Nero's Post and Patch

by Teje Karjalainen

‘BABY STARS’ QUILT II

67 Comments

Hello my dear friends! I have finally finished the baby quilt, ‘Baby Stars’ in blue and green!

'Baby Stars' baby quilt

This quilt shouldn’t have taken so long time to finish … but some times it just happens that they wait and wait and other projects are passing over. In fact I would love to tell you about something else today, but this is now first on the line.

baby quilt

I made the binding yesterday and then tried to take some photos, but the weather was too gloomy. Today I had better luck even it has been changing all the time from cloudy, to small sunshine and then to rain.

quilt with stars

We were walking around the garden with Hanna and tried to find new photo scenes. Nero prefered to sit front of the house. He has scratched his toe and I think it hurts a little bit.

'Baby Stars' quilt

This place was once supposed to be for Nero … time before Hanna. We started to make a house and bambou-cover for shadow, we made fence all around … there were ceramic tiles on the roof of his house … we had an idea that he could spend some time here sometimes when he couldn’t be free all around the garden (for example when we know someone is coming or leaving by car).

IMG_7882

Perhaps you guessed that Nero said clear and loudly that he is not going to spend even one minute here – alone! Now tiles have been used somewhere else … as well as the fence … now it’s home for the old concrete-mill … who now and then still finds a little work to do. Once hb painted it green to fit better in the bushes!

IMG_7896

We haven’t built or fixed anything for a while, but now we make a little work and I catched brush and paint … it felt so great! I wish I could have time to work with wood and paint! But there is always so many things I want to do …

Kona solids

I have made good progress with these solids! I really made an effort today to stop for eating and writing about the ‘Baby Stars’ quilt. I have almost finished new quilt top with these and I want to see how it will look … my table is not big enough to see it well.

small quilt

But today it is about this baby quilt …

This quilt measures 34″ x 42″.

Square blocks are 8″x 8″ and the big block with four stars is 15,5″ x 15,5″ (before sewing them together).

I have quilted this by hand, using ‘Perle’ cotton n:o 8 in different turquoise, green and blue colours.

Binding is made with blue-white small checked fabric and sewn by machine.

'Baby Stars' baby quilt

I have took lots of photos during the work and I shall write a pattern for this quilt.

First ‘Baby Stars’ quilt I made, was featured by ‘Quilt Story’! It was a present for a friend and made with orange, green, yellow, turquoise and white. I hope you like this boyish quilt as much as the first one!

I am linking at ‘Fabric Tuesday’, ‘A stitch in time’, ‘Threading My Way’, ‘Sew Cute Tuesday’, ‘Linky Tuesday’, ‘Made by Me Wednesday”, TGIFF’, ‘Friday Felicities’

'Baby Stars' baby quilt

Thank you for visiting! I wish you wonderful Sunday and have a great week! Thank you for your sweet comments and I hope to see you soon, because I can’t wait to show your all the colours I have now on my sewing table!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

67 thoughts on “‘BABY STARS’ QUILT II

  1. It’s beautiful, Teje! The colours are perfect.

  2. Beautiful quilt, love the colours with so much white. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Lovely, lovely colors, Teje! And that beautiful blue sky…I am drooling over my laptop screen, it’s been completely gray here for whole weekend…and more snow coming as I type. ..Spring where are you?!??

    Wishing you a lovely Sunday!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you so much Mia! Not spring yet. We had spring weather last 10 days but now it’s more like Cretan winter, rainy, cloudy and about +8-15 C. My next quilt would be colour treat for any Finnish winter home! Have a great week! x Teje

  4. I love the way you do your stars, and put them with the squares. This quilt, and the other one, are just beautiful! I look forward to your tutorial for it!

    I love your blog… 8-)

    From Linda in rainy San Diego, California

  5. Those colors so reflect the dreamy watery Mediterranean with sunlight, even!! We are in the middle of some dreadful weather here…..30F, rain, freezing rain and sleet to continue through this evening. Driving is definitely not safe….or possible!! Seems like quite a bit of gloomy weather everywhere right now. With another great grand daughter due in July, I think your baby stars quilt will be perfect for me to do, also!! Will keep watch………hugs, Doreen

  6. Hi Teje, the quilt has come out beautifully, lovely work. I laughed when I read about Nero’s kennel…animals do their own thing don’t they. I am quite sure he did not want to be there alone at all. Thanks for sending some sunshine, Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! We tried to keep Nero there short times, but he was shouting so loudly that we couldn’t listen that. So he won! Have a lovely week! x Teje

  7. What a beautiful quilt…I just love the Perle quilting!

  8. Hi Teje, this is another stunning quilt. I remember the original one in orange and this one is lovely too :-) I’m really looking forward to see what you are planning to do with the rainbow solids. Have fun! Avis x

    • Thank you so much Avis! The quilt top with solids is finished and it’s hanging on the stairs to my sewing attic. My eyes are wandering so often to see it and it makes me smile! I made it with the ‘drunken squares’. x Teje

  9. TeJe – I love it!!! Another beautiful creation from your hands. You really should try turning some of your patterns into PDF’s and open an Etsy shop. I just know people would eat them up. You are very talented. Take care my new friend and is there any way you can email me your mailing adress cause I would like to send you a little surprise.

    Barbara in Texas

    • Thank you so much Barbara! I’m happy to hear you like this quilt! In fact I have a shop in etsy and I’m writing a pattern for this quilt. I tried to send you an e-mail, but it didn’t except the address shown with your comment. You find my e-mail address on the sidelist. Have a lovely day! x Teje

  10. Yippee, today my iPad was happy o let me visit you, I missed you, but now I have been able to catch up, your baskets, your stars quilt, your solids quilt, your olives, your knitting and your animals, I feel back in your world!

  11. That is absolutely lovely!

  12. I love the starry quilt. I am not tempted to hand quilt. I laughed at Nero not wanting to spend time alone. I know exactly what you mean.

  13. Lovely fresh colours! I wish I could come up with great ideas like this for quilts!

  14. This is a darling quilt. I love the colors and the stars in the middle. Stopping by from Sew and Sew.

  15. I just love the stars among the other blocks. And of course, these are my favorite colors. Great quilt!

  16. What a beautiful quilt Teje, the colors are perfect in it! I always enjoy your neat photos outside too! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  17. I love this quilt and your stitching is lovely. I really think the fabrics and colors are wonderful.

  18. This is such a great quilt and I really like the hand stitching!

  19. I love the fresh colours against the white and your handstitching is beautiful!

  20. Teje–I’m hooked! The quilt colors, pattern and quilting is perfect! Thank you for inspiring with something so simply pieced and quilted. Gosh — I have to make one!

  21. wow, that is gorgeous!! I love the simplicity of the squares, along with the stars!! Thanks for sharing

  22. Such a beautiful quilt!! Love your choice of colours

  23. A beautiful baby stars quilt T! Love the fresh colours! Jxo

  24. I love this quilt. Perfect for a little boy. Did you get your fabric in greece?

    • Thank you for your visit and comment! These fabrics are form the ‘Fat Quarter Shop’. You can find the link from the page up ‘Fabric shops’. Fabric shopping is a little bit difficult here. x Teje

  25. Such a beautiful centre block! I don’t blame Nero for not wanting to be alone, my dog Fletcher cries if I go in my sewing room so I have to leave the door into the freezing cold conservatory open so he can come and go as he pleases just to keep him quiet!

    • Thank you so much Kerry! They are often so funny. Nero and Hanna can stay long time alone outside, if the door is open. That’s fine in summer but now it’s quite cold. If I go to super market and leave Hanna home, she waits next to the door me to come back, poor girl. And what we wouldn’t do for them – even freezing to keep them happy. x Teje

  26. I love those starts, They were a bit daunting to me to make a whole quilt from them, but this is GREAT! In the best colors too

  27. Absolutely gorgeous baby quilt, and lovely photos, too. All that green is such a nice change of pace, as most of my quilt pictures these days have snowy backgrounds! :)

  28. What a beautiful quilt, Teje!!! The combination of stars and squares works so well and I think it’s amazing that you did all the quilting by hand.

  29. Hi, Teje – I love your quilt – it’s just gorgeous! I saw it at Threading Your Way, and came over for a peek :) Your orange and green one is beautiful too – you do lovely work!

  30. It’s beautiful, Teje! The colors are so pretty and your hand-quilting is the perfect touch. Thanks for linking up with Sew Cute Tuesday:)

  31. I love this quilt the colors are my favorite. It is gorgeous.

  32. Thank for archiving this finish under boys…I just love it ….and still want to try handsewing, thus can now easily refer to it!! :)

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers

