Nero's Post and Patch

by Teje Karjalainen

‘Make My Day’ quilt project

40 Comments

Hi friends! More new blocks than expected has appeared to the box where I keep my latest project. Yesterday I thought to rest a little bit and sew several blocks.

quilt process

Stars you have seen and after them I made the square on the left with turquoise corners. After that I had in my mind something like a path and this became one evening …

scrap squares

Because I made the brave decision to include here few of my precious Kaffe Fassetts, I connected them with Kona solids …

Kaffe with Kona

These colours are so beautiful and bright but my photos are from the evening inside. You’ll see them other time outside.

block with squares

This block is very improvised. I looked my white scraps and went on with their shapes. As you can see in  the earlier photo where I used 4 leftover pieces from ‘Orange Stones’.

square on point

I like the seams in the white corner pieces. In this Project I shall use what ever white, cream and other low volumes. There will be bigger areas of white and there the seams gives nice details. Maybe, just maybe I shall make some applique later on those ‘empty areas’ but can’t know that for sure yet.

matching fabrics

Here is an idea for the next block. No idea how to make it but I enjoy matching the colours as you know!

Adrianne from ‘On the Windy Side’ had the same idea to make one block each day and she’s hosting a linky party if you like to share your July Project!

I don’t want to say that I shall have a blog brake but most likely it’s going to be a little bit quiet here at ‘Nero’s Post’ for a while. As it has already been. This and next month I’m pretty much ‘on the road’ – busy with work and other stuff and driving around and up and down every day. Still I hope to have a moment or two to make some blocks and show them to you.

For sure, I’m back after the summer with lots of news, new ideas and inspiration and hopefully with lots of energy! I may have then even a wall to make a design wall!

cute puppy

We don’t have a new dog! But this Funny Face lives in one of my work places and have to say that she makes my day there! She is Super Super happy when someone comes and runs like a rocket around the garden, follows you and is just the cutes little puppy!

sweet face

Nero, Hanna and Nelli are fine, lazy with the hot summer, but they are happy and so important company to us!

Nero and Hanna

Nero would love the little puppy girl! Nero is so in love with Nelli (our cat) lately. He just loves all the small creatures! And for a big surprise, also Nelli seems to enjoy his company and attention!

new quilt project

Now I wish you the most wonderful summer! Thank you for visiting and reading my blog and thank you for taking the time to write wonderful, supportive and inspiring comments! I hope to see you soon!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

40 thoughts on “‘Make My Day’ quilt project

  1. Your mixing and matching is wonderful. I would never have come up with the idea to mix colourful designs like the Kaffe Fasset fabrics with white AND linen; it really is a beautiful combination. Your ‘stepping stones’ are the best. So clever!
    It’s a pity to hear you’ll be very busy with work this summer; I always look forward to your posts. Have a great summer!

    • Thank you Dorien! I like white very much. It makes the colours show clear and bright. This time I enjoy the low volumes, too. I think the ‘linen’ is also Kona but I’m not sure. That ‘mushroom’ colour is great! x Teje

  2. lovely blocks! and Funny Face looks like a cutie! Jasper the red border collie is back with us for a week so Scarlett is having plenty of mischief with him. Fun and games!

  3. The puppy and your dogs are so wonderful. They are magnificent beauties.
    Your quilt is unique. I like how you have the many shapes going on. You do great on making them work together. It’s going to be a real cheerful quilt when you’re finished.

    • Thank you so much! I try to challenge myself to make new shapes and blocks this time. This project is to have fun and not to repeat only one block. This time I also enjoy using lot of light colours, white etc. x Teje

  4. Another happy, dancing stitching………you do “improv” so well!!!! Have an awesome summer and thanks for sharing your furry family friends’ photos (I love alliteration!!!!!)…..many hugs……………………

  5. Somehow you make those blocks look terrific. All unique but they just gather together and as Tim Gunn would say, you “make it work.” What a cutie pie the little fellow is. I fear I would steal him home with me.

  6. What lovely blocks you have made Teje. Wishing you a good summer, sometimes a blogging break is needed, it should always be a fun thing to do and sometimes life gets in the way, quite rightly. That sweet pup is a darling, she is worth going to work for. Take care xx

    • Thank you so much Jane! I wish you, too lovely summer and I don’t go far away so if I have a moment I step into the blogland. Hugs! x Teje

  7. Very lovely improv work! Looks like a fun WIP. And such a cute puppy. You have a wonderful love of animals, Teje. Thank you for sharing your caring ways!

  8. Love what you have done! It’s so colorful and uplifting. Have a great summer!

  9. It looks like you are having so much fun with this project. I wish I could be more improvisational but it’s really difficult for me. I think I overthink it too much and don’t follow my instincts enough. Your animals are beautiful and I agree, your Nelli reminds me of Oliver. Love my black and white kitty. Thanks for linking up to Anything Goes Mondays.

    • Thank you Diana! Sometimes it’s easy to improvise and sometimes not so easy but always fun! Oliver is beautiful and has great name! x Teje

  10. Have a wonderful summer – you should borrow the puppy for a weekend of fun at your place! Look forward to seeing your beautiful impro quilt later on in the year.

  11. Great blocks – it looks like you’re having fun which I think is the main thing!

    • Thank you Adrianne! That’s the main thing and this time reason why I started to make these blocks in the middle of the busiest time of the year. It makes me smile and that counts. x Teje

  12. This will be such a wonderful quilt Teje. So fun and whimsical!

  13. Have a wonderful summer hitting the roadways. Lovely blocks looks like this is going to be something beautiful.

  14. Very nice improv work!

  15. What a fun quilt! love your fabric choices :)

  16. what a great project! I love your approach to making the blocks. i’m making a quilt in a similar manner. i sstarted with star blocks, all the same size, but now I want to make different blocks in different sizes and see what happens!

    • Thank you Wendy! I’m happy to hear you have also fun Project going on! It’s fun to make different kind of blocks. x Teje

  17. Hello Teje,

    Those blocks are so pretty, that green here and there makes it look so summery! Do you find yourself using different colors in summer, autumn, winter…? Or just the ones that you like at the moments?

    Kisses to all those cute dogs, and happy weekend to all of you soon!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you so much Mia! I think I use always mostly summer colours but it could be different if I were living in Finland with snow and cold. I don’t think the season change my colours. Happy weekend to you, too! x Teje

  18. Have a wonderful summer Teje and I hope you find a little time for yourself and your quilting. Glad your furry companions are all happy and well and that cute little girl is sooooo adorable! Have fun! Ros and Oscar

  19. Oh Teje I love this improvisational work of yours!
    Myrto

  20. Your current project is looking wonderful, I love what you’re doing with all that gorgeous fabric! It’s lovely to see Nero and Hanna looking so dignified and happy in the sunshine and the little puppy is adorable!! Enjoy your summer!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers

