Nero's Post and Patch

by Teje Karjalainen

‘KIDS GAME’ QUILT

50 Comments

Hi! This was the sky yesterday – once again hot and sunny day! Today clouds are filling the sky and rain is coming. I’m happy I took yesterday photos to show you this new quilt.

Kids Game by Teje Karjalainen

Sometimes I think sun is so strong that my photos are not exactly sharp … or perhaps I can’t see well in the sun to take them well …

'Kids Game' quilt

I love the colours and the prints! First I separated the squares … those I didn’t want to cut and those I could cut half. These big flowers are my favourites and the pinwheeles. This charm pack had ever print twice so there were few left over to use with the bird pillows.

'Kids Game' quilt

QUILT DETAILS:

Name: ‘Kids Game’ (reminds me of wooden toy bricks)

Size: 36,5″ x 48″ (93 x 122 cm)

Fabrics: ‘Summersault’ by Erin Mc Morris, backing is vintage sheet, binding fabric I bought from Finland (no name in the selvage)

Pattern: available in my Craftsy store and in my Etsy shop

IMG_1234

For the backing I used vintage sheet because … you see the colours! This sheet had the stripes on the one edge, so I cut it half and added in the middle piece of white cotton. Can’t wait to wash this and see how nicely wrinkled it will be.

quilt backing

Quilting was made by hand, as I do almost always. This time I made simple horizontal lines in several colours. I hope this encourages you to try hand quilting if you haven’t tried yet. It’s much more easier and quicker than you could guess. And it’s a nice change after sitting with the sewing machine. I used Perle cotton n:o 8 in all these colours …

quilting threads

For marking the lines I used my new hera marker. I was thinking if I say ‘this’ and now I’m not sure … but okey I say … I was thinking why my hera marker didn’t work so well as every one said? the line didn’t stay well … even the most simple tool should have instructions … I used it up side down! How I catched it wrong for the first time – I don’t know. I don’t remember how I thought to try it other way and it works fantastic! If you think that usually the text doesn’t write upsidedown, then you hold your tool right way! I wonder why it has that sharp corner?

threads and hera marker

For the binding I chose stripes. I was a little bit worried if it’s too busy, but because on the other hand it felt just perfect for this quilt, I used it. I think it finishes this quilt beautifully. It’s busy as the kids with their games! It reminds me also for bricks and legos which has an edge to catch them together.

'Kids Game' quilt

And perhaps one shoot on my design wall … with ‘rusty rosies’ (they do need rain, cooler weather and gardener who is not quilting).

Kids Game quilt

Autumn colours from Greece – Happy Autumn to everyone! I do hope you don’t need to say winter, yet!

Kids Game quilt by Teje karjalainen

Thank you for your visit and wonderful comments! Welcome to many new followers!

TEJE

PS. I hope you are not stressed already about the Christmas. I’m a little bit.

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

50 thoughts on “‘KIDS GAME’ QUILT

  1. I love those colors of the perle cotton. Which needle do you use to handquilt with that cotton?

    Your quilt is beautiful! I love the quilting. I would like to try hand quilting with perle cotton.

    • Thank you Paul! Sorry but I don’t know what needle I use. It’s perhaps one of my oldest needles. You can use any needle, just find one sharp and with big enough eye to thread it.
      Happy stitching! x Teje

  2. Teje, the colors and fabrics in your quilt are so pretty. The backing is fabulous and the binding fabric is perfect for this quilt. Beautiful! I’ve done a little hand quilting, it is very enjoyable and relaxing.

  3. I love your new quilt very much, Teje! The colours are so bright and fresh, and the backing and binding are perfect. It does have a feel of colourful toys, like Lego, you are right! It looks gorgeous in your sunny photos too!
    Helen x

    • Thank you Helen for your sweet words! I do like the combination even I have usually some doubts during the process. Yesterday we had clouds and rain but today very strong wind has cleared the sky again. x Teje

  4. Another gorgeous finish! I love it – the colours really make me happy! Good job!

  5. Ha ha… Yes, the Hera marker is I wonderful tool… If you turn it the right way ;) Lovely, bright , colourful, happy quilt. Lovely finish.

    • Thank you Cille! I didn’t even think how it should be used and if there is two options, most likely we pick the wrong one. Now I’m very happy with my hera marker! x Teje

  6. Very nice quilt, great colors and superb finishing!!

  7. Backing, binding, and quilt top are all perfect for each other! Fantastic finish! I love the shot of the perle threads!!

  8. Love the bright colors, Teje!

  9. I love your hand quilting… but i am wondering now, which way is the right way up? you will have to take a photo!

    • Thank you Laura! The sharp corner up because you don’t use that. Now I think also how I didn’t understand that it doesn’t ‘fit’ well in the hand if it’s wrongly. Look the photo, the down curve is for fingers. Sometimes I wonder how I manage to do anything? x Teje

  10. Look at all those tiny stitches! So beautiful.

  11. What a fabulous bright, modern quilt. The hand stitching is great – it adds such a nice touch to the quilt.

  12. A really fun quilt T! Well done! Jxo

  13. You are actually making me wish we were back in Cyprus and that takes some doing because I didn’t enjoy it much at the time!

  14. What a fun quilt!

  15. I love all of these colors and the backing you found works perfectly for this quilt! Nice work!

  16. This is so beautiful and colourful and I love the sheet backing :)

  17. I love the happy and bright colors of this quilt, and your quilting is just beautiful. I have really enjoyed seeing this one come together!

    I’m so happy you shared at Needle and Thread Thursday!
    :) Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  18. I love the vibrant colours of this quilt. It is really beautiful and looks so lovely in the wonderful sunshine you have.

  19. Another super fun quilt. The white just makes all the other colors just vibrate. The hand stitching, of course, is so fine and the perfect final touch. Is it going in your Etsy shop or was it a special order?

  20. Bravo le quilt est magnifique Marie-Claire

  21. Oh my goodness, this quilt is beautiful! I love everything about it! Thanks so much for linking up :)

  22. Delightful quilt design, Teje! Your fabric choices are just perfect on this.

  23. Wow! It’s beautiful Teje. I love those cheerful blocks. They make me smile :-) Avis x

  24. Another triumph Teje!! The quilt is beautiful and as always my favourite part the hand quilting is beautiful. I really must try this sometime I so love the effect…I doubt mine will be as neat though! The vintage quilt is ideal as the backing too :)

  25. You always have the most beautiful pictures. Such a fun quilt. And the pictures of the perle cotton are gorgeous!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 379 other followers