Nero's Post and Patch

by Teje Karjalainen

Crochet Health Survey – Crochet Pojects

24 Comments

 

Hello Dear Friends! Today we speak about CROCHET! Crochet is a fantastic craft because you can make so many totally different kind of things! You can easily mix colours, materials and create something special and even with few basic stitches!

crochet flower by Teje

Few days ago Kathryn Vercillo contact me and I was very happy to meet her. She is the author of the book ‘Crochet Saved My Life’. Kathryn is also studying how crochet can heal and help. I think anyone who crochet, knows that beside the fun, it’s good therapy like all kind of crafts.

Screen-shot-2014-06-20-at-9.21.55-AM[1]

With Kathryn’s permission, quotation from her post:

A new crochet health survey has been launched to study how crochet heals people. This is a 27-question survey (mostly multiple choice) designed to gather detailed information about the physical and mental health issues that are helped through crochet work and to what degree the craft is helpful. The survey is produced by Kathryn Vercillo, an expert in the topic of healing through crochet.

Kathryn Vercillo is the author of Crochet Saved My Life, a book about the craft’s health benefits. In the book she shares her own story of crocheting to heal from chronic depression. She also interviews two dozen other women who share their stories of hooking to heal. In addition, she aggregates the available research into crafting to heal.

Several formal studies have been conducted that show crochet to be healing. The new study is designed to add to the available information on this topic. One unique thing about it is that the study focuses specifically on crochet as opposed to lumping it in with other crafts. Another unique feature is that it goes beyond asking the question “does crochet help?” (because we know that it does) and explores how it helps, to what extent and for what symptoms.

Kathryn Vercillo will do an in-depth analysis of the results of this study. She will use that information to publish a full report on the health benefits of crafting. She will also use the information in future publications and it will serve as the foundation for continued research into this important topic.

Crochet Flower Necklace by Teje

Back to me:

You can help support the craft of crochet by contributing your response to this new survey. The survey is available at: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/crochetsaveslives

If you like, share Kathryn’s study and survey and your own experiences about crochet. Has it helped you through some difficult periods in your life? Do you feel it’s a therapy in your busy eveyday life? Have you found out if crochet has been healing you?

Crochet Necklace by Teje

I have now opportunity to show you my latest crochet project: Flower Necklace. I’m so fond of those ‘old style’ crochet patterns that were used to sewn around the blouse’s collar and other cloths, tea towels etc.

Crochet Necklace by Teje

What you think – sun tanned decolte, white or colourful summer dress – holidays – Crochet Flower Necklace – sounds great or what! I have many different crochet necklaces under process but this time crochet is not healing but bothering my wrist which has pain, so I have to be patient and not to crochet till it’s better. Instead of that I started yesterday new improvised slow motion quilt project but that need’s an other post.

Because crochet is really fun, easy to do, easy to carry with you (perfect summer craft) and also great therapy, I hope to give you some inspiration with few of my earlier projects:

Crochet Stone by Teje

Crochet stones are so much fun to make and wonderful decorations! Click HERE to read my post with lots of photos.

One very good way to start crocheting is to make granny squares or hexagons. They are easy and you will get hooked because it’s so fun and quick to make them and to plan what colours to use for the next one … and the next one … and you just can’t stop! You can make first pillow if the whole blanket scares you, but I couldn’t stop and ended up with ‘NERO’S BLANKET’!

Hexagon Crochet Blanket

My first try with granny squares was a little blanket to Foxy (the most sweet, little dog we had). I just picket some left over yarns and started – inspired by so many bloggers I just had to try.

Foxy's Blanket by Teje

I have made one of my favourite jackets with crochet squares. I just started to crochet squares during my trip to Finland and then back at home, gathered them to this jacket. Sorry this worst ever photo but I can’t find better right now and want to show you this idea. This jacket has wooden buttons front. I have on process new jacket with flower squares but can’t find time to finish it.

Crochet Jacket by Teje

Then you can also crochet scarfs! They are lovely small projects and with different yarns you can make so dirrefent kind of scarfs. My latest is ‘SWEET PEA SCARF’. My pattern for this scarf is available in my ‘Craftsy Store’. I have used this pattern hundreds of time – for example around the edges of a shawl and knitted jacket.

Crochet Scarf by Teje

You can crochet small things to decorate your sewings etc. Long time ago I found this butterfly from one Finnish blog and I have made ‘thousands’ of butterflies since then. I have sewn them on knitted jackets, on fabric pouches, make-up bags etc. I was asked so often about this pattern and English version that finally I translated it. The original Finnish pattern is not mine and unfortunately I haven’t been able to contact the lady who has made it. Unfortunately the Finnish pattern doesn’t have photos because some time ago vuodatus.net had a problem and all the photos disappeared. If you want the Finnish pattern I suggest you use together my English version.

Crochet Butterfly pattern

White looks lovely on the linen pouch with some bright red polka dots …

Crochet Butterfly

I haven’t made these butterflies for a while and I think it’s time to make some and perhaps some new ideas where to add them.

Crochet t-shirt rug

When I made this rug in the beginning of my blogger journey, I didn’t have many t-shirts in my store (now getting wiser I have a big box). You can see from the photo that it’s old because Nero’s both eares are still up. After the surgery the other stayed down and made him look cool, shabby boy. If you like to start this project, read my post HERE.

Now I don’t remember what else I have crocheted?! So I leave you with my best inspiration, a crochet shawl made by my mother.

Crochet Art Shawl by Riitta Karjalainen

made by Riitta Karjalainen

Thank you for stopping by! Have a great weekend – perhaps crochet creative! If you have a moment I would love to hear what crochet or sewing project you enjoy mostly in the summer.

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

24 thoughts on “Crochet Health Survey – Crochet Pojects

  1. Good morning Teje! I cannot crochet to save my life. I tried many years ago. Instead I knit ; )
    Yours is beautiful!

    • Thank you Carla for your visit! Knitting is the same, only I think that knitting project needs a little bit more planning (and counting) in the beginning. I enjoy both but I knit more (that can be done when watching tv). Hugs! x Teje

  2. Hi Teje, your crochet is just stunning. All the pieces you showed are beautiful but particularly the sweet pea scarf. I get the same relaxation from my crafting…distraction and occupation keeps minds and bodies working. I agree though too much really hurts the wrists, it is finding a healthy balance which is most important. Enjoy your work and have a lovely weekend x

    • Thank you so much Jane! You couldn’t guess what I’m making just now? Earrings and rings with sea glass! They take so much time and concentration that my wrist rests well. Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  3. Hei Teje! Suomessa käsityön vaikutuksia hyvinvoinnille on tutkinut ainakin Eija Vähälä ja Sinikka Pöllänen. Me tekijäthän tuon asian tiedämme tutkimattakin :D Ihania virkuuksia!

    • Niimpa. Kiva kun kavit ‘kylassa’. Tuon saatoin arvatakin. Mina teen nyt korviksia – ei virkattuja! Hyvaa viikonloppua! x Teje

  4. Tous les crochet sont tres belles Marie-Claire

  5. Hi Teje! Oh, such a lovely variety of beautiful crochet projects you have made. Truly inspiring!

    I love to crochet and find it so relaxing. I really should make time to do more of it and more often!

  6. I am totally IN LOVE!!!!! That shawl that your mom made is exquisite!!! A wonderful dream of perfection……to be treasured always. Hugs and blessings…………………………….

    • Thank you so much Doreen! That shawl is my treasure and also it is great inspiration and idea. Just making circles in different sizes and colours, then gathering them together and voila! Have a great day! Hugs! x Teje

  7. So much inspiration ! I am just a crochet starter, I can do one stitch ( no idea what it is called) and a chain, but I can’t cast on/ start: a little old lady at church started me off and I’m going round and round and my square gets bigger every time!!! I can see how it would be good therapy!

    • Thank you Benta! I’m happy for you because you have a fun journey front of you! And even with that one stitch you can make many things! Circle is not so easy so well done – it becomes easily a bowl or a ‘ruffle’. If you need ideas you could make circle rug with t-shirts. My wrist if better and I have crocheted today! x Teje

  8. Your crochet work is truly wonderful Teje. The colours are just amazing and you match colour to pattern so beautifully. The pretty flower necklace is gorgeous, but then, so are all the other pieces. You are one talented lady! Have a great week! Ros

  9. Pingback: Crochet Blog Roundup: June in Review — Crochet Concupiscence

  10. Hello Teje,

    I can’t crochet, but I am sure knitting has same effects, at least it helps stress and gets my mind off other, sometimes worrying things. But wow how lovely your crochets are, those blankets are simply fantastic! Such a beautiful colors!

    Happy July-greetings from RAINY and COLD kotisuomi!

    Yours,
    Mia

  11. Better late than never, but I’m glad I’ve read this post. It is wonderful that someone really is looking into the health benefits of crochet. I’ve experienced them a number of times in my life, because health issues seem to be a returning theme for me. And every time and again, without really thinking about it, I’ve crocheted a lot.
    I hope your wrist will heal soon and thank you for showing all your crochet candy, including the gorgeous scarf your mother made.

  12. Pingback: Crochet Health Survey Update — Crochet Concupiscence

  13. Hello Teje. I hope this comment reaches you. I have tried several times and failed the connections.
    First of all, your mothers shall is soooo beautiful and inspiring. I learned to crochet 40 yrs ago when expecting my daughter and she is 40 now. Yes, it is a great medium of crafting with so many designs and avenues to take. Many years ago I had a breakdown and for a while all I could do was crochet my favourite bright booties. It is so easy to pick up and while away hours with a simple pattern creating a rythmic meditative healing state. I am interested to look up that book and web site.
    I did put crochet aside when I took up patchwork 15 yrs ago but have recently picked it up again, inspired by blogs, especially attic24. So far I have made several ripple blankets for home and house bus and have a few projects on the go at the moment. You can find me at trillspatch.blogspot.co.uk.
    I find your life on a Greek Island fascinating, love your dogs, and your patchwork and crochet.
    I’m now going to find your pattern for the butterflies. I just love them. Blessings, Trills.

    • Thank you so much Trills, for your visit and lovely comment! I agree with you about the crochet and quilting. For me quilting is even better therapy because with that I have always so much ideas and plans running in my mind. I had a quick visit to your blog and was happy to see how creative you are. Beautiful Works and exciting projects! Have a lovely summer! x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 376 other followers