Nero's Post and Patch

by Teje Karjalainen

Cable Leg Warmers

33 Comments

Hi friends! I hope you are fine and beginning a great weekend! Some of you may have been thinking what happened to those leg warmers I was knitting before Christmas. They are finished and fine but no way I could use them – we had today +16C and sunshine! Fortunately Nero was willing to model for you …

cable leg warmers

I think they look adorable with his cute furry toes! This wonderful yarn is from Finnish ‘Novita’ and called ‘7 brothers’. If I remember right, it’s 75% wool and really warm.

leg warmers

Nero was so helpful even you can see from Hanna’s eyes that it was sun was shining.

I knitted these leg warmers around with 4 (5) needles. 16 loops on the needle (8 knit, 2 purl, 4 knit, 2 purl).

I knitted {2 k + 2 p} 10 rows in the beginning (down) and 20 rows at the end (up).

Cables are with 8 loops {4+4} and they have minimun 10 rows between each other (sometimes 13 rows). I made the Cables somehow random even I had a simple plan in my mind. First cable is after 10 rows and then after 10 rows I made second cable but on the second needle. Then again after 10 rows on the third needle and so on. Aften that I started to make more cable on each needle.

If you wish more exact Info, please ask  I’m happy to tell you more details (or more clearly).

Nero's Leg Warmers

Thank you Nero for modelling! Because he can’t hold the camera, I couldn’t model!

black-white cat

When I came home today, Nelli had found ‘relaxing’ (?) place on the rocks!

The other day I mentioned that I found something very sweet. I had to go to town and had an opportunity to buy blue quilting thread for the qarden quilt. I thought if I see something totally un-avoidable I may take one ball for a scarf …

sweet pea yarn

What you think, is it enough sweet and un-avoidable? It’s from the local small shop and it’s Turkish cotton-akrylic. There was a new girl in the shop and she insisted that I should take woollen yarn. I said I like these colours … ‘but you should take wool’! … but they don’t have so sweet colours and wool is too hot for me … ‘but it’s better to take wool’ …. I WANT THIS!

Other possibility was to leave without buying anything but I took this and it makes me happy just existing! I’m making lovely walks every day with my golden friend, London and took one seaside photo ….

cotton yarn

Then later we sat with Nero and Hanna short moment in the garden and made First test for the ‘Sweet Pea’ scarf …

crochet with cotton

It looks beautiful but not what I want this time. Like this each flower square would be most likely with one colour and that’s not the look I’m looking for.

crochet flower square

So I shall try an other pattern and I think it’s going to be good – enjoyable to make (most important) and beautiful like a huge crocheted necklace! Only problem now is, how can I stay away from this Project because there are more important projects waiting to be done First!

Thank you for stopping by and for your lovely comments for my sisters new ‘Laundry Boy’ Bag! I wish you wonderful weekend and hope to see you soon!

Hugs and Kisses!

TEJE & NERO & HANNA

Author: Teje Karjalainen

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

33 thoughts on “Cable Leg Warmers

  1. What a great model for your leg warmers Teje ;0) Great to see your lovely sunshine. Enjoy your weekend x

    • Thank you Jane! I’m so happy that Nero helps me – other wise it would be difficult to shoot something I should wear. We have had fantastic winter but I guess we need more rain before the summer. Happy Weekend! x Teje

  2. The leg warmer are so wonderful and cables are so great looking (especially on such perfect model!!!). I am so glad that you stuck to your decision to purchase that yarn…..it is all the garden colors that are beautiful!!!!!! Happy Weekend!!!!!! Hugs………….

  3. Hello sweet Teje,

    Lovely legwarmers!, go seiskaveikka! And that new yarn is so pretty, full of spring and happiness! Happy crocheting!

    Iloista viikonloppua!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you Mia! Now I remember that I forgot to say that I made last spring cardigan with this same yarn. I have worn it only few times because it’s too hot! And leg warmers – last winter I would have needed them but is there enough cold days this year, we’ll see.
      Hugs! x Teje

  4. I didn’t know Nero was a dancer? All dancers need legwarmers and those are particularly nice. You choose the best–what wonderful colors in that yarn.

  5. I remember those Jane Fonda workout leg warmers. Yours are so much prettier–love the cables. What a great model–Nero’s got those great big, adorable Shepherd paws! Wish I could knit–i”d make some for winter here in Maine–freezing rain/snow all the time (and make Frodo a pair, too)!

    • Thank you Karen! Nero is surprisingly patient model – I think he enjoys it! You should try knitting! It’s not difficult and you can First make leg warmers just with {knit & purl}. Knitting is fun and relaxing! x Teje

  6. Lol! Loving your doggy model! And am so glad you weren’t persuaded out of buying the beautiful yarn, it’s gorgeous.

  7. Those look so warm and cosy! We are getting 4 degrees tomorrow! Enjoy your warm weather! Jxo

    • Thank you Judith! They are really warm – too warm for our really warm winter this year. I hope your weather gets warmer and it’s not raining too much. x Teje

  8. That’s the best thing I’ve seen today…brilliant!!

  9. What a patient doggie! And the kitty cracks me up … they lay in the oddest places!

  10. Magnifique bravo Marie-Claire

  11. You are one crafty lady! Tell us how you got into all these different types of craft.

    • Thank you so much Sara! I’ll try to post one day about all my crafty types. I have tried most of the crafts and ‘worked’ all my life almost every day – I enjoy so much making and using different Materials. x Teje

  12. Is there anything that Nero won’t do for you? He’s such a unique supermodel :-) I love the wool too, gorgeous summery colours! Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! There are many things Nero won’t do as I like, but he is a great model and enjoys it! I think the wool looks very cute with his furry feets! Have a great week! x Teje

  13. Lovely leg warmers and Nero was such a love to model them for you. I’m a bit envious of your warm temp and sunshine. It is ever so dreary here in West Michigan. I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend.

    • Thank you Ally! Nero is my best helper and model! He is always ready to have fun outside. Hope your weather gets warmer. Have a lovely week! x Teje

  14. Teje, Nero looks adorable modeling his leg warmers. How sweet. Hanna looks pretty sitting there too. You keep them beautifully brushed. I love that you walk with your friend London. She’s a pretty girl. I walk in the mornings with my neighbor’s 2 dogs. There is something special about starting the day with a good dog walk. :) I’m not sure why but your e-mail notices stopped coming. I think they ended up in spam somehow. I just signed up again. Take care and enjoy your weekend.

    • Thank you Lea! Nero loves modelling and Hanna is happy to join us even she is shy for photos. It is in deed great to start the day with a lovely walk with our furry friends. With emails: I don’t know what happens, but my sister says the same that she needs to subscribe often again. Have a lovely week! x Teje

  15. What a beautiful model!

  16. I adore Nero so much and those cabled leg warmers just melt my heart. I love the pastel yarn you are crocheting too.

    • Thank you so much Andrea! Nero and his furry feet with those woollen leg warmers look very cute! I love this NEW yarn and it will make sweet scarf. Have a great week! x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 353 other followers

