Nero's Post and Patch

by Teje Karjalainen

DIARY COVERS

31 Comments

Hello and good week! The beginning looks good with sunshine and brigth blue sky! The weather cast says something else – much rain, wind and cold – and yesterday we had all that. So what better than sew all Sunday!  New diaries were waiting to get covers.

Diary covers

If you remeber that I got for a while ago this type-writer fabric, you could guess that it was the beginning piece for the cover! With all that rain and dark sky, I really missed orange but I couldn’t mix it with these colours. So I picked bright turquoise and that dark fabric has also matching colours so it was allowed to join.

IMG_7547

Of course I had Hanna and Nero joined me this morning in the garden and they enjoyed so much running around – mostly smelling and searching near to me …

IMG_7544

I asked my hb if he likes to have a cover for his diary and I was surprised to get ‘yes’ answer with a comment ‘anyway they are my shirts’. Great idea … he wanted some darker and men’s colours so he got his shirts back (some scraps of them anyway) …

Diary covers

The sleeve inside is great place to slip in some cards and notes. To the back side I even sew my labels …

Diary covers

Oups, there is a fly on my diary … they seem to like sunshine, too.

If your diary or notebook needs happy cover, Rachel has made a great tutorial! She makes so beautiful notebook covers – real inspiration! Her blog is ‘Stitched in Color’!

Diary covers

I’m sure that many of you know ‘Threadbias’ - if not, have a look, it’s a great place for quilters and sewers! You can have there your studio, ‘design wall’, fabric stash, patterns, tutorials etc. See beautiful projects, find ideas and inspiration! I have signed there some time ago when Jennifer from ‘Ellison Lane Quilts’ told about this new and fun place! Then I just left it and didn’t do anything. But now the time was right and yesterday I started to add my projects there. I’m sure it’s going to be so much fun! I hope that soon I can add my first pattern there. I have named my studio ‘Tejesarita’.

IMG_7556

Typical for me, I couldn’t leave this cover too simple and found a little bird to chear me up! Some stitching – not too much – and now we are ready for the new, hopefully, exiting and wonderful year!

Nero and Hanna had a nap and I had my lunch coffee, so it’s time to go to play outside! Nelli is sleeping in the sun and I shall go to see if our spinach (sown by our Bestman!) has grown enough to make a spinach pie.

Diary covers

Thank you for visiting and writing such a lovely comments! Have a wonderful week and I hope to see you soon!

PS. Remember our new address www.nerospost.wordpress.com!

TEJE & NERO & HANNA

Author: Teje Karjalainen

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

31 thoughts on “DIARY COVERS

  1. Beautiful diary covers Teje. I got a notebook for work just before Christmas and its sadly in need of a cover… the cover just makes them a bit more special… so I am off to check out the tutorial. Thanks :D

  2. Thanks for the tutorial information, Teje. I don’t have a diary (everything’s on my computer instead) but I might make some covers for my nieces school books. Love your diary covers … and it’s so nice that your husband wanted one too!

  3. Lovely journal covers T! This would make great gifts! Jxo

  4. These are really lovely Teje! Your fabric choices are perfect as usual and the sunshine oooooooooh :-) I have a large diary and a notebook so I’ll try the tutorial soon. Thank you for sharing the links. Have a wonderful week :D Avis x

    • Thank you Avis! I’m happy if you like to make some covers, too! I was thinking my notebooks, but they are all the time open and in use, so I couldn’t see the cover. I have to find something else to cover! Lovely week to youy! x Teje

  5. Your diary covers look wonderful; although they both have their own look, they match beautifully.
    I’m a bit envious of all the sun in your pictures!

  6. What lovely covers Teje, the perfect ones for your new diaries. I smiled when I read that your Hb said they are his shirts…;0) Happy new year and happy new creating,
    Jane x

    • Thank you Jane! He is always teasing me that I cut his shirts, but he knows that his favourites are in safe! Happy week to you! x Teje

  7. Great use for the type writer fabric. I had a look at threadbias . It looks like a great site. I will bookmark it for later.

  8. Great covers. I really love that typewriter fabric.

  9. Hi! Pretty covers, I am visitor from Better Off Thread linky party… thanks for sharing!

  10. They look wonderful! Great fabric choices

  11. Gorgeous books Teje. I always love looking at your creations and your beautiful photos. Linny

  12. I love that you were surprised your husband wanted you to sew something for him.
    So sweet.

  13. Beautiful diary covers and love the little bird applique! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  14. Beautiful covers! I love the fabrics you chose. I really need to keep these in mind for gifts. Thanks for linking up with Sew Cute Tuesday.

    • Thank you Janice! I always admire the beautiful covers I see in blogs, but then just don’t make any. I hope to make now also notebook covers. x Teje

  15. Hello Teje,

    These are adorable! I am a big, big fan of fabric-covers for diaries and sketch-books, and they’re a lovely way to use the smallest scraps too! And those little birdies are perfect there – have you thought of making these for sale into your shop?

    I wish you the loveliest Sunday, and many happy greetings from Finland again! Täällon jo hiukkasen valoisampaa, tästä se kevät lähtee!!

    Mia

    • Thank you so much Mia! I enjoy making these covers! I have made few for selling but it’s difficult to find suitable, standard size notebooks. Still I shall absolutely make some! These are in fact calendars in Greek – but for me it is also diary. Days are fortunately getting longer and I’m happy to hear that you have spring in your mind! x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 351 other followers

