Nero's Post and Patch

by Teje Karjalainen

Finished Happy Quilt Top!

74 Comments

Hi dear Friends! How are you? I hope your week is going great! For my surprise I have a new quilt Top to show!

quilt in garden

quilt top

Before yesterday I had a bundle of 30 blocks made. Each block is about 10.5″ x 10.5″ so I thought that 5 x 6 would make about good size. Yesterday I spread them on the bed and started to figure out how to arrange them.

quuilt layout

If you don’t have a design wall, or you can’t use the floor (covered with dog’s hairs) you can use the bed. Good tip is to take photos and look them on your computer. When you have a design wall, you can step bag and look your work from a distance, but on the bed or floor that’s difficult. Step on a chair to have better look and take photos. Then look on your computer and you’ll see much easier it is to get the general impression.

marking the quilt top

For me it’s always a challenge to arrange my blocks because often I don’t plan my work exactly before, I just make blocks as my ideas and inspiration comes. With this quilt I used also some lonely blocks because I felt they fit with this theme. After several changings, I made up my mind.

I usually manage to mix my carefully done arrangement. Now I marked well each row. Then I let Nelli come to her corner on the bed …

Nelli

In the evening I thought to start sewing the blocks together … but they are quite big blocks, so for my surprise I finished the quilt top!

garden quilt

Today we had lovely sunny day after many cloudy days! And that meant of course laundry … and window cleaning. Before I hanged the laundry outside, I had a quilt tour in our garden …

quilt in the garden

This quilt top measures now about 50″ x 60″. I was thinking to add border but after measuring it, I’m not sure. Perhaps just a narrow border; for example 2.5″ like the small squares. I didn’t have time to look for fabric yet, but I have something in my mind. Any suggestions? And the binding?

happy quilt

About the name?! When I started to plan this quilt I had made some ‘disappearing granny’ blocks and I had those three birds. The bird on white is my first try for a bird with triangles and for the Mini quilt to travel with the travelling book. I started to think that this quilt could have things from grandmother’s garden. I had plans for many funny blocks but finally made only the flower pot and cat. I wanted to use those sweet flower charms. I had a chance to make few economy blocks with flower paths around them.

But about the name … I thought this could be ‘Grandma’s Garden’ but I’m not sure … could you find something else than grandma and garden? I would be happy if you could help with the name.

IMG_5783

So now I have to think about the backing, wadding … and the border and binding … and how to quilt … it’s hanging on the railing of my sewing attic and I can see it also from downstairs. I love to have a glance at it between my works!

I shall link to my favourite parties! All the buttons are on my sidelist so you can visit them any time you like. There is great parties almost every day! So many blogs to visit and to find inspiration!

Thank you for stopping by and for your comments! They make my day!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

74 thoughts on “Finished Happy Quilt Top!

  1. Lovely quilt top Teje!

  2. Your top looks great; so happy and sunny!

  3. This is so gorgeous! Amazing! Love the light coming thru the blocks and the birds Re just too sweet!

    For a name? I think the cat is thinking “Three Bird Pie” sounds nice!

  4. Oh Teje this is beautiful…and will be such a treasured quilt. I have loved seeing you making the blocks. Looking forward to seeing the border. …how about calling it grandma’s garden memories? ? Happy Thursday x

  5. Oi, miten ihana! Grandma’s Garden on loistava nimi, sopii ihan nappiin! Työsi nurjakin puoli on kaunis. Minä voisin laittaa välikaitaleiden levyisen reunuksen, tai sitten ei sitäkään. Minullakin on samaa kukallista kaitalekangasta, mitä sinulla on kaitaleissa, mutta en ole rohjennut käyttää sitä vielä mihinkään. Mukavaa loppuviikkoa!

    • Kiitos paljon! Kukka kangas onkin Suomesta! Kummitytto toi sita minulle ja olin siita tosi iloinen! Nyt loysi juuri sopivan paikan tassa puutarhassa. Hauskaa viikonloppua! x Teje

  6. Another happy quilt–don’t know how you get so much done. A Day in the Garden comes to mind for a name. If I were adding a border and binding to this quilt, I would select a solid color or maybe a batik and then either a white or black binding to frame all the lively activity going on in this happy garden.

    • Thank you Sonja! A little bit here and there and then it’s done! You read my thoughts: I had one mixed Brown batik in my mind but yesterday when I was looking at it, I think I want a summer blouse with that fabric! It’s beautiful, soft and thin (thank you)! One of these days I shall take out all the possibilities and ask your opinion in my blog. Happy weekend and hugs to your puppies! x Teje

  7. Beautiful quilt top, I love the colors you’ve used in it.

  8. Beautiful top, so sunny!

  9. What a nice happy quilt! Love it!

  10. What a very beautiful quilttop; all those different blocks are gorgeous together and they definitely represent a garden. Maybe “Hannah’s Garden”?
    Your tip about taking pictures and looking at them on the computer is absolutely right. It’s the perfect way of figuring out how to arrange blocks.
    Groetjes, Dorien

    • Thank you Dorien for your lovely comment! Thank you also for reminding me that Hanna doesn’t have yet any quilt! I have made “Nero’s Garden” and I was always thinking to make one named by Hanna. Perhaps this could be the one. Have a wonderful weekend! x Teje

  11. Well done on making such a beautiful and unique quilt, Teje! I think the way you work makes your designs very fresh and lively. I love the colours and the patterns and the way it looks both interesting and harmonious….just lovely!
    Helen xx

    • Thank you so much Helen for your sweet comment! The cat is a little bit ‘strong’ among the other blocks but I wanted to make it with these browns and perhaps it helps that the ‘whole look’ is not too sweet. I was thinking even mixed Brown border but I’m not sure yet. Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  12. I love the colors you chose. The entire quilt looks like stained glass with sunshine flooding through. And the pictures you added make me smile! Beautiful!

  13. This is lovely and I like the muted shades in it.

    maybe Cat Flappin…………..?

    Birds chasn Cat maybe?? lol

  14. “Sunshine in my Heart”…..so happy (once again). And I would think a narrower orange border with the same for binding, but you really could pull out the yellow or lovely green. It just glistens with summery thoughts!!!!! I really love that size (similar to my “Stained Glass” quilt top). You do beautiful things with fabric, my friend!!!! Hugs and blessings coming your way……………………

  15. Gorgeous quilt top T! I particularly love the birdies and am so pleased I have one of my own. Jxo

    • Thank you Judith! I’m happy you like your bird! It was the beginning of all the birds I have made. Thank you for the flower charms! Have a great weekend! x Teje

  16. A beautiful design, Teje!!! I agree about taking a photo and then looking at designs on the computer… gives a totally different perspective. I’ve even found this with clothes.

  17. Hi Teje! Your quilt is fabulous. Thank you for visiting A Quilter’s Mission, but you are a “no reply” blogger, so I couldn’t respond to your comment.

  18. Wow it is amazing and so beautiful. I think a narrow border would be nice, something simple. I don’t have an idea for the name, perhaps In The Garden? I love too that I am not the only person who can’t use the floor because of dog hair! I sweep and sweep and sweep and it never goes away. Have a lovely day!

    • Thank you Louise for your lovely comment! I think I go for a narrow border. Thank you for a great name idea! x Teje
      PS. Just vacumed Nero’s and Hanna’s hairs.

  19. This quilt top is so gorgeous, Teje! I love the way it looks with the sun shining through it!

    Thanks so much for linking up with Needle and Thread Thursday!
    :) Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  20. Hi Teje. Very pretty quilt top. So many tiny pieces to love ; )

  21. Beautiful! How about ‘Garden birdsong’

  22. Beautiful! This is so so pretty, Teje! It looks like glass mosaic in your pictures, those colors you’ve chose are amazing. Name-wise I’m all frozen this morning (it’s -25c here!!), but I’m sure you’ll get many wonderful ideas from your lovely readers! I can’t wait to see it all finished!

    Happy weekend soon, dear friend!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you Mia! I love the photos with light coming through the Fabrics! Wow, you have now really cold there. Happy weekend my friend! x Teje

  23. What a lovely combination of colours and blocks, grandma’s garden sounds good to me!

  24. Quilt est magnifique bravo Marie-Claire

  25. Very pretty garden with birds and cat and flowers! What a wonderful sunny day quilt. Those blocks are gorgeous. Looking forward to seeing just what you decide to do to finish this happy quilt!

  26. How about Nelli’s Garden. I know Nelli is black and your quilt cat isn’t but it does remind me of Nelli sitting among the flowers with the birds tweeting above her head :-) It’s such a lovely design Teje. Have a wonderful weekend! Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! You are right – this should be Nelli’s Garden because she really takes care of our garden. Allways wandering around and sitting in the olive treese with birds. Thank you for reminding me. Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  27. Beautiful quilt and there is something soothing about it. I was going to suggest Nelli’s Garden (or something with Nelli’s name in it) so she would have a quilt named after her. :) Sewing Beside the Sea already suggested it.

    • Thank you Lea! I’m happy you was thinking Nelli. She really is so much in the garden and iwith birds that she should have a quilt named by her. x Teje

  28. Beautiful quilt! I think you could get away with many border colours……orange or limey green or maybe a nice teal fabric. Nice to to see you using the bed. That’s my trick. I’ve been using the bed for my city sampler, it helps me to get a real sense of size.

  29. Oh Teje this quilt is a people pleaser….I love it. You make such inspirational quilts that are always different and vintage looking, something which I strive for.
    Clare xx

  30. Until I got towards the bottom of your post I thought its name was Happy Quilt – which seemed just right to me:-) It’s lovely!

    • Hi Catherine! I’m happy you stopped by because I had ‘lost’ you. Now I’m following your again. Thank you for your sweet words! Perhaps it could be simply ‘Happy Quilt’. Have a lovely day! x Teje

  31. A lot to look at. Beautiful pictures!

  32. that is gorgeous! I particularly love the photo with the light shining through

  33. Looks beautiful Teje! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  34. Colour me happy (that’s the name that came to mind when I saw your beautiful pictures) – I love your new quilt top, Teje!

  35. I saw a picture of your Let’s Play Quilt and it just looks like sunshine! Happy, colorful, bright, wonderful! You are very talented with your color choices and your handiwork. You only hand-quilt? You inspire me to try it.

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 365 other followers

