommended.

Have a wonderful beginning of the New Year and see you soon!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

34 thoughts on “SO MANY STARS!

  1. Your stars, big and little, are amazing! I love the big, bold ones with the lovely border!

    And the colors for the small ones are so soothing!

    Kitties here loving our quilts too.

    Happy New Year and stay dry and warm!

    • Thank you Dee! It’s great to do many kind of quilts. Usually I use small pieces and for a change these big stars were wonderful. Happy New Year to you, too! x Teje

  2. Beautiful work as ever Teje. Love your shirts quilt and the baby stars-such beautiful fabrics. There has been much throwing of chairs and tables here too… Enough to make floods. So glad I live at the top of a hill!

  3. Hello dear Teje,

    I just received a pinwheel-star today (I am going to e-mail you in a minute) and it’s so pretty, no wonder a how-to-do was wished! Thank you!

    Your “new place” looks so great, and I am wishing you the most wonderful new blogging year and the Happiest 2013 in every aspect! And Nelli is so sweet, kiss her for me, please!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thanks dear Mia! I’m so happy you received it because most of my Christmas cards have disappeared! Thank you for your always so sweet and supporting comments and help! Nelli got a big kiss! x Teje

  4. Oooh, I love the baby stars, especially the colors! They are my favorite combo! I am stopping by from the WIP hop, I would love to have you come by and see what I have been up to🙂 http://domesticdeficitdisorder.blogspot.com/2013/01/wip-wednesday.html

  5. Happy New Year and congratulations on your new home! Nellie is so pretty I am glad you got a photo of her.

  6. Hi Teje, I’m loving your new blog. That is a great photo of Nelli too🙂 The shirt quilt is fabulous with the bold stars and the baby stars are going to be wonderful. It looks like we sent a little bit of our rain to you…..we say “It is raining cats and dogs”😀 Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! Rain with cats and dogs sounds funny! I made today all the blocks for the baby quilt and most difficult was to decide how to organize them (typical for me). Don’t send more rain, please! x Teje

  7. HI!! Love the big stars!! And congratulation with the new blog!! Anne:-)

  8. Happy New Year, Teje!
    Such a pretty plaid quilt top. I’ve been thinking about starting another plaid quilt and seeing your star one has me reaching for those fabrics to get sewing! ;o)

    Hope the rain lets up and sunny skies are ahead for you. Take care!

  9. Teje….Welcome to WP! Have just clicked on the “Follow” star so I will be sure to see your bright, sunny and warm bloggy site!! Looks awesome and your quilts, and furry friends, look fantastic in the brilliant outdoor light. So glad for the sunshine for you. Many hugs, Doreen

    • Thank you so much Doreen, you are always so sweet and supporting! I am lucky because usually we have only few days rain and then we have again sunshine to send to you and all my friends! Hugs! x Teje

  10. Love your new site, Teje! Welcome to WordPress. Your new address just updated in my Google Reader and I didn’t have to do a thing.

    Nelli looks lovely in front of your Dream Quilt – I love those colors.

    • Thank you Sage! My earlier blog was also with WordPress and I’m so happy with them. Now when I have two blogs and there still comes comments also to the ‘old’ one, I can see all the comments on the right side corner! First I was worried if it was mistake to have both blogs with the same e-mail address, but it seems to be good. Also it’s easy to bring photos or reblog from the one to the other. I use Blogger to read most of the blogs I follow and when I write new post I go to leave a link to my G+ profil. Would it be better to use Google Reader? Hugs! Teje & Nero

  11. I love the picture of Nelli. That quilt really compliments her eyes. Your little start quilt is jut the colors I love.

    • Thank you Cindy! It’s always fun to find matching colours like Nelli’s eyes with the green fish! Quilting is so great – we can use what ever colours we love! x Teje

  12. HAPPY NEW YEAR! Love your shirt star quilt as well as the smaller, bright stars. Beautiful Nelli. Poor Nero, our two dogs and cat are petrified firecrackers too. I have never given them relaxing pills, don’t really want to ‘dope’ them…

    • Thank you Astrid! I don’t like to ‘dope’ them, too and that’s why I tried if this ‘Serene-UM calm’helps because it doesn’t make the pet sleepy. I didn’t see any difference at Nero’s bahavior, only that he wasn’t so scared as usually. I wish you wonderful New Year! x Teje

  13. Your first post is filled with so many wonderful photos Teje and the blue sky…wow..we have had so little sun here. Your new quilt looks beautiful and dear Nelli is the perfect model. Have a great day, enjoy your sunshine.
    Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! Sunshine continues and Nero has been in the garden all the day. I have finished the baby quilt top and hope to start quilting in the evening. I do my best to send you some sun! x Teje

  14. How funny you say ‘throwing chairs’ – we say ‘raining cats and dogs’ ! Sadly we have to say it very often😦 You new home is looking great and I love your stars, especially the shirts. Happy New Year!

  15. Hi, Teje! I really like your star quilt. And those fabrics in your baby stars are gorgeous!! What a terrific photo of your Nelli. She’s very pretty.

  16. That large quilt is really striking — well done!

  17. Oh Yes I love your shirt stars quilt..now get quilting!!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

