Nero's Post and Patch

by Teje Karjalainen

Sunday is for Stitching

25 Comments

Hi Dear Friends! Sunday Stitching sounds nice and I try to sew every Sunday something enjoyable.

quilting

We had lovely dinner with friends and because I had emptied the dining table, it was could time to baste the ‘garden’ quilt. If you like to see the finished quilt top, it’s HERE.

IMG_6291

In our garden there is now only yellow flowers – lots of little yellows – and always red geraniums. Marimekko’s ‘Unikko’ napkins made happy spring theme.

IMG_6293

In the evening I had the basted quilt and my quilting Perle cottons ready to go. This time I use polyester wadding which is a little bit thicker and I think it will make nice, fluffy quilt. Backing is plain white.

IMG_6473

Usually I quilt with white, turquoise, orange or with other bright colours picked from the quilt I’m stitching. With this quilt darker colours had stucked to my mind. So I thought I’ll follow my instinct and started with dark brown. Surely I shall add other colours but most likely darker and not white. At the moment I stitch straight Lines without any marks – about in the middle of the squares. I like to think they are Ant’s trails!

quilting in the garden

Sun was unbelievable hot today and Nero chose cool place on – or in the grass …

IMG_6476

I can’t help thinking what project to take with me to Finland … I think this time I shall fly with paper pieces …

paper pieced octagons

… but not with octagons as I used for the ‘Summer Wine’ quilt.  They were really nice but those little squares between were p in a. Now I have decided to have fun with hexagons! I printed already some little 2″ hexies. That will be hobby project – just for fun and no plans what it should become.

IMG_6287

I already checked that the 2″ hexagons are perfect for 2.5″ squares and those I have ‘few’ left overs! You can imagine how difficult it is not to start to sew right away!

IMG_6274

Saturday was also for stitching and this project was quick enough to get finished in same day. Sorry, can’t show it yet.

almond tree

Winter has been gentle to us and almond trees have had flowers already several weeks. Often I think about photos when I see that they don’t have anymore flowers! Once I was in time.

IMG_6261

With Hanna we found one lonely orange from the garden … we don’t have orange trees.

laundry day

Laundry day is not so bad if you have happy ‘tools’. I just need to make bag for my ‘laundry boys’ Look my TUTORIAL how to make ‘Laundry Boy Bag’! Many call them clothes pegs!

cat in sunny bed

Sometimes Nelli may leave the sunny table outside. If I’m in my sewing attic, she like to keep me company. She shouldn’t have any complains about her own bed front of the sunny window!

Every weekend I like to make treasury list and this week I made trip to forest for blueberries. If you like blue, you may enjoy my delicous ‘BLUEBERRY STORY’!

IMG_6474

Busy week as ahead and I think this quilt has to wait till next ‘Sunday Stitching’.

This is fun: What Flip Flops you would choose?! I want with dog paws! Have a look, you will smile!

Thank you so much for visiting my crafty corner here in Crete! Thank you also for your lovely comments! I’m always so happy to hear from you and do my best to reply each comment! Have a lovely week!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

25 thoughts on “Sunday is for Stitching

  1. How neat is your hand stitching Teje…just beautiful. It’s wonderful to see the sunshine in your garden and obviously Nelli loves it too. Enjoy your week x

    • Thank you Jane! Nelli spends her days now outside in different sunny spots and in the evening she comes to sleep next to my feet. ‘Cat’s days’! Happy week to you! x Teje

  2. So many gorgeous projects and fabrics!

  3. I love all the hand stitching, Teje!!! It really sets off the typewriter.

  4. Ha! I (the Mother) was born in England and came to New Zealand when I was twelve so I always call that footwear flip flops – but here they call them jandals. I love the top 10 – what fun! I wonder if they do a sheep foot one for Baa! We have lovely weather here at the moment too – we locked the keys in the car at the Botanical Gardens on Sunday and just happily lazed in the sun like Nelli until Grandma came to the rescue with the spare set!

    • Thank you for your fun comment! Those Top 10 are great! I used to call them also sandals, here they are often called sayonaras and among the blog friends flip flops! I shall need many NEW pairs for the summer. In fact I could have used them already today! so warm day! You had exciting trip to the Botanical Gardens! x Teje

  5. Thanks for sharing such lovely photos of you and your furry friends in the sunny garden, Teje. Your Garden Quilt progress looks beautiful!

    • Thank you so much! I’m happy you enjoyed our garden photos. Weather has been amazing here – spring even it’s still February. Today I was wearing all the day short sleeve t-shirt and sun was hot! x Teje

  6. How perfect that a parade of ants is marching across your sunny quilt! Your enthusiasm and energy, plus all the beautiful photos of life in Crete this time of year, help get me moving when we have 3 feet of snow on the ground here in Maine. Thank you for your blog–I look forward to seeing it in my inbox!

    • Thank you Karen! I’m so happy to hear that you enjoy your visits in my blog! That is the best support and engourage for me to do my best with each post. x Teje

  7. Your brown thread choice is so perfect. I would not have thought to use it. The effect set off the sunny pieces. The almond tree in bloom is so beautiful and spring-like. 30 days til Spring (on the calendar……) maybe 40F tomorrow. Several inches of snow today. Rain and snow for Thursday…..they say a major storm—-again!!!! Ugh!…Will continue on my happy quilt!!!!! Hugs…………

    • Thanks Doreen! I don’t use much Brown but now I ‘need’ it. Have I used too much bright colours – I don’t know – or is just that I feel this quilt needs some solid on it. We’ll see how the quilting continues.
      I hope you don’t have storms and spring comes soon to your way! Here it is already but WHO knows if we get snow on July?! Hugs! x Teje

  8. Goodmorning Teje,
    Thank you for the sunny pictures! When you are in Finland, could I come over to Crete and watch over your house and fabric stash? HA HA!!! I am not a “winter person” and I love the sun!!! I need LIGHT!
    I adore your quilt and hexie plans!
    Have a safe trip to Finland,
    Esther
    esthersipatchandquilt at yahoo com
    ipatchandquilt dot wordpress dot com

  9. Your new quilt will be beautiful all hand-stitched and I always enjoy your scenery and photos Teje! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  10. Your new quilt is looking beautiful and I love the hand stitching, Teje! Hexies are the perfect little project to take on a trip. I loved seeing all your sunny pictures today, it does look lovely and warm there and the pets look happy!
    Have a wonderful week!
    Helen xox

    • Thank you so much Helen! I love hand sewing and stitiching but don’t have enough time lately. So happy to start hexy Project for my trip. Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  11. Merci de partager avec nous les belles foto’s le quilt est magnifique Marie-Claire

  12. Your quilt looks so lovely–I think the darker quilting looks great! :) I enjoyed looking at all your pictures! You live in a beautiful place!

    Would love for you to stop by and link this up to Fabric Frenzy Friday!
    -Lindsey
    Fabric Frenzy Friday

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers

