Nero's Post and Patch

by Teje Karjalainen

CROCHET BUTTERFLY – PATTERN

51 Comments

BUTTERFLY

Pattern in English

crochet butterfly

Note: this pattern uses UK stitches throughout.

* Instructions for the basic stitches can be found at: www.learn2knit.co.uk/crochet/basic-stitches.php

* ‘Picot’ stitch is 3 ch st, 1 dc into the 1st ch st.

Instructions for picot stitch can be found at: www.dummies.com/how-to/content/how-to-crochet-a-picot-stitch.html

Butterflies in these photos are made with cotton yarn and I have used hook size 2 (then finished size of the butterly is about 3,5″ x 4,5″ – 9 x 11 cm). You can see an example where I have used these butterflies HERE. And more butterflies.

You can use any yarn you like and make butterflies for example with wool and sew then on your knitted jacket.

1st ROUND

1st wing

- crochet 16 ch st, *1 tr into the 7th ch st from the hook, 2 ch st, space 2 stitch (miss 2 stitches), 1 h tr, 2 ch st, space 2 stitches, 1 dc, 2 ch st, space 2 stitches, 1 dc*

2nd wing

- crochet 17 ch st, repeat from *to* once

3rd wing

- crochet 17 ch st, repeat from *to* once

- crochet 1 dc in the ch st between the 1st and 2nd wing

4th wing

- crochet 16 ch st, repeat from *to* once

- crochet 1 sl st in the 1st ch st (at the beginning of the 1st wing)

mosaic 1

2nd ROUND

1st wing

- crochet 1 ch st, 3 dc into the first hole, 3 h tr to the next hole, 3 tr to the next hole, then into the last hole 1 tr, 3 d tr, 5 ch st, 6 d tr, 1 tr

- crochet into the next hole 3 tr, into the next hole 3 h tr and into the next hole 2 dc

2nd wing

- crochet 2 dc, *3 h tr to the next hole, 3 tr to the next hole, 15 tr into the last hole, 3 tr into the next hole, 3 h tr into the next hole* and 3 dc into the last hole

3rd wing

- crochet 1 ch st, 3 dc to the first hole, repeat from *to* once, 2 dc to the last hole

4th wing

- crochet 2 dc to the first hole, 3 h tr to the next hole, 3 tr to the next hole, to the last hole 1 tr, 6 d tr, 5 ch st, 3 d tr, 1 tr

- crochet into the next hole 3 tr, into the next hole 3 h tr and to the next hole 3 dc

Then crochet 1 sl st into the stitch between the 1st and 4th wings.

mosaic 2

3rd ROUND

1st wing

- 2 dc, 3 h tr, 8 tr, 6 tr to the hole, 1 picot, 3 tr

Continue working along the edge of the wing.

- crochet 3 tr, *2 tr in the same loop/stitch* repeat from *to* 5 times

- 1 tr, 2 h tr, 2 dc, miss 5 st between 1st and 2nd wings

2nd wing

- crochet 15 dc, 1 picot, 2 dc, 1 h tr, 2 tr

- repeat from *to* 2 times, 1 tr, 2 h tr, 2 dc, 1 ch st, miss 2 st between the 2nd and 3rd wings

3rd wing

- 2 dc, 2 h tr, 1 tr

- repeat from *to* 2 times, 2 tr, 1 h tr, 2 dc, 1 picot, 16 dc, miss 5 st between the 3rd and 4th wings

4th wing

2 dc, 2 h tr, 1 tr

- repeat from *to* 5 times, 3 tr, 3 tr to the hole, 1 picot, 6 tr

- 8 tr, 3 h tr, 1 dc, 1 sl st and 1 dc in the middle of the 4th and 1st wings

ANTENNAE

- *9 ch st, 8 sl st starting from the 2nd ch st from the hook*, 1 sl st in the next ch st

- repeat from *to* one more time (= second antennae), then 1 dc in the ch st in the middle of the antennae

BODY

Crochet about 6 sl st loosely over the butterfly’s body. Then 6 ch st, 5 sl st starting from the 2nd ch st from the hook, 1 sl st in the middle.

Crochet again about 6 sl st loosely over the butterfly’s body (next to the previous line of slip stitches). Last sl st between the antennae.

Cast off the ends of yarn and press the butterfly gently with iron.

IMG_7741

Original pattern for this butterfly is in Finnish and can be found in the blog ‘Pitsia ja Palmikoita’.

Fixed pattern in English by Teje Karjalainen from ‘Nero’s Post and Patch’

Proof-reading and pattern checking by Avis Gordon from ‘Oh Sew Tempting’

crochet butterfly

I hope you find this pattern clear and easy to follow. I’m happy to help, if you have any questions! Enjoy and have fun with yarn and a hook!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

51 thoughts on “CROCHET BUTTERFLY – PATTERN

  1. I will put this pattern aside til summer when handwork is more in order and far more portable than quilting. Thank you so much for the pattern…..it is beautiful!!! Hugs…..

  2. Oooooo thankyou Teje. I will add it to my list of things to do :D

  3. Your lovely tutorial photographs really help when making these butterflies. Thank you so much for translating and sharing the pattern Teje :-) Have a lovely weekend! Avis x

  4. Oh how wonderful! I love that butterfly. I have book-marked your tute! Jxo

  5. Very pretty! Thank you for sharing the pattern.

  6. Thanks! That’s so pretty!

  7. Lovely butterfly. If I could just get the hang of crochet. . .

  8. That’s so beautiful! Thanks for sharing the pattern Teje. x

  9. Your butterfly is so beautiful, Teje…and how kind you are to share the pattern! (and clever to write it too!) It is a lovely delicate shape and could be used in so many lovely ways.
    Wishing you a happy weekend!
    Helen x

  10. it’s so clever and so very cute, well done teje!

  11. Wonderful pattern, thank you for translating it, Teje! I am completely hopeless with a crocheting hook :) but this is so pretty! I wish I was able to…

    Happy greetings from Finland again!

    Yours,
    Mia

  12. Lovely butterflies! I wish I had time to try this pattern. Looks fun to make, so I can see getting addicted to making these. I do love butterflies.

  13. Thank you so much for the pattern it is beautiful can’t wait to put it to good use….:)

  14. Pingback: » Craft your own Spring The Literate Packrat

  15. I love your butterfly. I made one today. My autistic son is fascinated with butterflies and I’m thinking I might crochet a few and starch them. They will make pretty Christmas tree ornaments. He’ll love it. Thanks for sharing your pattern. :)

    • Thank you Marilyn! I’m so happy to hear that you have made some! You could make a garland with them, too for your son. The original pattern is from one Finnish blog – I haven’t been able to find the writer. After lots of questions, I translated the pattern in English. x Teje

    • @Marilyn…….you could also make the butterflies various sizes and colors, starch them and attach them to your son’s wall. Just a thought!!!

  16. I’m fairly new to crochet, just started last Oct.. On this one, is the tr crochet a dc and a dc a sc? Just checking before I get started. Thank you for any help.

    • Oh, I’m in the USA. :) that’s why I’m asking this.

    • Thank you Heather, for your visit and comment! I hope you got my e-mail. x Teje

      • Yes ma’am I did. Thank you. :)
        Quick question,

        On round 3, first wing, where I’m I crocheting? It says in the hole, is the first big hole or am I crocheting in each stitch across?
        I’ve had to work it to figure it out (I’m not use to reading patterns like this,sorry) but I can’t get this round figured out..
        Can you help me please
        Thank you so much

        ((Although I just started last fall I have made over 100 items, but I’m stumped here, lol))

        • Hi Heather! I feel always easier if I look the photo, so keep them front of you. You see that on the 2nd round there are only two big holes and they are in the wings 1 and 4. So you crochet {6 tr, 1 picot, 3 tr} in the same big ‘hole’. For you tr=dc!
          I hope this helps! The second butterfly is easier because you can look the your first one.
          x Teje

        • Look also the last photo to see that those ‘holes’ are on the upper wings and you see how the crochet and picot goes. Good Luck! x Teje

  17. todo lo que suben esta hermoso mis mas sinceras feliitaciones

  18. The crochet butterflies is beautiful. Thanks!

  19. Ok I love these butterflies. I am in USA and new to crochet. These are delightful and I wish to make them also but I am just learning to read a pattern and the translating from European stitches to American stitches while I am working it is confusing. I think I may go through and rewrite it for myself. If I do that would it be ok if I share it…giving credit to you of course or do you already have that done?

    • Thank you Sara! I’m happy to hear you have started to crochet! I think also it’s easier if you first write the pattern with Am stitches or at least write them on the English stitches. You can share it – thank you for linking back to my blog. Sunny wishes! x Teje

  20. Nice pat

  21. Thanks, that very pretty :)

  22. Hi! This is a very beautiful butterfly! However I would really use a picture diagram, with the international symbols for each type of chain. I am a non-native English speaker. I don’t really understand the abbreviations you use… Thank you! :)

  23. Pingback: Fairy Dolls | AmigurumiBB's Blog

  24. Thank you very much for this beautiful butterfly pattern. I have used it on my crocheted fairy dolls, as wings and they turned out wonderful.
    Once again, thank you so much!
    Vanja

  25. Pingback: New Crochet Ballerina Pattern! | My Wide Eyed World

  26. mil gracias por anexar el patrón de tan bella mariposa.

  27. Thank you for this pattern. I look forward to making a few for myself and for my Mom.
    Thanks again!

  28. Thank you so much for this written instruction. I have to be honest that I had to re-type everything and translate them to US Crochet Stitches. I’d be happy to share it with you.. for other people like me who knows how to read US Crochet stitches version only. Thank you! Now, I am off to making my first butterfly wing for my SPRITE. c”,)

  29. Thank you for writing this pattern. It’s just the type of butterfly I was looking for

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers

