Nero's Post and Patch

by Teje Karjalainen

FABRIC BASKETS

32 Comments

Hi! Now I don’t have any idea what to write … but I know that I have some fabric baskets to show. I made them a while ago but they just didn’t have a chance to appear here. I have made all our little house upside down today with cleaning … so my thoughts may also be upside down.

fabric baskets

One fabric piece with crab was waiting a long time to become something. I thought it would be a ‘2 in 1′ make-up bag (post has a tutorial) but when I rolled it, it was exactly good size for a round basket, my first one. I had been worried how to fit the round bottom, but it was really easy.

crab basket

How nice to hang fresh washed, good smelling laundry outside in the sun with new, colourful clothes pegs! Today I was lucky to get two washings almost dry before it started to rain. And what rain was that – only 15 minutes, just to get me to collect everything inside in hurry – and then sun was shining again.

modern fabric basket

Nero and Hanna were outside all the day … there was no place for them inside and all their beds got also good airing. They were so happy to have my company all the day … even I was busy, I was around. Yesterday Hanna had a bath and now she is so beautiful, fluffy and soft!

IMG_7709

She is always happy … if she is not worried. We (or they) collected our olives yesterday. Here they are waiting to go to the small local factory where they press them to oil – the best biological, clean and healthy cold-pressed olive oil!

olives

All these fabric basket have been made with ikea fabrics. Those fabrics are canvas style and perfect to make bags, baskets, pouch etc. I have some new great prints again! Washed and ready to create … only time is missing … how I feel that time is chasing me all the time?!

baskets from ikea fabrics

For the lining I used white in the crab basket, and birdies in the square one. These three baskets are on the self in my etsy shop!

One of our give aways close very soon … because we have so many reader-friends far away with different times, Nero will pick the winner tomorrow … to be sure that everyone had time to enter. If you didn’t enter yet, HURRY HURRY – IT’S HERE!

Tuesday is a party day! I’m linking at ‘Sew Cute Tuesday’, ‘Fabric Tuesday’ and ‘Linky Tuesday’!

fabric baskets

So see you soon with the winner! Thank you for joining us today! That guy with funny pants is waiting his chicken-rice dinner – he says it should be ready now! He sends kisses to you!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

32 thoughts on “FABRIC BASKETS

  1. I love those baskets. Your fabric suits them perfectly. I must try to make one one day :)

  2. Wonderful baskets. I’m so nervous about making anything that requires exact measurements but having seen yours I’m determined to try. Your olives look amazing.

    • Thank you Gail! So often something we thought it’s difficult, is not at all! We just have to try everything. This cube is the most easy, because you can make all pieces same size. x Teje

  3. Wonderful baskets. Know exactly what you mean about time. I have the same problem!

  4. Pretty and handy – what could be better? Lovely, lovely baskets and all that sunshine…Oh my!

    Happy week, dear friend, and happy sewing too!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you dear Mia! I feel I haven’t been sewing for many days and I miss it. I hope this week I’ll have time for that. With the sunshine I started to think gardening, but I think that’s too early. Hugs! x Teje

  5. These little baskets are adorable! Glad I found you…..

  6. I love all of your baskets, especially the one with the crab peeping :-) They have so many uses! I have looked in my local Ikea for canvas and they never have the lovely designs you find. Maybe it doesn’t sell very well here so they don’t stock it. Your olive crop is fantastic. Do you keep all of the oil to use at home? Keep sending us lots of sunshine Teje! Avis x

    • Thank you so much Avis! I thought ikea has about the same things every where – too bad if you can’t get theyir funny fabrics.We use very much oil, but there is enough to give to friends, too. x Teje

  7. Those baskets are v.cute! I haven’t seen the crab fabric in Ikea here (I live 5 minutes away from one of the biggest Ikeas in Europe!). But you’re right, their fabrics are great for these projects – handbags and pouches also! Jxo

  8. Beautiful fabric baskets, Teje!!! Love IKEA fabrics… bright, fun colours.

  9. Your baskets are lovely, and the green tree landscape refreshing to our Montana winter eyes!

  10. Oh to have that sunshine … it’s just very snowy and grey here. How nice to be out in the garden at this time of year!

    The baskets are lovely .. especially the one with the birds on it.

  11. These are really cute!! I’ve been meaning to make some baskets like that but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Seeing yours makes me want to make them sooner rather than later! :-)

    • Thank you! Same here – I always wanted to make fabric baskets and finally made only few months ago. They are easy, fun and practical! x Teje

  12. I love your baskets. One of these days I need to make some for myself and try to get more organized. Do you get to keep the olive oil they press from your olives?

    Cindy

    • Thank you so much Cindy! Do make some, they are so fun! We keep all the oil. We don’t have lots of trees but we get enough oil for us and for friends … adn here we use very much oil! x Teje

  13. What beautiful totes Teje and how neat to see the bags of olives! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  14. Those baskets are adorable! I love that crab fabrics. These are on my list to make. Thanks for linking up with Sew Cute Tuesday:)

  15. Pingback: Sew Cute Tuesday | better off thread…

  16. I love the crab so much! Both are lovely ; )

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers

