Nero's Post and Patch

by Teje Karjalainen

Embroidery Hoop Wall Decoration – Tutorial

72 Comments

Hi! Welcome to to the 1st part of my ‘Christmas – Seasonal’ Tutorials! … and it’s not even November yet! Today we shall have fun with little trees!

Embroidery Hoop Decor - tutorial

Catch your scraps and let’s start! Take a piece of fabric for the base. Take the inner piece of the embroidery hoop.  Draw a circle about 2.5″ – 3″ bigger that the hoop. Cut your fabric circle. I didn’t use those coocie molds but instead of the trees we can make some other shapes.

decoration tutorial

Then cut the same size circle from a thin fabric for the backing. For the backing you can use some other thin material, too. I used something which is like those disposable sheets. It’s thin and covers the wadding so the sewing is easier.

Now take a piece of wadding or fleece and draw a circle inside the the inner hoop. (The wadding is smaller so that it doesn’t go between the two hoops).

tutorial

Now you have 3 layers.

IMG_1450

Put some safety pins to keep the wadding and all the layers together. Now comes the ‘difficult’ part – you should arrange your little trees! Random is not easy at all! Leave up and down some space for the ground and sky.

scrap trees

Now just simply sew around the trees. Raw edge applique is fun and easy! Try to sew continuesly and don’t worry to sew some lines twice. If you like you can add more trees later - doesn’t matter even you sew them separately.

scrap trees

When you have finished your trees, stitch trunks with dark thread. Make sky and ground with few scrap stripes. For the sky I made few extra stitching lines. Put pins around your work.

raw edge applique

Sew two lines around your work using longer stitch. Sew also sik sak around.

ebmroidery hoop decor

Drag from the 2 upper threads. Put the inner hoop ‘inside’ your work. Tighten the threads so that the fabric is tight and tie the threads.

embroidery hoop decor

Backside looks like this when finished.

embroidery hoop decor

And a close look on the finished front …

Wall Decoration

Take leather or some other ribbon you like, and tie it for hanging.

Embroidery Hoop Decoration

As usually, I wasn’t alone outside …

Embroidery Hoop Decoration

Nelli was playing with one dry olive and dogs were busy sniffing around in the garden.

playing cat

Thank you for joining me today! I hope you like this tutorial and find some inspiration for Christmas and other sewings!

Embroidery Hoop Decoration Tutorial

Sunny wishes! Hope to see you soon again!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

72 thoughts on “Embroidery Hoop Wall Decoration – Tutorial

  1. A Christmas Linky would be lovely Teje :-) I love your trees design and the tutorial is very easy to follow. Today, I have made a cross stitch Christmas tree decoration. What is happening to me so early? Avis x

  2. What a lovely project Teje, I have one of your lovely hangings in my studio..it looks so good ;0) x

  3. I love your trees, such an adorable design and a great tutorial, Teje!
    Helen x

  4. This is definitely inspiring! I need to get to work on some Christmas projects, ASAP:) I just love the whimsical look of these tree. Might just have to make one of these.

  5. This is so effective and quick to do! Must give it a go when I gave some time……
    Alison x

    • Thank you so much! This is quick and fun project. If you do it for yourself, you can even change the ‘picture’ for every season. x Teje

  6. Love this! Thanks for the tutorial! I can see doing this for every season/holiday. Awesome!

  7. I love this idea! I’ve been looking for some wall art projects and this is perfect. Thanks!

  8. How cute these trees are and yes they are inspirational. Thank you Teje.

  9. Great tutorial, Terje. But the sun must be getting to you downthere south – lets not hurry on winter ;) big sigh. I’m just jealous of your Greek temperatures on this windy, cold and dark night.

    • Thank you Cille! I’m so happy that we have still warm weather. It makes life so much easier – we spend lot of time outside – dogs are free to go out when they like, as long it’s warm enough to keep the door open. I love this season, when it’s warm but not too hot. I miss also northern winter but why it has to be so long?! Have a great weekend! x Teje

  10. Thanks for sharing your projects, well done with the tutorial !

  11. A beautiful seasonal decoration, and would make a lovely gift too! Jxo

  12. This is a great tutorial! Your trees are lovely :)

  13. I LOVE your Christmas trees in the embroidery hoop, Teje!!!

  14. hey, a project I think I can do! I actually have all the materials for this, only my hoop is oblong and not round. That’s probably all right, isn’t it?

  15. This looks lovely. Such a nice idea, I think I will make one!

  16. That’s lovely, and I still have hoops left over from a recent class, thank you for the inspiration xxx

  17. Your hoop art is very pretty, Teje. I like how you quilted the clouds! It’s not too early to be making Christmas projects. Ho, Ho, Ho! Did you know? Only 53 days to go!

  18. Wow, you make it look so easy I feel really inspired. I followed from 627handworks link party and now I’ve seen a few of these lovely little (achievable) projects I cant wait to get started!

  19. I loves these little trees and what a wonderful idea. Thank you for sharing how to make one. Have a lovely weekend.

  20. Dear Teje, thank you for wonderful tutorial.
    Hugs,
    Vanja

  21. You are SO creative – I love following your blog! Thank you for sharing and for the instructions! I will be making one of these for myself soon!!

  22. Those little trees are just too cute! What a great way to use up little bits of fabrics you love!

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!
    :) Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  23. C’est tres beau Marie-Claire

  24. This is a lovely project and great tutorial.

  25. Loved this tutorial. Your design is great!

  26. I love this! I’m doing an ornament swap and could use some good ideas. Hopefully it’s ok to make and gift one like this!

  27. What a great tutorial! It’s so cute and your tutorial was really thorough :) thanks so much for linking up :) :)

  28. What a beautiful piece Teje and a great tutorial! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  29. This is so cute and the tutorial is excellent…..thanks

  30. Reblogged this on Nero's post and patch (2010-2012) and commented:

    This and more “Christmas & Seasonal” tutorials in my new blog! http://www.nerospost.wordpress.com

  31. Simply lovely. Thank you for the detailed tutorial. It’s lovely, also, to see your friends enjoying the sunshine. I wish we had some sunshine here, too–our dogs and chickens would like to be out in it and our cats long to nap in a sunny spot.

  32. Another beautiful project. Thank you for your wonderful inspiration yet again. Xoxo

  33. I love these hoop deoratins. Thanks for the tutorial – you have inspired me!

  34. Oooh, love the colours! They’re so me!

  35. Pingback: Sew Cute Tuesday - Blossom Heart Quilts

  36. this looks like a great idea for a Christmas postcard!

  37. This is such a great idea! I love it.

  38. This is so lovely Teje – I was just trying to find out how to finish off the back off a hoop last week so thank you for your great tutorial!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 377 other followers