Nero's Post and Patch

by Teje Karjalainen

Beginning new quilt!

35 Comments

Hi Friends! Good Month – can’t believe it’s already July! I found a good way to start this month – new quilt project!

wonky star block

Yesterday after my morning coffee and before going to work, I made this star. I picked the scraps just by instinct without any further plan, just what felt good for this one star.  Last few days I have been thinking a lot … and ended up to start a new quilt project.

wonky star block

Against my schedule, I made second star in the evening … after organizing first several hours my fabric stash. Getting rid of some old ‘so tiny scraps’ that you wouldn’t never even keep them … hmmm, no, those I kept still, but some other ‘ugly’ scraps I threw away. If and when I continue to make story-pillows I need every tiny piece because they may have just the colour I need to put a nose to a dog or a wing to bird or a suitcase for a travelling cat.

wonky star

Wonky star block looks fun and so different ‘in point’. Perhaps I put some stars like this.

new quilt project

One other evening, when I just passed my sewing place  … I picked some little triangles … and after a while I had several blocks which will be perfect to join my new project.

IMG_8208

This quilt project is not busy to be finished but slow to be enjoyed – like the favourite  sweet which you like to eat slowly slowly to enjoy every bite and to make it last long. Unfortunately this time I didn’t have my favourite sweet, blueberry pie with ice cream!!!

dpgs

I’m too busy to even try to make this quilt quickly. I haven’t made any plans for this quilt … if I wake up at night I may think what kind of blocks to make … during the day at work I ‘picture’ the blocks and fabrics in my thoughts … you know how often it’s  enough just to watch the project on your sewing table, to make you happier.

afternoon siesta

One day … some day … there will be enough blocks and enough time to gather them to a quilt which will be full of light, most likely sunshine … something that says  Good Morning – Have a Great Day!

sunny star block by Teje

Today this block made my day. Tomorrow it will be an other one. More about this project next time.

What makes you have a great start to your day?

Thank you for stopping by and for your wonderful and always appreciated comments!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

35 thoughts on “Beginning new quilt!

  1. Your new project has a friendly and relaxed feel to it, Teje. The stars are sweet and I like the solid squares in the centers. I am looking forward to starting a new project, too!

  2. This is looking really great so far. Love your choices : ) Today is Canada’s birthday. We are 147 !
    Celebrating today in the sun

  3. I love those little bits here and there!

  4. I am seeing stars everywhere!!!! I love that method……so fun and sparkly…….and……”unrehearsed” (without lots of planning). These will be perfect, together with those “lost points”!!! LOL!!!!!

    • Thank you Doreen! This is the fun with quilting and blogging – I didn’t realize that those triangles look like corners from the stars that have fallen around, until you said it! Thanks – this gives me new ideas. Hugs! x Teje

  5. I really like your new quilt! The triangles look like comets among the stars. Pet Hanna and Nero for me–they look pretty lazy–must be a warm day. If you ever come to the US, you have to come here to Maine and eat blueberry pie–it’s the best!

    • Thank you Karen! That’s a great thought about the stars and comets. This time is so boring for the dogs because it’s all the time hot. I’m dreaming of your blueberry pie! x Teje

  6. Herkkiä, tuikkivia tähtiä! Tilkkupintakoosteestasi tuli mieleen Södergranin runo, jossa tähti putoaa ja nurmikolla on sen sirpaleita. Mustikkavuodesta täällä näyttää tulevan huono, piirakat voivat olla täälläkin harvinaista herkkua. Mukavaa päivää Sinulle, täällä sataa taas (=voin ommella!)

    • Kiitos kovasti! Tuo oli kaunis ajatus ja sopii tosi hyvin! No voi harmi jos ette saa mustikoita ja piirakkaa. Olen kuullut etta on tosi huono ilma – toivottavasti lampenee pian eika enaa sataisi. x Teje

  7. Wonky starts are my favourite. They will make a lovely quilt.

  8. It looks fun…pretty block and cheerful colors :)

  9. Beautiful blocks Teje, I’ve been looking at different Sawtooth Star patterns on pinterest and dreaming of my next quilt. What a great idea. I hope you are able to finish it because it would be great to see finished. It was lovely also to read your post and see what you are up to in Greece, looks lovely as usual.

    • Thank you so much! I shall finish this even it may take some time. It’s enjoyable to plan the different kind of blocks without any press as there is now plan for the quilt layout yet. x Teje

  10. I like picturing you dreaming of your good morning stars while you are supposed to be working.

  11. Your new quilt looks beautiful. I love the extra little bits you added in. So nice to have a project that can grow and be done whenever.

    • Thank you Beth! I think I was lucky to have an idea for a perfect Project. I’m now too busy with million of things and this is something I can do even with short moment now and then. x Teje

  12. I really like the insertion of those triangle blocks with the wonky stars….lovely! It’ll be a wonderful “good morning” quilt!

  13. Blocks are really cute. I like that the square is offset in the star.

  14. Loving the start of your blocks and layout, Teje! I enjoy making wonky star blocks very much, but have never thought to turn them on point – might just have to next time around : )

    • Thank you Sarah! When I took the photos, I happened to look the star on point and it looks fun and so different like that. Perhaps I put some stars like that. Have a great weekend! x Teje

  15. Beautiful,nice to be beable to make a block or two before work I wish I could!!! Lovely blocks and I like the extra triangles too.

  16. Your stars are so pretty and the idea of using all those triangles in between will make a very special quilt!
    Myrto

  17. What a wonderful approach to this quilt. I am often trying to plan out each detail of a project, but I love this build as you go, when you have a moment approach. I also enjoy your colors. Thank you for reminding me about the joy in the making process.

    • Thank you Jan-Michael! Most of my projects ‘become as I go’. Even I make some plans, usually I get so many NEW ideas during the process, that they change. x Teje

  18. Hello Teje,

    What a lovely start for a new quilt! I am a big fan of pink&green together, and those stars look great, I can’t wait to see it all ready – happy sewing!

    Many greetings from sunny Finland!

    Yours,
    Mia

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers

