Nero's Post and Patch

by Teje Karjalainen

BLOGGER’S QUILT FESTIVAL – ‘GIDS GAME’

13 Comments

Hello and welcome again to ‘Blogger’s Quilt Festival’ and thank you for stopping in our corner, mine and Nero’s! Our first entry is ‘Fantasy Forest’ and the second entry is ‘Kids Game’ – easy and fun quilt for babies and children!

Kids Game by Teje Karjalainen

This quilt started from an idea to make a fun and easy quilt pattern. For some reason I had in my mind cutting squares diagonally. So I started to look nice fabrics for this project and found charm pack with ‘Summersault’ by Erin Mc Morris. I loved these fabrics from the first sight!

'Kids Game' by Teje Karjalainen

I chose my favourite pieces and kept them whole squares and then some of the rest I just cut in half. Each piece has white pair. Then just making rows and sewing rows together, the quilt top was cuickly finished!

'Kids Game' quilt

This time I happened to have a perfect colour vintage sheet, so I took the stripy parts from the sheet and added white in the middle. I didn’t want solid binding and I was scared to use so busy fabric like this with rainbow stripes. But I have learnt my lesson and if something feels good, it’s betterto  go that way. I love the stripy binding! It reminds me of something from children’s bricks.

Kids Game quilt by Teje karjalainen

Often I have a name before the quilt – this was ‘Kids Game’ from the moment I was looking the charm pack and imagined the bright squares and rectangulars.

Quilting is made by hand as usually. I stitched straight lines, 2 on each row, using Cotton Perle no 8 in many colours.

quilting threads

The truth is that I feel sad that I didn’t start patchwork and quilting many years earlier and that was one reason to make this quilt. I wanted to make something joyful and fun but so easy that everyone could make it even for the first quilt. Hopefully I can encourage You to start or continue quilting and to quilt (stitch) by hand!

Hanna and happy quilt

This time Hanna was helping me with photos.

QUILT DETAILS:

Name: ‘Kids Game’

Size: 48″ x 36″

Fabrics: ‘Summersault’ by Erin Mc Morris

Techniques: machine pieced, hand quilted

Category: Baby Quilts

Pattern is available in Etsy and in Craftsy

colourful quilt 'Kids Game'

I want to thank Amy for organizing this quilt festival! This is very important event for all the quilters and especially for us who can’t join the live quilt festivals. If you haven’t visited the ‘BLOGGER’S QUILT FESTIVAL’  yet, I hope you have a moment to see beautiful and unique quilts from all around the world. There are many categories, so roll down the page till the second page.

grab and quilt

Something little from the beach! Thank you for stopping by and for your lovely comments! Sunny wishes and have a wonderful week!

EARLIER ENTRIES:

2013 spring - ‘Happy Days’

2013 spring - ‘Baby Stars’

2012 autumn - ‘Butterflies’

2012 spring - ‘My Dream Quilt’

2011 autumn – ‘Orange Stones’

2011 spring - ‘Nero’s Garden’

TEJE

Author: Teje Karjalainen

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

13 thoughts on “BLOGGER’S QUILT FESTIVAL – ‘GIDS GAME’

  1. It turned out great, Teje! I love the binding also–the colors you used throughout are so kid friendly.

  2. Love both the quilts, but I’m not sure how I feel about the crab thingy…..grin.

  3. Teje, I love this cheerful quilt. Your hand quilting is beautiful and so are the thread colors you used. Miss Hanna looks adorable and focused while she is helping with photos. :)

  4. Beautiful, modern style quilt! Your way of hand quilting is something I have to bear in mind for the future :)

  5. Le patch est magnifique bonne journee Marie-Claire

  6. Such fun colours in this one, Teje! As always, your hand-quilting is lovely.

  7. This is a gorgeous quilt and I love your photos :)
    Thank you for the kind comment you left on my blog x

  8. The stripey binding really is perfect! I love your hand quilting, too, the colorful cottons you used are just perfect! So cheerful!

  9. It’s very lively and fun! Well done.

  10. I love the look of the hand stitching…you’ve really motivated me to want to try this!! THANKS for the inspiration. V:)

  11. Popping in from Val’s. Adorable quilts, Everything about them is wonderful, fabric, design and that stitiching! Envious of hand quilters.

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 353 other followers

